Skip to Main Content

Clinical Laboratory Science (CLS)

Accessing Databases

The best way to find journal articles on a topic is to use the Library's databases. The library databases are only available to Santa Fe College students and employees. To access the databases, click the databases link on the Library's homepage or at the top of this guide. When you select a database, you may be prompted to log in using your Office365 credentials. If you need assistance logging in, please call the Reference Desk at 352-395-5409. The databases can also be accessed via eSantaFe. 

The next section presents a tutorial on the process of locating and accessing the library databases.

Accessing Library Databases Video Tutorial

Accessing Library Databases from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to access library databases at Santa Fe College to locate articles and other subscription content.

Databases are subscription search tools that help you locate content, usually articles. Using databases to find articles has many advantages, such as more search options and full-text results.

To access library databases and read articles, click the gray Databases button on the library website.

You may also access the Library Databases link through eSantaFe under Tutoring & Support or through eStaff under Additional Information.

The database list can be navigated several different ways. First, there is a list of Recommended Databases. These are databases that are frequently used and are good places to begin your research.

If you know the name of a database, you can find it alphabetically in the main list. Scroll through the list or use the linked letter shortcuts to jump to a section.

You can also limit databases by subject by clicking the All Subjects drop-down and choosing a relevant subject category. This will limit to subject-specific databases that are more likely to contain relevant articles for a specific topic.

In a subject category, pay attention to the databases in the Best Bets! area. These databases are recommended by the librarians as the most useful and relevant.

While most library databases mainly contain articles, some contain eBooks or multimedia such as videos or artwork.

When you have located a database, click the title to access it. Many databases will also include links to a tutorial and instructions on how to cite content within the database.

To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password. You might not see this screen if you are logged into Office 365 elsewhere.

This concludes the video tutorial on accessing library databases. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Recommended Databases

These databases are recommended for researching topics within clinical laboratory science. Read the descriptions to locate the best database for your research. Then, click the access link, log in, and search for your topic.

Recommended eJournals

You may decide to browse specific journals to look for articles of interest. The following online journals titles are recommended for CLS research.

Facebook Instagram Pinterest Vimeo

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.