Nursing

Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to access articles from the Lawrence W. Tyree Library using PubMed.

PubMed is a public medical database provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. This database is a great choice for locating health science articles. To see library holdings in PubMed, you must use a special PubMed link found in the Library's A-Z Databases list. To access this database, click the gray Databases button on the library website.

PubMed is listed alphabetically on the A-Z Databases page, or under the Health & Medicine and Nursing & Allied Health subject categories. To access this database, click its title.

To perform a basic search, enter your keywords into the search box. If you are not sure which keywords to use, consider using the MeSH Database to search for the best terminology. For this example, the keyword phrase is peanut hypersensitivity.

In the results, some articles will be noted as Free Article or Free PMC Article. These articles are freely available online. Other articles may be available through the Library's subscriptions. To see full text options, click the title of an article.

Look for the Full Text Links section on the right side of the screen. Click the Find it @ SF link to determine if an article is available in full text from the Library.

After clicking the Find it @ SF link, you will be prompted to log in. To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password.

If full text is available, you should be taken directly to the article.

If full text is not available, you will be taken to the article's record in the library catalog. If you would like to request the article from another library, click Sign in.

If prompted to sign in, choose the Office 365 option.

Once you are signed in, you will see a link for Interlibrary Loan Request. Interlibrary loan is a free service that allows you to request articles we do not own from other libraries. Requests are usually completed within 1-2 weeks. To access the request form, click the Interlibrary Loan Request link.

When the request form opens, the  article information section is pre-populated, but you will need to enter your contact information. Complete the form and click Submit. This places the interlibrary loan request. If we can get the article from another library, it will be emailed to your college email address.

This concludes the video tutorial on accessing articles through PubMed. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to use Google Scholar and how to link database holdings.

Google Scholar is a subset of Google that allows you to search for scholarly information, including articles, scholarly books, and other types of publications. Not everything indexed in Google Scholar has the full text available. However, you can increase your full-text results by adding Santa Fe College as your library. To access Google Scholar, go to scholar.google.com.

At the top left of the page, click the icon with three horizontal lines, and then choose Settings.

On the next screen, click Library links.

On the Library links page, type Santa Fe College in the search box, and press the Enter key. In the resulting list, select Santa Fe College – Find it @ Santa Fe, and then click Save.

Saving your settings takes you back to the Google Scholar search screen. Enter your search in the box provided.

The results list displays matching articles and more. If you see a Find it @ Santa Fe link to the right of an article, the Tyree Library has access to that article. Click the Find it @ Santa Fe link.

Once you click the link, you may be prompted to sign using your Office 365 account. You might not see this screen if you are logged in elsewhere to Canvas or your Office 365 email.

You may be taken directly to the full text of the article or to an intermediary page. On this page, look at the View Online section to see the full text links.

Article options will vary, depending on the database it is part of. All articles should provide the full text.

Articles with other links in the far-right column are freely available online. As with any link to a file found online, be cautious. If you do not recognize the source of the link, you probably should not click it. Instead, contact a librarian for assistance.

If an article does not have a link in the right column, the full text is not currently available. To request a full-text copy of the article, click the double arrows icon.

Next, click the Request it link.

If you are not already signed in, click the Sign in link.

Choose Office 365 and log in with your Office 365 account.

Now you will see the option for an interlibrary loan request. This is the process of requesting that the Library obtain an item for you, which is free.

Fill out your information in the top part of the form. The bottom half should already be filled in with the article information, but you should double check before you submit. Articles are usually available within a week.

This concludes the video tutorial on using Google Scholar. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library