Primary Sources

The best way to find journal articles on a topic is to use the Library's databases. The library databases are only available to Santa Fe students and employees. To access the databases, click the Databases link on the Library's homepage or at the top of this guide. When you do this, you'll be prompted to log in.

If you need assistance logging in, please visit our Chat Desk or email us at reference@sfcollege.edu. The databases can also be accessed via eSantaFe. 

Access History Reference Center   |  Video Tutorial   |  How to Cite 

Offers full text from history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from history magazines. The database also contains historical documents; biographies of historical figures; historical photos and maps; and historical film and video.

For primary sources, under Publication Type select Primary Source Document.

Access NewsBank  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A collection of newspapers from the United States. Great for finding the latest news about certain issues, as well as looking back to see news articles from the last two decades. Includes the Gainesville Sun. See also NewsBank's Special Reports for a collection of newspaper articles on topics of current interest.

Access New York Times Historical   |  Video Tutorial   |  How to Cite 

Provides full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times back to 1851, most recent five years not included.

Access Academic Search Complete  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.

For primary sources, under Publication Type select Primary Source Document.

You can also search for speeches, case studies, interviews, reports and proceedings under Document Type.