Need Help?
What Are Databases?
Library databases contain thousands of sources for you to search. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images.
Articles will provide very targeted information, usually focusing on one small segment of a topic. Articles also tend to be more recent. Newspaper and magazine articles can be updated within days or weeks of an event, while academic journal articles may take a few months or longer.
These databases are recommended for photography. Read the descriptions to locate the best database for your research. Then, click the access link, log in, and search for your topic.
Recommended Databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Access Academic Search Complete | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.
JSTOR
Access JSTOR | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
The best place to start for arts and humanities research. JSTOR includes back issues of thousands of scholarly journals, with an excellent collection of art and humanities journals.
Biography (Gale in Context)
Access Biography | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
Research people within the field of visual arts, including artists, architects, and photographers. Contains biographical information from reference books, newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)
Access Humanities Source | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
Articles covering many aspects of the humanities, including: literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
Films on Demand: Photography Videos
Access Films on Demand | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
A collection of streaming videos related to photography from Films on Demand. Change the drop-down box to Photography.
General OneFile (Gale)
Access General OneFile | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
A general full-text database with some popular photography magazines.