![Clic, Clac, Muu: Vacas Escritoras [Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type]](http://syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=1930332289/LC.GIF&client=springshare)
![PingüIno [Penguin]](http://syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=8479018593/LC.GIF&client=springshare)
![Doble Fudge [Double Fudge]](http://syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=1594378142/LC.GIF&client=springshare)
![Los Juegos del Hambre [The Hunger Games]](http://syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=9788427202122/LC.GIF&client=springshare)
Locating Spanish Children's Books
To find children's books written in Spanish, go to the library catalog and do a Subject search for Spanish language books -- Juvenile fiction.
Books can be found on the second floor of the Library in the Youth Collection. The first part of the call number will indicate the collection:
- BOARD = Board Book Collection
- PICTURE = Picture Book Collection
- CHAPTER = Chapter Book Collection
- YOUNG ADULT = Young Adult Collection
- LANGUAGE = World Language Collection
Bilingual Books
El Agua Rueda, el Agua Sube = Water Rolls, Water Rises by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.M635 Wat 2014A series of verses, in English and Spanish, about the movement and moods of water around the world and the ways in which water affects a variety of landscapes and cultures.
Aladino y la Lampara Maravillosa = Aladdin and the Magic Lamp by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.V345 Al 2006Aladdin outwits an evil magician who first tries to trick him into handing over an old lamp with a genie inside and later steals Aladdin's wife and possessions.
All the Colors We Are = Todos Los Colores de Nuestra Piel by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.K577 All 2014Explains, in simple terms, the reasons for skin color, how it is determined by heredity, and how various environmental factors affect it.
Are You My Mother? = ¿Eres Tú Mi Mamá? by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.E13153 Ere 1995When a baby bird hatches while his mother is out searching for food, he leaves the nest for a series of adventures to try to determine his mother's identity.
Arroz Con Leche = Rice Pudding by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.A74 Arr 2010In this delightful book award-winning poet Jorge Argueta gives us his favorite recipe for rice pudding, providing a wonderful opportunity for family fun in the kitchen.
Book Fiesta! Celebrate Children's Day/Book Day = Celebremos el Día de los Niños/el Día de los Libros by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.M635 Boo 2009Children read aloud in various settings to celebrate of El día de los niños, or Children’s Day, in this bilingual story. Includes facts about Mexico’s annual celebration of children and the book fiestas that are often included.
Calling the Doves = El Canto de las Palomas by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.H47 Cal 1995The author recalls his childhood in the mountains and valleys of California with his farmworker parents who inspired him with poetry and song.
The Coyote Under the Table = El Coyote Debajo de la Mesa by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.H32 Coy 2011A collection of ten classic tales from Northern New Mexico retold in Spanish and English.
Dance of the Eggshells = Baile de Cascarones by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.A658 Dan 2010Libby and her brother have been fighting, but they find common ground while spending spring break with their grandparents near Santa Fe, New Mexico, participating in cultural events surrounding Easter.
A Day Without Sugar = Un Día sin Azúcar by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.D3852Day 2012Because ten-year-old Tito is at risk of developing diabetes like some of his relatives, Tia Sofia spends a day teaching him and his cousins about healthy, low-sugar or sugar-free treats.
¡Fiesta! by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.G842 Fie 1996Bilingual text describes a children's party and provides practice counting in English and Spanish.
El Gato Ensombrerado = The Cat in the Hat by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.G276 Cat 2015A zany but well-meaning cat brings a cheerful, exotic, and exuberant form of chaos to a household of two young children one rainy day while their mother is out.
Goldilocks and the Three Bears = Ricitos de Oro y los Tres Osos by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.M35 Gol 1998A retelling of the classic story of Goldilocks and the three bears.
Hairs = Pelitos by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.C53 Hai 1997A girl describes how each person in the family has hair that looks and acts different; Papa's like a broom, Kiki's like fur, and Mama's with the sweet smell of bread before it's baked.
Jack and the Beanstalk = Juan y los Frijoles Magicos by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.B54 Jac 1998A retelling of the classic story of the boy who climbs a beanstalk and outwits a giant.
Laughing Out Loud, I Fly: Poems in English and Spanish by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.H477 Lau 1998A collection of poems in Spanish and English about childhood, place, and identity.
Little Red Riding Hood = Caperucita Roja by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.R68 Lit 1999A little girl meets a hungry wolf in the forest while on her way to visit her sick grandmother.
Marisol Mcdonald Doesn't Match = Marisol Mcdonald No Combina by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.B816644 Mar 2011Marisol McDonald, a biracial, nonconformist, soccer-playing pirate-princess with brown skin and red hair, celebrates her uniqueness.
Me Gustan Los Animales = I Like AnimalsCall Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.W565 Me 2010This little volume features exceptionally clear, colorful photos of animals. Each picture appears on a single page or double-page spread, accompanied by a brief sentence in Spanish and in English.
Mi Casa = My House by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.E43 Myh 1990Captioned illustrations and Spanish and English text describe things found in a house.
Mira Donde Vivo = Look Where I Live by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.M675 Mir 2015In a delightfully unusual language-learning series, children learn vocabulary by visiting colorful houses around the world, and playing I Spy in each. Each house displays lots of fascinating things to search and find.
¡Montones de Mariquitas! = Lots of Ladybugs: Counting by Fives by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.D15134 Mon 2011Introduces counting by fives by counting the number of spots on the shell of a ladybug.
A Movie in My Pillow = Una Pelicula en Mi Almohada by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.A74 Mov 2001Jorgito lives in San Francisco's Mission District, but has not forgotten his native El Salvador. His memories of the volcanoes, his grandmother's stories, and the cornmeal "pupusas" form a patchwork of dreams that becomes a movie in his pillow.
My Clothes = Mi Ropa by Call Number: BOARD BOOK / EMBERLEY, R. / MY CLOTHESThis illustrated book for children introduces words in English and Spanish for items of clothing.
My Colors, My World = Mis Colores, Mi Mundo by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.G589 Mis 2007Maya, who lives in the dusty desert, opens her eyes wide to find the colors in her world, from Papi's black hair and Mami's orange and purple flowers to Maya's red swing set and the fiery pink sunset.
My Food = Mi Comida by Call Number: BOARD BOOK / EMBERLEY, R. / MY FOODThis illustrated book for children introduces words in English and Spanish for several foods.
My Skeleton Family = Mi Familia Calaca by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.W45 Mi 2013Welcome to the Family! It's just like yours: father, mother, sister, brother, abuelita, gato. Well, but, there's something just a little bit different about this family. Maybe it's those clothes they wear... just a little bit fashion backward. And the colors! So vibrant and... lively. Maybe that's what it is. They are just so full of life. Familia—life from a Day of the Dead perspective!
My Toys = Mis Juguetes by Call Number: BOARD BOOK / EMBERLEY, R. / MY TOYSThis illustrated book for children introduces words in English and Spanish for several toys.
My Way = A Mi Manera by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.R414 My 2007Parallel text in Spanish and English portrays Margaret and Margarita, who mirror one another as they fix their hair, greet their friends, and engage in other routine activities, each in her own special way.
¡No, No Y No! = No, No and No! by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.A4127 No 2004The little bear Octavio goes to school for the first time. The only thing that he says all day is "no."
¡Olinguito, de la A a la Z! Descubriendo el Bosque Nublado = Olinguito, from A to Z! Unveiling the Cloud Forest by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.D45 Ol 2016The plants and animals of the cloud forest on the western slope of the Ecuadorian Andes are presented in alphabet format.
Once Upon a Time Traditional Latin American Tales = Había una Vez: Cuentos Tradicionales Latinoamericanos by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.M3728 Onc 2010A collection of seven traditional tales from Latin America, the Caribbean, and Spain retold in English and Spanish. Includes notes about each story.
Only You = Sólo Tú by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.W46843 On 2004A little bear describes how much his mother means to him.
Los Peces = Fish by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.O3318 Pec 2006The many types of fish and their habitats are explored.
The Princess and the Pea = La Princesa y el Guisante by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.B62313 Pri 2004By feeling a pea through twenty mattresses and twenty feather beds, a girl proves that she is a real princess.
Puss in Boots = El Gato con Botas by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.B43 Pus 2004A clever cat wins his master a fortune and the hand of a princess.
The Rainbow Fish = El pez arcoíris by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.P448558 Rai 2019The Rainbow Fish, with his shimmering scales, is the most beautiful fish in the ocean. But he is proud and vain and none of the other fish want to be his friend -- until he learns to give away some of his most prized possessions.
Rapunzel by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.B54 Rap 2006A beautiful girl with extraordinarily long golden hair is imprisoned in a lonely tower by a witch.
Salsa: Un Poema para Cocinar = Salsa: A Cooking Poem by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.A74 Sal 2015In this new cooking poem, Jorge Argueta brings us a fun and easy recipe for a yummy salsa. A young boy and his sister gather the ingredients and grind them up in a molcajete, just like their ancestors used to do, singing and dancing all the while.
Side by Side: The Story of Dolores Huerta and Cesar Chavez = Lado a Lado: La Historia de Dolores Huerta y Cesar Chavez by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.B816644 Sid 2010Something special happened when Dolores Huerta and Cesar Chavez met. Together, they fought for the rights of countless farmworkers. Side by side, inspiring hope, they changed history.
Siesta by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.G842 Sie 2005A brother and sister and their teddy bear go through the house gathering items they will need for their siesta in the back yard.
The Sleeping Beauty = La Bella Durmiente by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.D44 Sl 2003A beautiful princess is put into a deep sleep by a curse until she is awakened by a brave prince.
Somos Como las Nubes = We Are Like the Clouds by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.A74 Som 2016Why are young people leaving their country to walk to the United States to seek a new, safe home? Over 100,000 such children have left Central America. This book of poetry helps us to understand why and what it is like to be them.
Sonia Sotomayor: A Judge Grows in the Bronx = La Juez que Creció en el Bronx by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.W565 Son 2009The inspiring and timely story of Sonia Sotomayor, who rose up from a childhood of poverty and prejudice to become the first Latino to be nominated to the US Supreme Court.
The Storyteller's Candle = La Velita de los Cuentos by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.G5886 Sto 2008During the early days of the Great Depression, New York City's first Puerto Rican librarian, Pura Belpré, introduces the public library to immigrants living in El Barrio and hosts the neighborhood's first Three Kings' Day fiesta.
Sólidos, Líquidos y Gases = Solids, Liquids, and Gases by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.L5618 Sol 2011Simple text and photographs present solids, liquids, and gases—in both English and Spanish.
¡Toca, Chavi, Toca! = Drum, Chavi, Drum! by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.D701 Dru 2003Chavi's music teacher believes that only boys should play drums in Miami's Festival de la Calle Ocho, but Chavi knows she is a good musician and looks for a way to prove it.
The Ugly Duckling = El Patito Feo by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.E66813 Ug 2004An ugly duckling spends an unhappy year excluded by the other animals before he grows into a beautiful swan.
Un Gran Edificio = One Big Building by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.D15134 Gra 2011A counting book that follows the construction of a building, from one plan to twelve stories and includes related facts and counting activities.
Viva Frida by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.M7955 Viv 2014Via spare text, this book presents Frida Kahlo, one of the world's most famous and unusual artists, and examines her creative process.
What a Tantrum! = ¡Vaya Rabieta! by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.A4127 Wh 2003Roberto has a very bad day and has to face the monster that is his anger.
Picture Books
¡Al Galope! [Gallop] by Call Number: BOARD BOOK / SEDER, R. / AL GALOPEText of this book for children asks if the reader can move like certain animals and describes the animal sounds. Illustrations with acetate overlays give the illusion of movement.
Las Aventuras de Pedro Pelícano: Un Ave Nace [Adventures of Pelican Pete] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.K273 Ave 2003A story in rhyme about a pelican egg which hatches into curious young Pete; to protect his head from the sun, his parents find a child's cap for him to wear.
Azul el Sombrero, Verde el Sombrero [Blue Hat, Green Hat] by Call Number: BOARD BOOK / BOYNTON, S. / AZUL ELHumorous animal characters introduce the basic colors and familiar items of clothing.
Buenas Noches, Luna [Goodnight Moon] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.B8163 Bue 1995cBefore going to sleep, a little rabbit says goodnight to many different things.
Buenas Noches, Planeta by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.L56 Bue 2017After being played with all day, Planet, a friendly stuffed animal, comes to life at night and goes on a moonlit adventure with a dog and a mouse.
Clic, Clac, Muu: Vacas Escritoras [Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.C88135 Cli 2002When Farmer Brown's cows find a typewriter in the barn they start making demands, and go on strike when the farmer refuses to give them what they want.
¡Corre, Perro, Corre! [Go, Dog, Go!] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.E13153 Co 1992A vocabulary-building story about dogs engaged in every imaginable type of activity.
Los Dientes de Trino Rojo by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.Z24732 Die 2017Oral hygiene is something that has to be taught from an early age, but it isn't always easy. The delightful pictures by Sonja Wimmer illustrating this humorous tale by Marta Zafrilla will help teach children about using their toothbrush, with a smile on their faces!
Donde Viven los Monstruos [Where the Wild Things Are] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.S47 Don 2009A naughty little boy, sent to bed without his supper, sails to the land of the wild things where he becomes their king.
Fonchito y la Luna by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.V3475 Fon 2010Fonchito is in love for the first time and he finds there is nothing he can not do for her, even if she asks for the moon.
Frida Kahlo by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.F56 Fri 2015The first in the Anti-Princess series explores the life of Frida Kahlo, the world-renowned Mexican artist that dedicated her life to creating beauty and expressing her most authentic self despite the many challenges she faced.
El Gato con Sombrero Viene de Nuevo [The Cat in the Hat Comes Back] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.G276 Gat 2004The Cat in the Hat leaves a big pink ring in the tub and moves it from place to place with the help of his alphabet friends.
El Gran Dia de Lily [Lilly's Big Day] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.H389 Gra 2008When her teacher announces that he is getting married, Lilly the mouse sets her heart on being the flower girl at his wedding.
La Gran Fiesta de Los Olores by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.M37724 Gra 2019Since moles cannot see very well, but have a very strongly developed sense of smell, Topo Maravilla throws a costume party where his friends disguise themselves with the odors of other animals, but a hungry weasel is there, too.
Harold y el Lápiz Color Morado [Harold and the Purple Crayon] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.J63162 Har 1995Harold provides himself with many adventures with his purple crayon.
Jorge y Marta [George and Martha] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.M35672 Jor 2000Relates several episodes in the friendship of two hippopotamuses.
Llaman a la Puerta [The Doorbell Rang] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.H96165 Lla 1994Each time the doorbell rings, there are more people who have come to share Ma's wonderful cookies.
La Luna Se Fue de Fiesta [The Moon Was at a Fiesta] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.G583 Lun 1997Jealous of the sun, the moon decides to create her own fiesta and celebrates a bit too much.
Madeline by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.B425 Mad 1993Madeline, smallest and naughtiest of the twelve little charges of Miss Clavel, wakes up one night with an attack of appendicitis..
Los Mejores Amigos de Maisy [Maisy's Best Friends] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.C83175 Mai 2003Maisy the mouse enjoys having fun with all of her best friends.
Mis Alas by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.M37 Mis 2004A unicorn helps a young angel find their lost wings.
Nancy la Elegante [Fancy Nancy] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.O222 Nan 2008A young girl who loves fancy things helps her family to be fancy for one special night.
No Dejes Que Desaparezcan: 12 Animales en Peligro de Extinción Alrededor del Mundo by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.C55 No 2019Profiles twelve endangered species around the world, including giraffes, gorillas, giant pandas, and polar bears, and describes why it is important to save each animal from extinction.
Pasando Páginas: La Historia de Mi Vida [Turning Pages: The Story of My Life] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.S67 Pas 2018In Turning Pages, Justice Sonia Sotomayor, the first Latina Supreme Court Justice, shares her love of books with a new generation of readers, and inspires them to read and puzzle and dream for themselves.
PingüIno [Penguin] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.D89445 Pin 2008Lucas is delighted to receive a penguin for his birthday but Pingüino will not answer or respond to him in any way, no matter what Lucas does, until, at last, they discover the language of friendship.
Si le Das una Galletita a un Ratón [If You Give a Mouse a Cookie] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.N86 Gal 1995Relating the cycle of requests a mouse is likely to make after you give him a cookie takes the reader through a young child's day.
¡Solo Pregunta! Sé Diferente, Sé Valiente, Sé Tú by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.S6846 Sol 2019Sonia and her friends plant a garden, and each one contributes in his or her own special way, in a book that celebrates the many differences among humans
El Tesoro de Noelle [Noelle's Treasure Tale] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.E79 Tes 2006Noelle the bulldog goes looking for long-lost pirate treasure on the Treasure Coast of Florida, where she ends up finding something far more valuable.
La Tortilla Corredora by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.H477 Tor 2010A woman has made a delicious tortilla for her seven hungry children, but the tortilla doesn’t want to be eaten and runs away. A traditional story from the south of Chile, with an unexpected ending.
Los Veinticinco Gatos Mixtecos [Twenty-Five Mixtec Cats] by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.G583 Ve 1997The inhabitants of a mountain village are suspicious of the twenty-five cats who come to live with their healer, until the cats are able to help lift a curse placed on the butcher.
Violeta Parra by Call Number: LANGUAGE PZ73.F56 Vi 2017A biography of the Chilean musician and artist Violeta Parra
Easy Chapter Books
Las Aventuras del Superbebé Pañal [Adventures of Super Diaper Baby] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.7.P54 Advs 2003spIrrepressible friends Jorge and Berto create a new comic book superhero, Superbebé Pañal.
El Caballero Del Alba [Knight at Dawn] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.O81167 Kn 2003spEight-year-old Jack and his younger sister Annie use the magic treehouse to travel back to the Middle Ages, where they explore a castle and are helped by a mysterious knight.
El Diario de Greg, un Renacuajo [Diary of a Wimpy Kid] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.K6232 Dia 2008spGreg records his sixth grade experiences in a middle school where he and his best friend, Rowley, undersized weaklings amid boys who need to shave twice daily, hope just to survive, but when Rowley grows more popular, Greg must take drastic measures to save their friendship.
Dinosaurios al Atardecer [Dinosaurs Before Dark] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.O81167 Di 2002spEight-year-old Jack and his younger sister Annie find a magic treehouse, which whisks them back to an ancient time zone where they see live dinosaurs.
Doble Fudge [Double Fudge] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.B6265 Do 2004spHis younger brother's obsession with money and the discovery of long-lost cousins Flora and Fauna provide many embarrassing moments for twelve-year-old Peter.
Isadora Moon Va al Colegio [Isadora Moon Goes to School] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.M92325 Isa 2017spIsadora Moon, a vampire fairy, has to decided which school she wants to go to--vampire or fairy.
Judy Moody and Stink: La Loca, Loca Búsqueda del Tesoro [Judy Moody & Stink: The Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad Treasure Hunt] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.M478419 Jual 2011spDuring a weekend trip to Ocracoke Island, siblings Judy and Stink Moody take part in a pirate treasure-hunting game, in which various clues lead them to silver coins, or "pieces of eight," hidden across the island.
Judy Moody va a la Universidad [Judy Moody Goes to College] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.M478419 Jug 2009spWhen her substitute teacher realizes she is struggling in math, Judy is sent to a math tutor at the local college and soon is completely into the spirit of college life.
Jugo de Pecas [Freckle Juice] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.B6265 Fr 1996spAndrew wants freckles so badly that he buys Sharon's freckle recipe for fifty cents.
Junie B. Jones es una Peluquera [Junie B. Jones is a Beauty Shop Guy] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.P2197 Jtwe 2004spAfter her first trip to a beauty parlor Junie decides she wants to work there, and she practices on her bunny slippers, her dog, and herself with disastrous results.
Junie B. Jones Tiene un Monstruo Debajo de la Cama [Junie B. Jones Has a Monster Under Her Bed] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.P2197 Jtw 2004spAfter hearing from a classmate at kindergarten that people have monsters under their beds, Junie B. Jones is afraid to go to sleep that night.
La Lluvia Torrencial [The Big Rain] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.1.M344 Bi 2017spIt's been raining and raining and raining. When the sun finally peeks out from behind the clouds, Carlos and Carmen find their entire backyard is one big puddle. But the twins don't mind once they discover it's not just a puddle of water--it's a puddle of fun!
Mallory Se Muda [Mallory on the Move] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.F89773 Mal 2008spAfter moving to a new town, eight-year-old Mallory keeps throwing stones in the "Wishing Pond" but things will not go back to the way they were before, and she remains torn between old and new best friends.
Medianoche en la Luna [Midnight on the Moon] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.O81167 Mi 2004spThe magic treehouse takes Jack and Annie to a moon base in the future, where they continue to search for the fourth thing they need to free their friend Morgan from the magician's spell.
Una Momia al Amanecer [Mummies in the Morning] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.O81167 Mr 2003spJack and his younger sister take a trip in their tree house back to ancient Egypt, where they help a queen's mummy continue her voyage to the Next Life.
Piratas Después del Mediodia [Pirates Past Noon] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.O81167 Pi 2003spThe magic treehouse whisks Jack and Annie back to the days of deserted islands, secret maps, hidden gold, and nasty pirates.
Ramona Empieza el Curso [Ramona Quimbey, Age 8] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.C5792 Rais 1997spThe further adventures of the Quimby family as Ramona enters the third grade.
Ramona la Chinche [Ramona the Pest] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.C5792 Pes 1996spRamona meets a lot of interesting people in kindergarten class, including Davy whom she keeps trying to kiss and Susan whose springy curls seem to ask to be pulled.
El Ratoncito de la Moto [The Mouse and the Motorcycle] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.C5792 Mo 2003spA reckless young mouse named Ralph makes friends with a boy in room 215 of the Mountain View Inn and discovers the joys of motorcycling.
Sapo y Sepo, Inseparables [Frog and Toad Together] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ10.3.L787 Fr 2002spaFive further adventures of two best friends as they share cookies, plant a garden, and test their bravery.
Stink, el Increíble Niño Menguante [Stink, the Incredible Shrinking Kid] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.M478419 St 2008spThe shortest kid in the second grade, James Moody, also known as Stink, learns all about the shortest president of the United States, James Madison, when they celebrate Presidents' Day at school.
Stuart Little by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.W58277 St 2004spThe adventures of the debonair mouse Stuart Little as he sets out in the world to seek out his dearest friend, a little bird that stayed for a few days in his family's garden.
La Telaraña de Carlota [Charlotte's Web] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.W58277 Ch 2005spWilbur the pig is desolate when he discovers that he is destined to be the farmer's Christmas dinner until his spider friend, Charlotte, decides to help him.
Winny de Puh [Winnie the Pooh] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.M64 Win 1999spEdward Bear acquires a new name, Winnie-the-Pooh, and a new life with the inhabitants of the Hundred Acre Woods.
Advanced Chapter Books
El Arroyo de la Llorona by Call Number: PS3553 .I78 W6618 1996 (3rd floor)Stories of life on both sides of the Mexican border.
Las Brujas [The Witches] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.D1515 Wi 2008spReal witches don't ride around on broomsticks. They don't even wear black cloaks and hats. They are vile, detestable creatures who disguise themselves as nice, ordinary ladies. This spine-chilling story will tell you all you need to know about the cunning masqueraders, and bring you face-to-face with a true hero, a wonderful old grandmother who smokes cigars.
La Casa en Mango Street by Call Number: PS3553.I78 H618 1994 (3rd floor)Frustrated by a life in the slums of Chicago, Esperanza tries to escape her neighborhood and invent her own future.
Crepúsculo: Un Amor Peligroso [Twilight] by Call Number: YOUNG ADULT PZ7.M5717515 Tw 2009spWhen seventeen-year-old Bella leaves Phoenix to live with her father in Forks, Washington, she meets an exquisitely handsome boy at school for whom she feels an overwhelming attraction and who she comes to realize is not wholly human.
Frida, el Misterio del Anillo del Pavo Real y Yo [Me, Frida, and the Secret of the Peacock Ring] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.C3197 Me 2018spWhen Lizzie and Gael share an irresistible challenge, to find the peacock ring that once belonged to artist Frida Kahlo, Paloma decides it is the perfect way to honor her father.
Los Juegos del Hambre [The Hunger Games] by Call Number: YOUNG ADULT PZ7.C6837 Hun 2008spIn a future North America, where the rulers of Panem maintain control through an annual televised survival competition pitting young people from each of the twelve districts against one another, sixteen-year-old Katniss's skills are put to the test when she voluntarily takes her younger sister's place.
Lupe Wong No Baila [Lupe Wong Won't Dance] by Call Number: YOUNG ADULT PZ7.1.H5468 Lu 2021spLupe Wong is going to be the first female pitcher in the Major Leagues. Lupe needs an A in all her classes in order to meet her favorite pitcher, Fu Li Hernandez, who's Chinacan/Mexinese just like her. So when the horror that is square dancing rears its head in gym? Obviously she's not gonna let that slide.
Sin Igual [Unrivaled] by Call Number: YOUNG ADULT PZ7.N67185 Un 2016spAspiring reporter Layla, budding actress Aster, and future guitar hero Tommy find themselves with a VIP invite to the world of Los Angeles's nightlife and lured into a competition where Hollywood's hottest starlet, Madison Brooks, is the target. Just as their hopes begin to gleam like stars through the California smog, Madison Brooks goes missing.
El Soñador [Dreamer] by Call Number: CHAPTER PZ7.R9553 Ne 2012spA fictionalized biography of Nobel Prize-winning Chilean poet, Pablo Neruda, who grew up as a painfully shy child ridiculed by his overbearing father.
iYo! by Call Number: PS3551.L845 Y6 1999 (3rd floor)Yo, a creative third sister, tells stories about her family and life as a Dominican American.
