Need Help?
Starting Your Research
Most research assignments start with a topic, whether it be a topic you choose or one that is given to you by your instructor. You then do research, finding sources that help you learn more about the topic. These sources can help you narrow your topic to a thesis statement and provide support for the things you want to say in your paper. As you write your paper, you will include supporting information from the sources in your paragraphs, citing the sources as you use them.
Different types of sources may be useful for different topics. The next section explains some of the source types you are likely to encounter and when they are useful; click the arrows to see each source type. Please note, your professor may require that you use certain types of sources, so it is important to carefully read the assignment instructions. For a more in-depth look at the research process, view the Research 101 guide.
Types of Sources
Books/eBooks
What They Are
Individually published titles focusing on one topic. Print books can be held in your hand and eBooks can be read on a computer or electronic device.
What To Use Them For
- To explore a broader and more in-depth look at topics.
- To understand a topic overall, including the background, history, etc.
Things to Remember
- Books usually take a year or two to be written and published, so they will not have the most up-to-date information.
How to Find Them
- Use the library catalog to locate books and eBooks available through the library collection.
Newspapers
What They Are
Frequently published (usually daily) collections of articles written by reporters on current events and issues for a geographic area.
What To Use Them For
- To learn about recent and timely events.
- To find local information, viewpoints, and perspectives (by viewing local newspapers).
- To view historical reactions to events by finding newspaper articles published at the time of the event.
Things to Remember
- Articles are usually brief and written for the general public, without a lot of depth or background.
How to Find Them
- Print newspapers are available on the first floor of the Tyree Library, across from the elevators and may be read and used in the building.
- Many online newspapers from the United States are available in NewsBank, an online newspaper database, including The Gainesville Sun.
- The Library also has access to the Wall Street Journal website online, a national newspaper. You will need to create an account.
- For historical news, The New York Times Historical database provides access to the full contents of The New York Times from 1851.
Magazines
What They Are
Publications released regularly, containing articles, images, and advertisements on various topics like fashion, science, or politics.
What To Use Them For
- To find current information (magazines are published once or twice a month).
- To find easy to read articles, usually aimed at a general audience, with popular topics and pictures.
- To explore a particular area, such as Sports Illustrated, which covers sports topics.
Things to Remember
- Articles are usually shorter, sometimes only a few pages long.
- Because they are aimed at the general public, there may not be as much nuance or scholarly information available in magazines.
How to Find Them
- Print magazines are available on the first floor of the Tyree Library, across from the elevators and may be read and used in the building.
- Browsable digital versions of magazines are available through Flipster.
- Many magazines are available through the library database Academic Search Complete.
Trade Publications
What They Are
Magazines or newspapers that focuses on a specific industry or profession. They provide information and news related to that field, including updates on new products, trends, and best practices.
What To Use Them For
- To explore more nuanced look at a topic within the industry.
- To find analysis and reviews of products, issues, and trends affecting an industry.
Things to Remember
- Trade publications will usually focus only on the impact to their own area and not consider other areas.
How to Find Them
- Many trade publications can be found in the library databases, usually in a database that encompasses the industry.
- In the search results of Academic Search Complete, you can click Trade Publications in the Source Types area.
- Many professional organizations have their own trade publications available on their websites.
Peer-Reviewed Journals
What They Are
Regularly published collections of scholarly articles. The articles are usually between 10-30 pages each. Articles can be experts' original research or a review of current research on a topic. Most journals are peer-reviewed, which means that they have been rigorously reviewed by experts in a subject to ensure accuracy and quality.
What To Use Them For
- To learn about a very specific aspect of a topic, usually very narrow.
- To learn about original research or a review of prior research.
Things to Remember
- Journal articles report the latest research, but they might not be as up-to-date on emerging topics because the research and review process takes time.
- These articles are written by experts for other experts, so they are written at a higher level, usually with specialized terminology or vocabulary. Be sure to look up words you don't know!
How to Find Them
- The library databases are the best place to locate full-text journal articles. Look for a peer-reviewed or scholarly check box on the search screen.
Websites
What They Are
A page or document published online.
What To Use Them For
- To find statistical information, often from government and agency websites.
- To locate official organization websites, when looking for their reports and information.
- To find websites for newspapers, magazines, and journals. Many of these types of sources have websites where they upload articles, although not all of them are free.
Things to Remember
- Websites can vary widely in credibility and accuracy.
- There is little to no oversight, so you need to evaluate carefully.