Citations
As you research your topic, you will need to incorporate what you have learned from other sources into your paper. It is important to give credit to where you found this information. Otherwise, you are plagiarizing (taking credit for other's work). To give credit, you will use citations.
When Do I Cite?
Any time you use information or ideas from another person or source you need to cite it. This includes:
- Direct quotes
- Paraphrasing
- Opinions of others
- Statistics
How Do I Cite?
To cite, use an in-text citation in your paper, and then a full citation in your bibliography. Remember that all direct quotes should be placed in "quotation marks." If you do not include both in-text citations and a full citation, this is plagiarism.
Now, how do you incorporate those sources into your writing? This wonderful video from ASU and Crash Course covers how you can use paraphrasing, quotations, and explanations without plagiarism.
Citation Styles
As mentioned, when using any outside materials in your speeches or research assignments, you will need to cite your sources. This gives credit to the original authors of your sources, allows your reader to locate more information if they are interested, and allows you to avoid plagiarism.
In this class, you can choose the citation style you prefer. APA, MLA, and Chicago are the three mostly commonly used citation styles at Santa Fe College.
APA style is most frequently used in education, social sciences, and health fields. The official book for APA style is the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. The Library has several copies of this book available.
- APA Citation Guide [Tyree Library]Guide created by the Tyree Library with information on formatting, example citations, and tutorials.
- APA Style BlogThe official blog, answering and clarifying questions about APA.
- The Basics of APA StyleOfficial tutorial on APA.
Example Citations
Book/eBook
National Academy of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine. (2017). Human genome editing: Science, ethics and governance. The National Academies Press. https://doi.org/10.17226/24623
Newton, D. E. (2017). DNA technology: A reference handbook (2nd ed.). ABC-CLIO.
(National Academy of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine, 2017; Newton, 2017, p. 112)
Journal Article
Lau, R. W. K., Wang, B., & Ricardo, S. D. (2018). Gene editing of stem cells for kidney disease modelling and therapeutic intervention. Nephrology, 23(11), 981–990. https://doi.org/10.1111/nep.13410
(Lau et al., 2018, pp. 982-983)
Video
Ronald, P. (2015, March). The case for engineering our food [Video]. TED. https://www.ted.com/talks/pamela_ronald_the_case_for_engineering_our_food
(Ronald, 2015, 02:13)
Report
Fernandez-Cornejo, J., Wechsler, S., Livingston, M., & Mitchell, L. (2014, February). Genetically engineered crops in the United States (Economic Research Report no. 162). United States Department of Agriculture. https://www.ers.usda.gov/webdocs/publications/45179/43668_err162.pdf
(Fernandez-Cornejo et al., 2014)
Webpage
Funk, C., & Hefferon, M. (2018, August 16). Most Americans accept genetic engineering of animals that benefits human health, but many oppose other uses. Pew Research Center. https://www.pewresearch.org/science/2018/08/16/most-americans-accept-genetic-engineering-of-animals-that-benefits-human-health-but-many-oppose-other-uses/
University of Nebraska-Lincoln. (n.d.). What is genetic engineering and how does it work? AgBiosafety. http://agbiosafety.unl.edu/basic_genetics.shtml
(Funk and Hefferon, 2018; University of Nebraska-Lincoln, n.d.)
Chicago style is most frequently used in history and some humanities fields. The official book for Chicago style is The Chicago Manual of Style. The Library has several copies of this book available. Please note that Chicago has two different styles within it: Notes & Bibliography, which uses footnotes or endnotes, and Author-Date, which uses in-text citations.
- Chicago-Style Citation Quick GuideQuick examples from the official style guide.
- Chicago Citation Guide [Tyree Library]Guide created by the Tyree Library with information on formatting, example citations, and tutorials.
Example Citations - Author-Date Format
Book
Newton, David E. 2017. DNA Technology: A Reference Handbook. 2nd ed. ABC-CLIO.
(Newton 2017, 12-13)
eBook
Parrington, John. 2016. Redesigning Life: How Genome Editing Will Transform the World. Oxford University Press. Ebook Central.
(Parrington 2016)
Journal Article
Lau, Ricky WK, Bo Wang, and Sharon D. Ricardo. 2018. "Gene Editing of Stem Cells for Kidney Disease Modelling and Therapeutic Intervention." Nephrology 23 (11): 981–990. https://doi.org/10.1111/nep.13410.
(Lau, Wang, and Ricardo 2018, 982)
Video
Roland, Pamela. 2015. "The Case for Engineering Our Food." Filmed March 2015. TED, 17 min., 41 sec. https://www.ted.com/talks/pamela_ronald_the_case_for_engineering_our_food
(Roland 2015)
Report
Fernandez-Cornejo, Jorge, Seth Wechsler, Mike Livingston, and Lorraine Mitchell. 2014. Genetically Engineered Crops in the United States. Economic Research Report No. 162. United States Department of Agriculture. http://www.ers.usda.gov/webdocs/publications/45179/43668_err162.pdf.
(Fernandez-Cornejo et al. 2014)
Webpage
Funk, Cary, and Meg Hefferon. 2018. "Most Americans Accept Genetic Engineering of Animals That Benefits Human Health, But Many Oppose Other Uses." Pew Research Center. August 16. http://www.pewresearch.org/science/2018/08/16/most-americans-accept-genetic-engineering-of-animals-that-benefits-human-health-but-many-oppose-other-uses/.
University of Nebraska-Lincoln. n.d. "What Is Genetic Engineering and How Does It Work?" AgBiosafety. Accessed July 7, 2020. http://agbiosafety.unl.edu/basic_genetics.shtml.
(Funk and Hefferon 2018; University of Nebraska-Lincoln n.d.)
MLA style is most frequently used in literature, humanities, and some history fields. The official book for MLA style is the MLA Handbook. The Library has several copies of this book available.
- MLA Citation Guide [Tyree Library]Guide created by the Tyree Library with information on formatting, example citations, and tutorials.
- The MLA Style CenterThe official website for MLA style, with more examples, guidelines, and a place to ask questions.
Example Citations
Book
Newton, David E. DNA Technology: A Reference Handbook. 2nd ed., ABC-CLIO, 2017.
(Newton 112)
eBook
Parrington, John. Redesigning Life: How Genome Editing Will Transform the World. Oxford UP, 2016. Ebook Central, ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/sfcollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4706543.
(Parrington)
Journal Article
Kato, Kazuto, et al. “Challenges Raised by Gene Editing.” Issues in Science and Technology, vol. 32, no. 4, 2016, pp. 5–8. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/24727075.
Lau, Ricky WK, et al. “Gene Editing of Stem Cells for Kidney Disease Modelling and Therapeutic Intervention.” Nephrology, vol. 23, no. 11, Nov. 2018, pp. 981–990. Academic Search Complete, https://doi.org/10.1111/nep.13410.
(Kato et al. 6; Lau et al. 982)
Video
Doudna, Jennifer. “How CRISPR Lets Us Edit Our DNA.” YouTube, uploaded by TED, 12 Nov. 2015, www.youtube.com/watch?v=TdBAHexVYzc.
(Doudna)
Report
Fernandez-Cornejo, Jorge, et al. Genetically Engineered Crops in the United States. United States Department of Agriculture, 2014, www.ers.usda.gov/webdocs/publications/45179/43668_err162.pdf. Economic Research Report No. 162.
(Fernandez-Cornejo et al.)
Webpage
Bodine, David M. "Human Genomic Variation." National Human Genome Research Institute, National Institutes of Health, www.genome.gov/genetics-glossary/Genetic-Engineering. Accessed 7 July 2020.
Funk, Cary, and Meg Hefferon. "Most Americans Accept Genetic Engineering of Animals That Benefits Human Health, But Many Oppose Other Uses." Pew Research Center, 16 Aug. 2018, www.pewresearch.org/science/2018/08/16/most-americans-accept-genetic-engineering-of-animals-that-benefits-human-health-but-many-oppose-other-uses/.
"What Is Genetic Engineering and How Does It Work?" AgBiosafety, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, agbiosafety.unl.edu/basic_genetics.shtml. Accessed 7 July 2020.
(Bodine; Funk and Hefferon; "What Is")