Need Help?
Spanish
This page provides resources to help you learn Spanish. Subscription resources will require you to log in.
Books & Media
To search for resources about Spanish at the Tyree Library, search Spanish language as a Subject in the library catalog.
To limit your results to media, change the All formats option to Videos or Audio. You can also browse the Spanish Language Films list.
Use the following call number areas to browse for books and media in the Circulating Collection (3rd floor).
The Films on Demand database provides streaming videos that address culture and language within Spanish-speaking countries.
Magazines
Cocinas magazine discusses food and recipes in Spanish and is available through the Flipster interface.
Magazines in Spanish can be found online in Informe Académico, a database that includes the full text of many popular Hispanic magazines.
Mango Languages
Mango Languages: Latin American Spanish
Online language learning lab, covering more than 70 languages. Each language includes two units and many include specialized short courses and full-length movies. The first time you access Mango, create a free user account. This will allow you to save your progress.
Websites
The following websites may be useful to you. These links are external sites. As such, content may change frequently and they may contain ads. Per policy, the Library does not review links suggested via email.
- AccesoFor intermediate learners.
- BBC Languages: SpanishThis page is no longer being updated, but the archived content includes good basics for learning Spanish.
- BBC MundoWorld news in Spanish.
- El Caracol SerafínOnline story/activity in Spanish. Requires Flash; autoplays audio.
- CNN en EspañolRead news from around the world in Spanish.
- Culturea FNACFocusing on culture in Spanish speaking countries.
- Destinos: An Introduction to SpanishA 52 part video series introducing you to Spanish.
- Digital DialectsGames to learn Spanish; some have audio.
- Duolingo: SpanishIncludes a Spanish language podcast
- EngadgetPractice your Spanish with this blog on technology.
- iMendiSpanish flashcards to practice vocabulary.
- International Children's Digital Library: SpanishChildren's books in Spanish, available online.
- LangMedia: Resources for World LanguagesWith resources for Argentina, Ecuador, Mexico, Nicaragua, and Spain.
- Libro de Texto de PRIMERO DE PRIMARIA — EspañolOnline textbook for first grades in Mexico learning Spanish.
- Lingus.tvA funny video series introducing you to Spanish.
- Mi Vida LocaA video mystery set in Spain.
- Notes in SpanishFree podcasts, though the worksheets cost money.
- Project Gutenberg: SpanishFree downloadable books in Spanish.
- Radio AmbulanteSpanish-language podcast from NPR.
- Radio EducaciónMexican news audio clips, focusing on culture and education.
- ReadLangA browser extension that lets you translate words and phrases in order to learn words in context.
- Señor Jordan's Spanish Video BlogA Spanish teacher creates videos to teach the basics of learning the Spanish language.
- SpanishDictOnline dictionary with audio and flashcards.
- Spanish 1An online course through Wikiversity.
- SpanishPod101Learn through podcasts accessible through computer or mobile apps; requires a free sign up.
- Speak Spanish FasterYouTube video with tips and practice for speaking Spanish.
Social Language Learning
These free sites let you interact with native speakers and with others learning different languages; all require free registration.
- HelloTalkAndroid/iOS app with over 100 languages.