Need Help?
Citing Your Sources
When using any outside materials in your papers or research assignments, you will need to cite your sources. This gives credit to the original authors of your sources, allows your reader to locate more information if they are interested, and allows you to avoid plagiarism.
Most citation styles will have an in-text citation which is a shortened citation in the body of your paper. Some styles may use footnotes for this instead. These in-text citations or footnotes will directly correspond to a full reference to the source you used at the end of the paper in a list. This list can be called a references list, a bibliography, or a works cited list, depending on the style.
Ask your professor which style you should use for your class. APA, MLA, and Chicago are the three mostly commonly used citation styles at Santa Fe College.
- Understanding Citation StylesThis short video discusses the purpose of citation styles along with some reason why they may be different.
- APA Style and MLA Style Reference Comparison GuideSee the differences between MLA and APA citations.
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (call number BF76.7.P83 2020) is the official guide to APA style, which is most frequently used in education, social sciences, and health fields. The Library has multiple copies of this book, both available to check out and for in-library-use.
- APA Citation Guide [Tyree Library]Guide created by the Tyree Library with information on formatting, example citations, and tutorials.
- APA Style BlogThe official blog, answering and clarifying questions about APA.
- The Basics of APA StyleOfficial tutorial on APA.
The Chicago Manual of Style (call number Z253 .U69 2024) is the official guide to Chicago style, which is commonly used in history and humanities fields. The Library has multiple copies of this book, both available to check out and for in-library use. You may also access the Chicago Manual of Style online. Please note that Chicago has two different styles within it: Notes & Bibliography, which uses footnotes or endnotes, and Author-Date, which uses in-text citations. You may need to clarify with your instructor which of the two styles they intend you to use.
- Chicago-Style Citation Quick GuideQuick examples from the official style guide.
- Chicago Citation Guide [Tyree Library]Guide created by the Tyree Library with information on formatting, example citations, and tutorials.
The MLA Handbook (call number LB2369 .M52 2021) is the official guide to MLA style, which is most frequently used in literature, humanities, and some history fields. The Library has multiple copies of this book, both available to check out and for in-library-use. You may also access the MLA Handbook Plus online, which contains the full text of the MLA Handbook, plus other resources.
- MLA Citation Guide [Tyree Library]Guide created by the Tyree Library with information on formatting, example citations, and tutorials.
- The MLA Style CenterThe official website for MLA style, with more examples, guidelines, and a place to ask questions.
The Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (call number T11 .S386 2014) is the official guide to CSE style, which is used in some dental science and natural science classes at Santa Fe College. The Library has one copy of this book available in the Ready Reference Collection at the second floor Reference Desk, for in-library-use.
- Scientific Style and Format Quick GuideQuick guide provided the by the Council of Science Editors on how to cite sources using CSE.
- NLM CatalogCSE uses a journal name abbreviation in place of the the full journal title. Use this catalog to locate correct abbreviations.
Citation Generators
Citation generators are automatic tools or programs that attempt to cite sources for you. You will need to be careful with these tools, as there are frequent errors with capitalization, among other errors. Be sure that you are familiar with how your citation style looks.
- Database Citing ToolsLearn how to use built-in citing tools in the library databases.
- KnightCiteMLA, APA, Chicago (Notes & Bibliography)
- CiteThisBe careful with the auto-cite feature, as it may not grab the correct components.
Citing Media
Song
Template
Artist. "Title of Song." Album Title, Label, Date, URL.
Example
Dylan, Bob. "Blowin' in the Wind." The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan, Columbia, 1963.
Musical Album
Template
Artist. Album Title. Label, Year.
Example
Songs of Protest. Rhino, 1962.
Artwork/Photograph
Template
Artist. Title of Artwork/Photograph. Creation date, Website, URL. Medium (optional).
Example
Golub, Leon. Vietnam II. 1973, Tate, www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/golub-vietnam-ii-t13702. Acrylic paint on canvas.
Riboud, Marc. Young Girl Holding a Flower. 21 Oct. 1967, marcriboud.com/en/texte/young-girl-holding-flower-annick-cojean/. Photograph.
Monument
Template
Architect. Name of building or monument. Date, Location.
Example
Lin, Maya. Vietnam Veterans Memorial. 1982, Washington, D.C.
Poem
Template
Author. "Title of Poem." Original publication date if desired. Book Title, edited by Editor, Publisher, Date, pages.
Example
Ginsberg, Allen. "Wichita Vortex Sutra." 1966. Selected Poems 1947-1995, HarperPerennial, 2007.
Stafford, William E. "At the Bomb Testing Site." 1960. Poetry Foundation, www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/42777/at-the-bomb-testing-site.
Song
Template
Artist, A. A. (Date). Title of song [Song]. On Album. Label.
Example
Dylan, B. (1963). Blowin' in the wind [Song]. On The freewheelin' Bob Dylan. Columbia.
Musical Album
Template
Artist, A. A. (Date). Album title [Album]. Label.
Example
Songs of protest [Album]. (1962). Rhino.
Artwork/Photograph
Template
Artist, A. A. (Year). Title of work [Medium: Painting, drawing, sculpture, photograph, etc.]. Museum, Location. http://xxxxx
Example
Golub, L. (1973). Vietnam II [Painting]. Tate. https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/golub-vietnam-ii-t13702.
Riboud, M. (1967, October 21). Young girl holding a flower [Photograph]. Marc Riboud. https://marcriboud.com/en/texte/young-girl-holding-flower-annick-cojean/.
Monument
Template
Architect, A. A. (Date). Name of Monument [Monument]. Location.
Example
Lin, M. (1982) Vietnam Veterans Memorial [Monument]. Washington, D.C.
Monument names are proper nouns, so capitalize each word.