Skip to Main Content

Santa Fe College, Lawrence W. Tyree Library

Zoo Animals

Need Help?

General

Firefly Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians
Call Number: QL640.7 .F57 2015
Encyclopedia of Reptiles & Amphibians
Call Number: REF QL640.7 .E539 2005
The Secret Social Lives of Reptiles by J. Sean Doody; Vladimir Dinets; Gordon M. Burghardt
Call Number: QL669.5 .D66 2021

Alligator snapping turtle (Macrochelys temnicki)

Stalking the Plumed Serpent and Other Adventures in Herpetology
Call Number: QL641 .M39 2007
Florida's Turtles, Lizards, and Crocodilians: A Guide to Their Identification and Habits
Call Number: QL653.F6 B375 2011
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019
Turtles of the United States and Canada
Call Number: QL666.C5 E76 2009
The Alligator Snapping Turtle
Call Number: QL666.C539 P75 2006

American alligator (Alligator mississippiensis)

Florida Animals for Everyday Naturalists
Call Number: QL169 .A45 2014
Florida's Turtles, Lizards, and Crocodilians: A Guide to Their Identification and Habits
Call Number: QL653.F6 B375 2011
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019
American Alligator: Ancient Predator in the Modern World
Call Number: QL666.C925 O93 2013

Asian brown tortoise (Manouria emys emys)

Firefly Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians
Call Number: QL640.7 .F57 2015
Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians
Call Number: QL641 .E53 1998
Turtles of the World
Call Number: QL666.C5 B57 2006
Turtles of the World by Jeffrey E. Lovich; Whit Gibbons
Call Number: QL666.C5 L68 2021

Ball python (Python regius)

The New Encyclopedia of Snakes
Call Number: QL666.O6 M37 2007a
Snakes of the World
Call Number: QL666.O6 A7413 2003 Bottom shelf
Boas and Pythons of the World
Call Number: QL666.O63 O84 2007 Bottom shelf

Common kingsnake (Lampropeltis getula)

Snakes of the United States and Canada
Call Number: REF QL666.O6 E763 2003
Snakes of the Southeast
Call Number: QL666.O6 G35 2005
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019

Common musk turtle (Sternotherus odoratus)

Florida's Turtles, Lizards, and Crocodilians: A Guide to Their Identification and Habits
Call Number: QL653.F6 B375 2011
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019
Turtles of the Southeast
Call Number: QL666.C5 B86 2008
Turtles of the United States and Canada
Call Number: QL666.C5 E76 2009

Corn snake (Pantherophis guttatas)

Snakes of the United States and Canada
Call Number: REF QL666.O6 E763 2003
Snakes of the Southeast
Call Number: QL666.O6 G35 2005
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019

Dusky pygmy rattlesnake (Sistrurus milliarius barbouri)

Snakes of the United States and Canada
Call Number: REF QL666.O6 E763 2003
Snakes of the Southeast
Call Number: QL666.O6 G35 2005
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019

Eastern diamondback rattlesnake (Crotalus adamanteus)

Snakes of the United States and Canada
Call Number: REF QL666.O6 E763 2003
Snakes of the Southeast
Call Number: QL666.O6 G35 2005
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019

Eastern indigo snake (Drymarchon couperi)

Snakes of the United States and Canada
Call Number: REF QL666.O6 E763 2003
Snakes of the Southeast
Call Number: QL666.O6 G35 2005
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019

European glass lizard / Scheltopusik (Ophisaurus apodus)

Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians
Call Number: QL641 .E53 1998
Lizards of the World by Mark O'Shea
Call Number: QL666.L2 O84 2021

False water cobra (Hydrodynastes gigas)

Snakes of the World
Call Number: QL666.O6 A7413 2003 Bottom shelf

Florida box turtle (Terrapene carolina bauri)

Florida's Turtles, Lizards, and Crocodilians: A Guide to Their Identification and Habits
Call Number: QL653.F6 B375 2011
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019
Turtles of the Southeast
Call Number: QL666.C5 B86 2008
Turtles of the United States and Canada
Call Number: QL666.C5 E76 2009

Florida pine snake (Pituophis melanoleucus mugitus)

Snakes of the United States and Canada
Call Number: REF QL666.O6 E763 2003
Snakes of the Southeast
Call Number: QL666.O6 G35 2005
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019

Florida red-bellied turtle (Pseudemys nelsoni)

Florida's Turtles, Lizards, and Crocodilians: A Guide to Their Identification and Habits
Call Number: QL653.F6 B375 2011
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019
Turtles of the Southeast
Call Number: QL666.C5 B86 2008
Turtles of the United States and Canada
Call Number: QL666.C5 E76 2009

Florida softshell (Apalone ferox)

Florida's Turtles, Lizards, and Crocodilians: A Guide to Their Identification and Habits
Call Number: QL653.F6 B375 2011
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019
Turtles of the Southeast
Call Number: QL666.C5 B86 2008
Turtles of the United States and Canada
Call Number: QL666.C5 E76 2009

Galapagos tortoise (Chelonoidis nigra)

Turtles of the World
Call Number: QL666.C5 B57 2006
Turtles, Tortoises and Terrapins: A Natural History
Call Number: QL666.C5 O74 2012
The Last Tortoise
Call Number: QL666.C5 S68 2010
A Sheltered Life The Unexpected History of the Giant Tortoise
Call Number: QL666.C584 C46 2006
On the Backs of Tortoises
Call Number: QH198.G3 H455 2019

Gila monster (Heloderma suspectrum)

Lizards of the World by Mark O'Shea
Call Number: QL666.L2 O84 2021
Biology of Gila Monsters and Beaded Lizards by Daniel D. Beck; Charles H. Lowe (Contribution by); Brent E. Martin (Contribution by); Harry W. Greene (Foreword by); Thomas Wiewandt (Photographer)
Call Number: QL666.L247 B43 2005
Venomous Reptiles of the United States, Canada, and Northern Mexico, Vol. 1 by Carl H. Ernst; Evelyn M. Ernst
Call Number: QL666.O6 E773 2011 v.1

Gopher tortoise (Gopherus polyphemus)

Florida Animals for Everyday Naturalists
Call Number: QL169 .A45 2014
The Natural History and Management of the Gopher Tortoise (Gopherus polyphemus Daudin)
Call Number: QL666.C584 A86 2008
The Gopher Tortoise: A Life History
Call Number: QL666.C584 A85 2004
Turtles of the United States and Canada
Call Number: QL666.C5 E76 2009
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019

Leopard gecko (Eublepharis macularius)

Lizards: A Natural History of Some Uncommon Creatures, Extraordinary Chameleons, Iguanas, Geckos, and More
Call Number: QL666.L2 B14 2002
Lizards of the World
Call Number: QL666.L2 M37 1989b
Lizards of the World by Mark O'Shea
Call Number: QL666.L2 O84 2021
Geckos: The Animal Answer Guide
Call Number: QL666.L245 B375 2013

Leopard tortoise (Stigmochelys pardalis)

Turtles of the World
Call Number: QL666.C5 B57 2006
Turtles of the World by Jeffrey E. Lovich; Whit Gibbons
Call Number: QL666.C5 L68 2021
Turtles, Tortoises and Terrapins: A Natural History
Call Number: QL666.C5 O74 2012

Ornate diamondback terrapin (Malaclemys terrapin macrospilota)

Turtles of the United States and Canada
Call Number: QL666.C5 E76 2009
Florida's Turtles, Lizards, and Crocodilians: A Guide to Their Identification and Habits
Call Number: QL653.F6 B375 2011
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019
Turtles of the Southeast
Call Number: QL666.C5 B86 2008

Peninsula cooter (Pseudemys peninsulani)

Florida's Turtles, Lizards, and Crocodilians: A Guide to Their Identification and Habits
Call Number: QL653.F6 B375 2011
Turtles of the Southeast
Call Number: QL666.C5 B86 2008
Turtles of the United States and Canada
Call Number: QL666.C5 E76 2009
Turtles, Tortoises and Terrapins: A Natural History
Call Number: QL666.C5 O74 2012

Prehensile-tailed skink (Corucia zebrata)

Lizards: A Natural History of Some Uncommon Creatures, Extraordinary Chameleons, Iguanas, Geckos, and More
Call Number: QL666.L2 B14 2002
Lizards of the World by Mark O'Shea
Call Number: QL666.L2 O84 2021
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Vol. 7
Call Number: REF QL7 .G7813 2003

Red-foot tortoise (Chelonoidis carbonaria)

Turtles of the World
Call Number: QL666.C5 B57 2006
Turtles of the World by Jeffrey E. Lovich; Whit Gibbons
Call Number: QL666.C5 L68 2021
Turtles, Tortoises and Terrapins: A Natural History
Call Number: QL666.C5 O74 2012

Sinaloan milksnake (Lampropeltis triangulum sinaloae)

Snakes of the World
Call Number: QL666.O6 A7413 2003 Bottom shelf
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Vol. 7
Call Number: REF QL7 .G7813 2003

Southern copperhead (Agkistrodon contortrix contortrix)

Snakes of the United States and Canada
Call Number: REF QL666.O6 E763 2003
Snakes of the Southeast
Call Number: QL666.O6 G35 2005
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019

Tokay gecko (Gekko gecko)

Exotic Amphibians and Reptiles of the United States by Walter E. Meshaka Jr.; Suzanne L. Collins; R. Bruce Bury; Malcolm L. McCallum
Call Number: QL652 .M42 2022
Lizards of the World
Call Number: QL666.L2 M37 1989b
Lizards of the World by Mark O'Shea
Call Number: QL666.L2 O84 2021
Geckos: The Animal Answer Guide
Call Number: QL666.L245 B375 2013
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Vol. 7
Call Number: REF QL7 .G7813 2003

Yellowbelly slider (Trachemys scripta scripta)

Florida's Turtles, Lizards, and Crocodilians: A Guide to Their Identification and Habits
Call Number: QL653.F6 B375 2011
Amphibians and Reptiles of Florida
Call Number: QL653.F6 K79 2019
Turtles of the Southeast
Call Number: QL666.C5 B86 2008
Turtles of the United States and Canada
Call Number: QL666.C5 E76 2009

Last Updated: Apr 19, 2023 10:28 AM
URL: https://sfcollege.libguides.com/zoo-animals
Print Page

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.