Need Help?
Developing a Topic
Typically a topic should be narrowed and focused, which will be more manageable than an overly broad topic. Think how hard it would be to write a 5-minute speech on just health or music! What would you include? How would you structure it? By focusing your topic, you will have an easier time with your research.
You may start with a broad topic, and not be sure how to focus it. By exploring background information you can learn about a topic and its parts. As you read through background information, consider if you can focus your topic in the following ways:
- Geographically - limit by a region, country, state, or city like Florida or England
- Chronologically - limit by a time period like the 20th century or medieval times
- People or Groups - limit to a specific person or group such as Genghis Khan or civil rights activists
- Current or Historical Events - limit to a particular event such as the the 2016 presidential election or the fall of the Berlin Wall
- Specific Examples - limit to specific examples of a broad topic. For example, instead of music, consider hip-hop or electric guitar.
Topic Resources
If you are looking for a topic, the following resources will allow you to browse through a variety of subjects. Keep in mind that most topics will be broad, and you will want to look for ways to narrow them to a more manageable scope.
These library databases provide useful lists and compilations of topics you may wish to explore for a speech. Once you have chosen a topic, they will also provide background information.
Credo Reference
NewsBank
Scroll down to the Suggested Topics area to choose a subject area and find relevant topics and news articles:
Opposing Viewpoints
Access Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Click the Browse Issues link the white menu bar to find a comprehensive list of topics that link to resources.
The following book titles contains multiple topics, either generally or within a discipline area. Looking through these books may help you decide on a topic, and can provide background information once you have chosen a topic.
Books may be found using the call numbers. Unless otherwise noted, print books are in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the Library, and are for in-library-use only. eBooks may be read online after logging in.
BioethicsCall Number: REF QH332 .E52 2014 & eBook (click title)Bioethics is the interdisciplinary study of the ethical and moral dimensions of life sciences and health care. Topics include issues related to AIDS, the ethics of fetal research and genetic engineering, and sociopolitical issues such as interpersonal abuse, sexism, and the death penalty.
Culture Wars in America: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and VoicesCall Number: REF HM1121 .C85 2014This two-volume set covers many different issues (including controversial ones) and related entries (e.g. people, organizations, court rulings). A good starting point for research.
The Debatabase Book: A Must Have Guide for Successful DebateCall Number: PN4181 .D3945 2013 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)This electronic book is essential for starting out a debate. It contains numerous topics and gives you a good introduction to each one.
Encyclopedia of Applied EthicsCall Number: eBook (click title)This four-volume set takes ethics and applies them to real life situations. Great for considering ethical considerations of certain issues.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant BehaviourCall Number: REF HV6017 .E53 2000This 4-volume set discusses certain legal and criminal topics. The four volumes are divided by: Historical, Conceptual, and Theoretical Issues (v.1); Crime and Juvenile Delinquency (v.2); Sexual Deviance (v.3); and Self-Destructive Behavior and Disvalued Identity (v.4).
Encyclopedia of Social ProblemsCall Number: REF HN28 .E55 2008This interdisciplinary two-volume set looks at 600 contemporary social issues.
Global Social Issues: An EncyclopediaCall Number: REF H41 .G56 2013 & eBook (click title)Examines current, critical social issues in historical and global contexts.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and FamilyCall Number: REF HQ9 .E52 2003 & eBook (click title)For topics covering family issues, this 4-volume set contains numerous entries from single-parent families to welfare.
Social Issues in America: An EncyclopediaCall Number: REF HN57 .S624 2006This multi-volume set looks at various social issues, including civil liberties issues, economic issues, educational issues, legal issues, political issues, and more.
The World's Population: An Encyclopedia of Critical Issues, Crises, and Ever-Growing CountriesCall Number: REF HB871 .S534 2015This one-volume encyclopedia examines key topics, major world players, and imminent problems pertaining to the world's ever-growing population, including birth control, illegal immigration and more.
Credo Reference for Background Information
Reference books can provide background information on various topics, helping you to better understand your topic. Typically entries on topics will be brief, between 1-20 pages, and can help you find related topics and areas.
Background information can help you learn about the history, scope, depth, and breadth of your topic. It can be useful to help you understand a subject, as well as give you information to help you narrow a topic.
Credo Reference
Access Credo | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
Credo Reference is a online database that contains the full text of more than 900 online reference books. The results in this database will give you brief information about subjects and help you learn more as you narrow your topic. You can also use the mind map feature to explore related topics.
Credo also has a collection of Overviews and Pro/Con Arguments that you may find useful for persuasive and other speeches, as well as the AllSides Dictionary.