Need Help?
Background Information
Reference books can provide background information on various topics, helping you to better understand your topic. Typically entries on topics will be brief, between 1-20 pages, and can help you find related topics and areas.
Background information can help you learn about the history, scope, depth, and breadth of your topic. It can be useful to help you understand a subject, as well as give you information to help you narrow a topic.
Credo Reference
Access Credo | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
An online library of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books that are easily searchable by topic. Use to research people, places, topics, and more.
Reference Books
Print Reference Books
The L.W. Tyree Library has an extensive Reference Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other specialized tools. Below is just a selection of resources related to Political Science. These reference books and many others are located on the 2nd floor of the L.W. Tyree Library and are available for in-library use only. If you need access to information in one of these books from an SF Center, please call the Reference Desk for assistance: 352-395-5409.
The Statesman's YearbookCall Number: JA51.S7Statistical and historical annual of the states of the world.
Political Theories for StudentsCall Number: JA83.P64 2002Designed specifically for high school students, Political Theories for Students provides in-depth information on major political theories and systems from all time periods.
Elections in the Americas by Call Number: JF1001.E363 2005This two-volume work continues the series of election data handbooks published by OUP. It presents a first-ever compendium of electoral data for all 35 countries in the Americas since the introduction of universal male suffrage.
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections by Call Number: JK2261 .S218 2006This complete A-to-Z reference guide covers the people, events, and terms involved in the electoral process. It also provides a history of elections in the United States, focusing primarily on presidential elections.
Constitutional Amendments: Encyclopedia of the People, Procedures, Politics, Primary Documents Relating to the 27 Amendments to the U.S. ConstitutionCall Number: KF4557 .G76 2017 v. 1-2This updated encyclopedia provides new analysis of the people, procedures, politics, primary documents and campaigns for the 27 Amendments to the Constitution of the United States. Each chapter provides in-depth analysis of each amendment.
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789-2015 by Call Number: KF4557.V555 2015Now in its fourth edition and completely updated, this is the most comprehensive book on constitutional amendments and proposed amendments available.
eBooks
These are all electronic books that are available online. If you need assistance logging in, please call the Reference Desk at 352-395-5409.
- Constitutional Amendments: Encyclopedia of the People, Procedures, Politics, Primary Documents Relating to the 27 Amendments to the U.S. Constitution by Call Number: eBookThis thought-provoking and interesting text provides a complete examination of each of our nation's 27 Constitutional Amendments.
Dictionary of Politics and Government by Call Number: eBookA significant number of terms covering world politics, international relations, local and national government and the European Union.
Encyclopedia of U. S. Political History by Call Number: eBookThis volume discusses the diversity of the colonial political experience and diversity that modern scholars have found defies easy synthesis as well as the long-term conflicts, policies, and events that led to revolution, and the ideas underlying independence.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Call Number: eBookAn essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today.
