Need Help?
Introduction
These books can help you learn the basics of academic writing, which is the type of writing needed for college. You can use the call number to find print books on the third floor or click the title to read eBooks.
Some books may talk about 'university' instead of 'college,' but the skills they teach are useful for both. Please note that some books may use British English, which has different spellings and words compared to American English.
Titles for ESL/International Students
100 Tips to Avoid Mistakes in Academic Writing and Presenting by Call Number: P301.5.A27 W35 2020This book contains one hundred typical mistakes relating to papers, proposals, oral presentations, and correspondence with editors (e.g. journal submissions), reviewers (rebuttal letters), and editing agencies, primarily intended for non-native English speaking researchers.- 100 Tips to Avoid Mistakes in Academic Writing and Presenting by Call Number: eBook (click title)This book contains one hundred typical mistakes relating to papers, proposals, oral presentations, and correspondence with editors (e.g. journal submissions), reviewers (rebuttal letters), and editing agencies.
Academic Writing: A Handbook for International Students by Call Number: PE1413 .B28 2018Helps international students succeed in writing essays and reports for their English-language academic courses. 2006 edition available online
English for Academic Research: Grammar, Usage and Style by Call Number: eBook (click title)This guide draws on English-related errors from around 6000 papers written by non-native authors, 500 abstracts written by PhD students, and over 2000 hours of teaching researchers how to write and present research papers.
English for Academic Research: Grammar Exercises by Call Number: eBook (click title)This book is based on a study of referees' reports and letters from journal editors on reasons why papers written by non-native researchers are rejected due to problems with English grammar.
English for Academic Research: Writing Exercises by Call Number: eBook (click title)This book is based on a study of referees' reports and letters from journal editors on reasons why papers written by non-native researchers are rejected due to problems with English (long sentences, redundancy, poor structure etc.).
English for Writing Research Papers by Call Number: eBook (click title)This book teaches non-native researchers how to write effective research papers in English. It provides guidelines for structuring, writing, and editing papers, helping authors improve clarity, conciseness, and overall quality.
Giving an Academic Presentation in English: Intermediate Level by Call Number: eBook (click title)This book helps university students improve their presentation skills. It covers various aspects of presentations, from script preparation to audience engagement, using practical examples and real-world comparisons to make learning enjoyable and effective.
Grammar and Style Choices for College Writers by Call Number: PE1112 .G685 2023This textbook provides a practical guide to grammar and style choices for college writers, giving students a basic vocabulary for thinking and talking about language use and enabling them to make purposeful choices in their writing.
University Academic Writing for International Students: A Usage-Based Approach by Call Number: eBook (click title)This resource is designed specifically to meet the academic writing needs of international students studying at universities in the United States.
Writing an Academic Paper in English: Intermediate Level by Call Number: eBook (click title)This book is for university students, with at least a mid-intermediate level of English. Each chapter covers a particular section of a paper (Abstract, Introduction, Methods etc) and begins with a discussion exercise on what the exact purpose of each section is.
Writing in English: Step by Step by Call Number: PE1074.7 .W43 2021A systematic approach to writing clear, coherent, grammatically correct paragraphs for ESL students and native English speakers with limited knowledge of English grammar and sentence structure.
Writing the Research Paper: Multicultural Perspectives for Writing in English as a Second Language by Call Number: LB2369 .M3783 2022Guides students studying in English as a second or additional language through the skills necessary for success in university-level writing and research.
Academic Vocabulary
100 Words Every High School Graduate Should KnowCall Number: PE1449 .A145 2003This book presents a number of words that a successful graduate can learn from rigorous coursework in a variety of subjects.
101 Strategies to Make Academic Vocabulary Stick by Call Number: LB1574.5 .S723 2016This comprehensive resource has everything you need to profoundly expand your vocabulary, focusing more on the skills to learn them than actual words.
English for Academic Research: Vocabulary Exercises by Call Number: eBook (click title)This book helps non-native students improve their English writing with exercises focusing on academic vocabulary, allowing for self-paced learning through multiple-choice questions.
Expand Your English: A Guide to Improving Your Academic Vocabulary by Call Number: eBook (click title)Writing academic prose in English is especially difficult for non-native speakers, largely because the standard vocabulary used in this genre can be quite different from colloquial English. This is a unique and invaluable guide that will enable the reader to overcome this hurdle. Uses British English
The Only Academic Phrasebook You'll Ever Need by Call Number: P120.A24 B37 2016A short, no-nonsense, reader-friendly bank of academic sentence templates.
Writing Tips: Term Paper Vocabulary by Call Number: eBook (click title)Word choice is extremely important in academic, formal or creative writing. This handy word bank was chosen for maximum effectiveness and power.
General Academic Writing Titles
Academic Writing and Dyslexia: A Visual Guide to Writing at University by Call Number: LB2369 .W259 2023 & eBook (click title)This book presents a unique visual approach to academic writing and composition tailored to the needs of students with dyslexia in higher education.
Academic Writing and Grammar for Students by Call Number: LB2369 .O86 2016From grammar and punctuation, to proofreading and fixing mistakes, this is your one-stop guide to improving your academic writing to achieve better grades at university.
Becoming an Academic Writer: 50 Exercises for Paced, Productive, and Powerful Writing by Call Number: PE1408 .G585 2017A practical workbook of 50 exercises, helping you build your writing skills and master the specifics of academic writing.
College Research Papers for Dummies by Call Number: eBook (click title)This book helps you tackle your first college research paper with tips on research, writing, revising, and proper citation in multiple styles.
College Writing for Dummies by Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2022 & eBook (click title)A practical guide for mastering college-level writing, offering tips on essay structure, grammar, and revision techniques for beginners. It includes special strategies to help non-native English speakers navigate the challenges of English composition and succeed in their writing courses.
Demystifying Academic Writing: Genres, Moves, Skills, and Strategies by Call Number: LB2369 .F344 2021Accessible and informative, this book is designed to enhance the capacity of college students, as well as early career scholars, to write for academic purposes
How to Fix Your Academic Writing Trouble: A Practical Guide by Call Number: LB2369 .M49 2019Are you confused by the feedback you get from your academic teachers and mentors? This clear and accessible guide to decoding academic feedback will help you interpret what your lecturer or research supervisor is really trying to tell you about your writing—and show you how to fix it.
TL;DR: A Very Brief Guide to Reading and Writing in University by Call Number: LB2369 .H327 2023 & eBook (click title)This book offers clear, accessible, and short chapters covering everything from writing a summary to quoting a source to putting sentences and paragraphs together.
