Skip to main content

*Research 101

Books

Books will provide an in-depth look at a topic, but on a broader scale. However, due to publishing schedules, they may not have the latest information. You will use the library catalog to look up books about specific topics, or you may browse certain areas to find relevant titles. Most books may be checked out with a valid photo ID card.

The library catalog contains all the materials owned by the Tyree Library. You can search for a topic (keyword), title, author, or subject heading, and you may also search for different formats (including eBooks, videos, audio, and more). Circulating books and media check out at the first floor Circulation Desk.

Input your search terms in the box, as covered in the previous section.

Library catalog basic search for: music AND africa

The results of your search are presented in a list, with the newest results at the top. You can change the order of this list by choosing one of the Sort Options at the top of the list.

Each item in your results list has an icon identifying it as a book, eBook, video, etc. To get full information about the material, click the blue title.

Catalog search result

If you'd like to retrieve a book, write down the entire call number (Example: RA644.8.D44 N66 2014) and use the Map It button to note which floor the material is on.

  • New Books (1st floor), Youth Collection (2nd floor), and Circulating books (3rd floor) may be checked out.
  • Books in the Reference Collection (2nd floor) are for in-house use; they do not check out
  • Media Collection items are located on the 2nd floor and may be checked out.
  • Items on Reserve and in the Classroom Collection are for in-house use only and are behind the Circulation Desk.

The status of the book will be on the far right. If a book says Available, it should be on the shelf and able to be checked out. You may see several different statuses in the library catalog.

Here are different statuses you may see in the library catalog:

  • Available means the item is checked in, on the shelf, and available to be checked out.
  • A due date (Due X/X/XX 10:00 PM) indicates the item is checked out and due back on that date. You may click the Request link to request that the item be held for you when it is returned.
  • NonCirculating means that the item can be used in the library only and cannot be checked out.
  • In-House Use means that the item is available to be checked out for use within the library only (it will not leave the building).
  • Lost or Missing means the book is not available. However the Library may be able to obtain another copy through an Interlibrary Loan.
  • If a book is On Order, Has Not Arrived, or In Process, this book has been ordered but is not yet available to use.

Once you have the call number and the floor (as shown by the Map It button), you will need to look for the item.

Each aisle includes a guide to which call numbers are included. In this example, this aisle contains books with call numbers between LB2328 and LC111.

Call Number guides

Books are ordered by call number, with the call number located on the spine:

Shelf of books

If you are a student at the one of the Santa Fe Centers and you wish to have a book sent to you, log in to the library catalog with the login button, click the Place a Hold link next to the book you wish, and then choose which Center to have the book sent to:

Choose a pickup location

Books will be available to pick up at your Center's reception desk within 3 business days. You may return the book at the desk.

Book Delivery to the Centers from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to have a book from the Lawrence W. Tyree Library sent to you at your Center for pickup and return.

The Tyree Library has many physical resources at the Northwest Campus. Book delivery is a convenient way to make the most use of library resources without having to travel to Gainesville to access them.

Use the library catalog to find books and videos on your topic. To access the library catalog, click the Catalog link under the photo of the Library. You can also use the quick search box on the front page.

Type your topic in the search box. Use as few words as possible in order to receive the best search results. If you need more help with searching the library catalog, you can view our library catalog tutorial.

Search results will be a mixture of physical books, eBooks, videos, and streaming videos. Look at the icons to determine what format each title is in.

Books in the Circulating, Youth, and New Books Collections, as well as Media, Audiobooks, and CDs, can be requested. Look for a Place a Hold link in the right of the gray bar.

When you click Place a Hold, you will need to log into your library account. Your Borrower ID is your 8-digit Santa Fe ID number without the hyphen. Your PIN is the last 4 digits of your 8-digit SF ID number.

From the drop-down box, select the Center where you want the item delivered and click Place Request.

Items should be available at your Center within 3 business days. You can pick it up at your Center's reception desk. The item will be checked out to you for two weeks.

Need the item for another two weeks? Before the due date, click the loans/renewals button at the top of the catalog when you are signed in and renew the item. When you are finished with the item, return it to your Center's reception desk.

If you need information from a book or item that is NonCirculating, please call the Reference Desk at 352-395-5409. A librarian will be able to assist you.

This concludes the video tutorial on book delivery to the Centers. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Library Catalog from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will introduce you to using the library catalog to locate items held by the Lawrence W. Tyree Library at Santa Fe College.

To access the Library Catalog, click the Catalog link under the photo of the Library. This will take you to the library catalog's basic search screen.

The catalog has many different ways to search. For information on a topic, choose Keyword. If you know the title or author of an item, choose Title or Author. If you know the Library of Congress subject heading for your topic, choose Subject Heading. Using subject headings will give you more precise search results than using keywords. Most searches will use one of these four search methods.

Let's search for a topic. Since we don't know the Library of Congress subject heading, we are going to do a keyword search. Our topic is wind energy, so type these keywords into the search box and click Search.

The number of matching results is displayed under the search bar.

Icons in each record will show if it is a book, an eBook, or another format such as a streaming video.

Let’s take a look at the result Wind Energy for the Rest of Us: A Comprehensive Guide to Wind Power and How to Use It. We can learn a lot about this item from the results screen by looking at the bottom of its record.

Santa Fe/Northwest Campus Circulating indicates that this book is in our library on the Northwest Campus and is part of the Circulating Collection, meaning that it can be checked out of the library.

Available indicates that this book is available for check out and should be on the shelves. If the book was already checked out, a due date would show here.

To find this book on the shelf, you need its call number. The call number for this book is TJ820 .G562 2016. The call number includes everything from the first letter to the date. To see where this call number is located in the library, click the Map It button.

The map will pop up in new window and shows that this book is located on the 3rd floor. The highlighted area indicates where to find this book on the 3rd floor. All of the books on the 3rd floor may be checked out.

To learn even more about this book, click the title to view the complete record.

The full record contains information about the author, title, and publication information. Some records contain a table of contents and a summary of the item.

Scroll down to the bottom of the record to view the Library of Congress subject headings. These are the more precise terms to search. In this case, the main subject headings are wind power and wind turbines. To get better search results, search one of these terms as a Subject Heading.

The library catalog offers many ways to refine your search. On the left side of the results page, use the options under Format to limit your search to a specific format such as online resources, media, or streaming video. If you choose "streaming video," for example, you will fine many online videos on the topic of wind energy. These and other online resources do require that you login with your Santa Fe account

This concludes the video tutorial on using the library catalog. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library
Loading ...

eBooks

eBooks are books that are available to read online. They contain the same information as print books. Some titles are available in both formats (online and print), while others may only be available in one format. eBooks may be accessed from home at any time and day, even if the Library is closed.

eBooks are listed in the library catalog; to retrieve only eBooks, you can use the eBooks tab.

Library catalog with eBooks tab highlighted

Click the Click here to view this eBook link to access and read the title.

eBook record

To log in to view eBooks, you will need a valid 8-digit Santa Fe ID number. This number is your Borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your Borrower ID. If you are having problems logging in, please contact the Reference Desk at 352-395-5409.

Santa Fe College eBook Collections

ACLS Humanities E-Book

Access ACLS Humanities E-Book

A collection of humanities-related, scholarly books.

Credo Reference

Access Credo Reference

An online library of encyclopedia, dictionaries, and reference books that are easily searchable by topic. Credo is an excellent starting place for students doing background research on their topic.

Ebook Central (ProQuest)

Access Ebook Central

Includes the College Complete collection of over 25,000 titles covering the subject areas that most college curriculum requires. The Ebook Central search engine makes finding books on topics easy as well as quickly checked out to be read online or downloaded to a computer or device immediately.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)

Access eBook Collection

Searchable collection of eBooks selected for Florida's College System. Includes downloadable versions of titles for portable e-readers (view tutorial on downloading eBooks).

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access Gale Virtual Reference Library

Includes over 400 different reference sources, including encyclopedia, almanacs, and dictionaries.

Salem Online

Access Salem Online

Provides online access to Salem Press eBooks. Subject areas include literature, history, science, health, and careers.


Alachua County Library District eBook Collections

Use of these collections requires you to have a public library card.

Overdrive

Access Overdrive

A collection of digital books and audiobooks.

Safari Books Online

Access Safari Books

This collection includes technical and business eBooks.

In order to download eBooks, you will first need to create an Adobe ID.

Android

  1. Set up an Adobe ID through Adobe Digital Editions.
  2. Download the Bluefire Reader app on your Android.
  3. Open the Bluefire Reader app and authorize with your Adobe ID.
  4. On your device, locate the eBook you wish to download.
    • EBSCO Books: Click the Download this eBook (Offline) link, sign in or create an EBSCO account, and then Checkout & Download the book.
    • EBook Central Books: Click the Sign In link in the upper right corner. Click Full Download and follow the directions.
  5. The eBook will open in the Bluefire Reader app.

Computer/Windows Tablet

  1. Download Adobe Digital Editions to your computer or tablet.
  2. Set up an Adobe ID through Adobe Digital Editions and authorize your device.
  3. Locate the eBook you wish to download.
    • EBSCO Books: Click the Download this eBook (Offline) link, sign in or create an EBSCO account, and then Checkout & Download the book.
    • EBook Central Books: Click the Sign In link in the upper right corner. Click Full Download and follow the directions.
  4. Open the book with Adobe Digital Editions.
  5. You may read the book by clicking on its cover.

iOS (iPhone/iPad)

  1. Set up an Adobe ID through Adobe Digital Editions.
  2. Download the Bluefire Reader app from the App Store and install on your iPad or iPhone.
  3. Open the Bluefire Reader app and authorize with your Adobe ID.
  4. On your device, locate the eBook you wish to download.
    • EBSCO Books: Click the Download this eBook (Offline) link, sign in or create an EBSCO account, and then Checkout & Download the book.
    • EBook Central Books: Click the Sign In link in the upper right corner. Click Full Download and follow the directions.
  5. The eBook will open in the Bluefire Reader app.

eReaders

Regular Kindles are not supported, but Kindle Fires, Nooks, and other eReaders are.

  1. Download Adobe Digital Editions to your computer.
  2. Set up an Adobe ID through Adobe Digital Editions and authorize your computer.
  3. If using a Kindle Fire, go to Settings > Devices and "Allow Installation of Applications from Unknown Sources." Then download the Aldiko Reader app on your Kindle Fire; please note that you will need to install it directly from the Aldiko website.
  4. On your computer, locate the eBook you wish to download.
    • EBSCO Books: Click the Download this eBook (Offline) link, sign in or create an EBSCO account, and then Checkout & Download the book.
    • Ebook Central Books: Click the Sign In link in the upper right corner. Click Full Download and follow the directions.
  5. Open the book with Adobe Digital Editions.
  6. Connect your eReader to your computer with a USB cord; it will appear at the bottom of the Bookshelves list within Adobe Digital Editions.
  7. Drag the book you wish to read onto the eReader or Aldiko name; you will need to authorize the device with your Adobe ID.

eBooks from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to find and read eBooks through the library catalog.

To search for eBooks, begin at the library's homepage. To conduct a quick search, select the eBooks tab.

Let's search for eBooks by Jane Austen. Select author from the drop-down menu and type Jane Austen in the search box. You can also change this drop-down menu for other search types including Keyword, Title, and Subject Heading.

You can also search for eBooks in the library catalog by selecting the eBooks tab.

The number of results for this search is shown under the search box. All of the results are eBooks, and have the eBook icon.

From the results page you can access the eBook by selecting Click here to access this eBook, or you can select the title to learn more information about this item. For this example, click the title Northanger Abbey.

The full record contains more details about this eBook. To access the eBook, select the Click here to view this eBook link at the top of the record.

Once you click this link, you will be asked to log in. Your Borrower ID is your 8-digit Santa Fe student ID number. Your PIN should be the last 4 digits of this number.

For example, if your student ID number is 1234-5678, your Borrower ID would be 12345678 and your PIN would be 5678. If you are unable to log in, please contact the Library for assistance.

Once you log in, a new window will open with the eBook's details. You can read the eBook online by selecting Read Online on the left or by selecting a link in the Table of Contents in the center of the page.

To navigate through the eBook, you can use the arrows in the top right corner or simply scroll through the book. You can also enter a specific page number where the page is displayed, or click on a link in the Table of Contents to jump to a specific page or section.

To search within the eBook, enter your search terms into the search box above the Table of Contents.

You will find many other useful tools on the top toolbar, including the options to add notes and get citations. You can hover over each tool with your cursor to identify the tools available.

This concludes the video tutorial on finding and reading eBooks. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Downloading eBooks from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to download electronic books from the library catalog to read on a computer or a mobile device.

All eBooks that the library subscribes to can be found by using the library catalog. You can limit your search by clicking the eBooks tab and typing in words related to your topic.

Once you have found an eBook you would like to read or download, click the Click here to view this eBook link.

You will need to log in. Select Santa Fe College in the drop-down box. Your Borrower ID is your 8-digit Santa Fe ID number, and your PIN is the last four digits of your Santa Fe ID number.

There are several different companies that provide eBooks to Santa Fe College, including EBSCO, Ebook Central, Credo, and the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Look at the top of the screen to determine which company and interface you are using.

Regardless of which company’s eBooks you wish to read, you will need to download and install the Adobe Digital Editions program to your computer in order to download the eBook.

You will also need to create an Adobe ID to authorize your computer or mobile device.

Downloading Specifics for EBSCO eBooks

To begin the process of downloading an eBook from EBSCO, click the Download This eBook (Offline) option on the left side of the screen.

If you do not already have an EBSCO login, you will need to create a free EBSCO account.

Select how many days you wish to check out the eBook, and then click the Checkout & Download button.

Open the download file with Adobe Digital Editions.

If you prefer to download and use EBSCO eBooks on your phone or tablet, you may download the iOS or Android app. You will need to log in with your Adobe ID.

Click Find Books and locate Santa Fe College under United States, Florida, and then alphabetically.

Finally, log in with your 8-digit SF ID number as your Borrower ID, and the last 4 digits of your SF ID number as your PIN to access Santa Fe’s eBooks.

Downloading Specifics for Ebook Central eBooks

If the eBook you wish to download is from Ebook Central, first click the Sign In link in the upper right corner. If you have not created an account before, you will be able to do so here.

After signing in, click either of the two Full Download options.

Identify the device you are using and follow the instructions given.

Select how many days you wish to check out the eBook, then choose the Download Your Book option. If you are on a computer, be sure to open the book with Adobe Digital Editions.

For mobile devices, you will need to use the Bluefire Reader app. You can follow the prompts when downloading to install it.

Please note that some eBooks are unable to be downloaded. Instead, they should be read online.

This concludes the video tutorial on downloading eBooks. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
sfcollege.edu/library
Loading ...

Understanding Call Numbers

What Is a Call Number?

The call number:

  • is the book's address in the Library. It's how you find the book on the shelf.
  • groups similar items in the same subject (or classification).

Like most other college libraries, the Lawrence W. Tyree Library organizes items (books, videos, etc.) using the Library of Congress Classification System. Most public and school libraries use the Dewey Decimal System to organize their library materials.

Parts of a Call NumberShelf full of books with white labels and call num

Each Library of Congress call number begins with 1-3 letters. In the catalog, the call number looks like this: NC890.M3713 2016

On the book's spine, the call number looks like this:

NC
890
.M3713
2016

Reading a Call Number

  1. Items are arranged alphabetically.
    • Find N, then NC.
  2. Once you've found the NC section, find 890.
    • There may be a lot of NC 890s.
  3. The cutter number refers to the author and/or location.
    • Items are arranged alphabetically and then numerically.
    • .M3713
  4. The last number is the publication year.
    • This book was published in 2016