Skip to Main Content

International Relations

This research guide is intended to serve as an introduction to the resources the L.W. Tyree Library has on International Relations.

Databases

These are the databases available from Santa Fe College that are useful for history research. Databases are the best place to find scholarly journal articles. The complete list of databases available to you can be found on the A-Z Database List.

If you need assistance logging in, please call the Reference Desk at 352-395-5409.

Academic Search Complete

Access Academic Search Complete  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.

JSTOR

Access JSTOR  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

The best place to start for arts and humanities research. JSTOR includes back issues of thousands of scholarly journals, with an excellent collection of art and humanities journals.

Limiting in Jstor - International Relations is checked

A to Z the World (World Trade Press)

Access AtoZ the World  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

AtoZ the World is a good database to use to find information on countries. This database provides a broad range of information on 175 countries. Topics include business, culture, customs, food, health, religion, maps, etc.

Search Tips

Use the side menu to select a country.

Country guides sidebar

Then select the topic of interest related to that country.

AtoZ Maps Online

Access AtoZ Maps Online   |  How to Cite

Along with A-Z the world the library subscribes to AtoZ Maps Online. This database is a comprehensive collection of more than 100,000 downloadable maps. All included maps are royalty free for non-commercial use.

NewsBank

Access NewsBank  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A collection of newspapers from the United States. Great for finding the latest news about certain issues, as well as looking back to see news articles from the last two decades. Includes the Gainesville Sun. See also NewsBank's Special Reports for a collection of newspaper articles on topics of current interest.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows you to search for scholarly articles that have been indexed by Google. While many will not be available full text, there are quite a few open-access articles, and you may also set up Google Scholar to connect you to the library databases.

To set up Google Scholar:

  1. Click Settings at the top (the gear icon); this may be under the More menu on the left.
    Settings
  2. Click Library links in the left menu.
    Library links
  3. Search for Santa Fe College - Find it @ Santa Fe, add a checkmark, and save it.

Articles with a Find it  @ Santa Fe link in the right column have the full text available in one of the library's databases:

Google Scholar from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to use Google Scholar and how to link database holdings.

Google Scholar is a subset of Google that allows you to search for scholarly information, including articles, scholarly books, and other types of publications. Not everything indexed in Google Scholar has the full text available. However, you can increase your full-text results by adding Santa Fe College as your library. To access Google Scholar, go to scholar.google.com.

At the top left of the page, click the icon with three horizontal lines, and then choose Settings.

On the next screen, click Library links.

On the Library links page, type Santa Fe College in the search box, and press the Enter key. In the resulting list, select Santa Fe College – Find it @ Santa Fe, and then click Save.

Saving your settings takes you back to the Google Scholar search screen. Enter your search in the box provided.

The results list displays matching articles and more. If you see a Find it @ Santa Fe link to the right of an article, the Tyree Library has access to that article. Click the Find it @ Santa Fe link.

Once you click the link, you may be prompted to sign using your Office 365 account. You might not see this screen if you are logged in elsewhere to Canvas or your Office 365 email.

You may be taken directly to the full text of the article or to an intermediary page. On this page, look at the View Online section to see the full text links.

Article options will vary, depending on the database it is part of. All articles should provide the full text.

Articles with other links in the far-right column are freely available online. As with any link to a file found online, be cautious. If you do not recognize the source of the link, you probably should not click it. Instead, contact a librarian for assistance.

If an article does not have a link in the right column, the full text is not currently available. To request a full-text copy of the article, click the double arrows icon.

Next, click the Request it link.

If you are not already signed in, click the Sign in link.

Choose Office 365 and log in with your Office 365 account.

Now you will see the option for an interlibrary loan request. This is the process of requesting that the Library obtain an item for you, which is free.

Fill out your information in the top part of the form. The bottom half should already be filled in with the article information, but you should double check before you submit. Articles are usually available within a week.

This concludes the video tutorial on using Google Scholar. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library
Subjects: History & Politics
Facebook Instagram Pinterest Vimeo

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.