Skip to Main Content

FRE1120 - French 1 - McGrey

What Are Databases?

A library database is an online collection of content that the library subscribes to, so you can access it for free. It includes more than just articles—databases also have eBooks, videos, images, and other types of content. Databases are useful because they contain information that has been reviewed and published by experts, making them more trustworthy than random websites. You can use them to find credible sources for your assignments and research projects.

Use the Databases button on the library website to view all library databases, and your Office 365 account log in to access them.

Database button

Possible Searches:

  • [country] AND French language
  • French-speaking countries
  • Francophonie

AtoZ the World

Access AtoZ the World  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

Provides a broad range of information on 175 countries. Topics include business, culture, customs, food, health, religion, maps, and more.

Academic Search Complete

Access Academic Search Complete  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.

One journal included in Academic Search is the International Journal of Francophone Studies. Browse the contents.

JSTOR

Access JSTOR  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

The best place to start for arts and humanities research. JSTOR includes back issues of thousands of scholarly journals, with an excellent collection of art and humanities journals.

Other Databases of Interest

Mango Languages

Access Mango Languages: French  |  Video Tutorial

Online language learning lab, covering more than 70 languages. Each language includes two units and many include specialized short courses and full-length movies. The first time you access Mango, create a free user account. This will allow you to save your progress.

LingoLITE

Access LingoLITE

LingoLITE is an image- and video-based foreign language learning tool for 260 of the most basic words and terms in 30 languages.

Francosphères Journal

Facebook Instagram Pinterest Vimeo

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.