Need Help?
Finding Images
You may need to locate artwork for research or for a research paper or presentation. There are several methods to locate artwork that is freely available to use. Remember that you must obey copyright when obtaining images. Use the following tips and resources to help locate artwork that you may download. Be sure to always check the page and the image for any conditions on its use. Common conditions include not using it for a commercial business and providing credit/attribution.
Access Artstor Collections | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
Artstor Collections, hosted on JSTOR, is a collection of over 2.5 million digital art images, including basic information about each piece. These images may be used for research papers and class presentations, if they are properly credited.
Beyond searching, you can also browse by classifications or geography.
Google Images is a subset of Google's search engine that allows you to search for pictures. Not all search results are free to use; be sure to look at copyright and fair use guidelines, and always give credit.
Limit By License
- Type in your search terms and hit search.
- Click the Tools option above the search results.
- Under Usage Rights, choose Creative Commons licenses.
Please keep in mind that most Creative Commons licenses require attribution.
Limit to High Quality Images
- Type in your search terms and hit search.
- Choose the Search Tools option, located above the results.
- Under Size, choose Large.
Museum & Library Collections
- Freer|Sackler CollectionsFocusing on Asian art.
- Museum with No FrontiersSpecializing in Islamic, Baroque, and carpet art.
- Pre-Raphaelite Online Resource3000 digitized images from Birmingham Museums & Art Gallery’s Pre-Raphaelite collection.
Other Image Websites
- accessCeramicsContemporary ceramics images.
- RomanesPictures of Romanesque statues and architecture.
Image Collections in Databases
Academic Search Complete
Click the Images link in the top blue navigation menu and use the Image Collection search box.
Credo Reference
Search for a topic. In the search results, click All Media and then choose Contains Image.
Humanities Source
Click the Images link in the top blue navigation menu and use the Image Quick View Collection search box.
JSTOR
Click the Search option and then choose Image Search. You may also access the image search directly.
