Need Help?
Chinese
This page provides resources to help you learn Chinese. Subscription resources will require you to log in.
Books & Media
To search for resources about Chinese at the Tyree Library, search Chinese language as a Subject in the library catalog.
To limit your results to media, change the All formats option to Videos or Audio. You can also browse the Chinese Language Films list.
Use the following call number areas to browse for books and media in the Circulating Collection (3rd floor).
The Films on Demand database provides streaming videos that address culture and language within Chinese-speaking countries.
Databases
Mango Languages: Mandarin Chinese
Online language learning lab, covering more than 70 languages. Each language includes two units and many include specialized short courses and full-length movies. The first time you access Mango, create a free user account. This will allow you to save your progress.
Image- and video-based foreign language learning tool for 260 of the most basic words and terms in 30 languages.
Practice with Storytelling
Wordless Picture Books
Choose a wordless picture book, found in the Youth College Picture Books (second floor), and tell the story in Chinese. This is a great way to practice speaking naturally. Keep a Chinese language dictionary nearby in case you need help with vocabulary!
Dixit Board Game
Dixit is a storytelling board game where players use imaginative clues to describe surreal illustrated cards, and others try to guess which card matches the clue. Dixit is a fun way to practice vocabulary and listening comprehension in a language you are learning. You can borrow Dixit at the first-floor Circulation Desk.
Websites
The following websites may be useful to you. These links are external sites. As such, content may change frequently and they may contain ads. Per policy, the Library does not review links suggested via email.
-
BBC Languages: ChineseThis page is no longer being updated, but the archived content includes good basics for learning Chinese.
-
Chinese (Mandarin)A WikiBook on learning Chinese with simplified characters.
-
Chinese Voices ProjectA collection of mini-essays with audio from Beijing students.
-
Digital DialectsGames to learn Chinese; some have audio. Requires Flash.
-
FSI Language Courses: ChineseArchived course.
-
People's DailyOnline newspaper.
-
Pitch Perfect PinyinPronunciation exercises.
-
Project Gutenberg: ChineseFree downloadable books in Chinese.
-
World JournalChinese language news published in North America.
Social Language Learning
These free sites let you interact with native speakers and with others learning different languages; all require free registration.