Skip to Main Content

Art History Module: Lesson 5: Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a way to locate if the Library has the full text of a particular article, as well as full-text articles about particular topics. It will include articles that are in many of the Library's databases. Please note that Google Scholar only includes journal articles. If you are looking for a website or a newspaper, you will need to use the full Google search. Google Scholar can be very powerful in locating articles that are in various library databases, that are open access, or that the Library does not own.

Set Up Google Scholar

To begin, set up Google Scholar to connect to the Library's databases. Click the hamburger icon and then choose Settings.

Settings link in Google Scholar

In the Settings area, click Library Links. Then, search for and add Santa Fe College - Find it @ Santa Fe.

Library Links and Santa Fe College - Find it @ Santa Fe in Google Scholar

Google Scholar from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to use Google Scholar and how to link database holdings.

Google Scholar is a subset of Google that allows you to search for scholarly information, including articles, scholarly books, and other types of publications. Not everything indexed in Google Scholar has the full text available. However, you can increase your full-text results by adding Santa Fe College as your library. To access Google Scholar, go to scholar.google.com.

At the top left of the page, click the icon with three horizontal lines, and then choose Settings.

On the next screen, click Library links.

On the Library links page, type Santa Fe College in the search box, and press the Enter key. In the resulting list, select Santa Fe College – Find it @ Santa Fe, and then click Save.

Saving your settings takes you back to the Google Scholar search screen. Enter your search in the box provided.

The results list displays matching articles and more. If you see a Find it @ Santa Fe link to the right of an article, the Tyree Library has access to that article. Click the Find it @ Santa Fe link.

Once you click the link, you may be prompted to sign using your Office 365 account. You might not see this screen if you are logged in elsewhere to Canvas or your Office 365 email.

You may be taken directly to the full text of the article or to an intermediary page. On this page, look at the View Online section to see the full text links.

Article options will vary, depending on the database it is part of. All articles should provide the full text.

Articles with other links in the far-right column are freely available online. As with any link to a file found online, be cautious. If you do not recognize the source of the link, you probably should not click it. Instead, contact a librarian for assistance.

If an article does not have a link in the right column, the full text is not currently available. To request a full-text copy of the article, click the double arrows icon.

Next, click the Request it link.

If you are not already signed in, click the Sign in link.

Choose Office 365 and log in with your Office 365 account.

Now you will see the option for an interlibrary loan request. This is the process of requesting that the Library obtain an item for you, which is free.

Fill out your information in the top part of the form. The bottom half should already be filled in with the article information, but you should double check before you submit. Articles are usually available within a week.

This concludes the video tutorial on using Google Scholar. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Using Google Scholar

Searching

After setting up Google Scholar to connect to the Tyree Library's holdings, you will be returned to the main search screen. Search for your topic or article using the same search strategies you have been using for the databases.

Read the Full Text

Not all article results in Google Scholar have the full text available. If there are full text links on the right, then the full text should be available for you to access. An [HTML] or [PDF] link indicates it is freely available online. A Find it @ Santa Fe link indicates it is available through a library database.

Article result in Google Scholar with full text links highlighted

When logging in to the article via the databases, you will use your Office 365 log in.

If the article does not have the full text available, you may request that the Library obtain it for you via Interlibrary Loan. Simply fill out the form with the article's information. Please give the Library at least a week to obtain the article. If you have any questions, contact a librarian.

Test Yourself!

After setting up Google Scholar to connect to Tyree Library databases, search for funerary sculpture

Locate the article by J Sorabella and published in 2007. Click the Find it @ Santa Fe link. Go to the second page of the article. What sculpture is pictured?

Sleeping Eros

Follow the Research

Research is not done in a vacuum. Research articles will build upon previous works, which allows you to follow a timeline of research.

If you find an article that you like, look at that article's references/citations. You may find more articles that are similar in their research goals and that could be useful. You can then use Google Scholar to locate the full text. For instance, here is a citation of an article about Hokusai.

Guth, Christine M. E. "Hokusai's Great Waves in Nineteenth-Century Japanese Visual Culture." The Art Bulletin 93, no. 4 (2011): 468–485. https://www.jstor.org/stable/23208270.

Input the article title in the Google Scholar search box (be sure that you have already set up your Library Links to connect to Santa Fe College). You may need to add in more information, such as author names, if there are too many irrelevant search results.

Google Scholar search for: Hokusai's Great Waves in Nineteenth-Century Japanese Visual Culture

Look to the right for the full text links. If there is no full text available, you may place an Interlibrary Loan request.

full text options for Google Scholar result highlighted

You may also move forward within the research. In Google Scholar, it will tell you how many articles have cited the article you are looking at. In this case, the article has been cited 7 times.

"Cited by" link highlighted

Click that Cited by link to see articles that have cited this article, along with full text links as needed.

Test Yourself!

Use Google Scholar to locate the article "Yoruba: Nine Centuries of African Art and Thought." Click the Cited by link.

In this list of cited articles, what is the name of the article written by ST Childs and D Killick?

"Indigenous African Metallurgy: Nature and Culture"

Facebook Instagram Pinterest Vimeo

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.