Humanities Research: Magazines

Magazines are useful for research because they provide an introduction to current issues and topics in an accessible way, often using images and graphics to engage a general audience. Published frequently (usually once or twice a month), they offer up-to-date information, making them valuable for understanding public opinion, societal trends, and cultural movements at a given time. While many magazines are written for a broad readership, some cater to practitioners or enthusiasts in specific fields, such as science, business, or hobbies like knitting. This makes them a great resource for exploring both general interest topics and specialized subjects. Historical magazines can also provide a snapshot of society and culture at a point in time.

The Lawrence W. Tyree Library has several physical magazine titles available to use in the building, located on the first floor across from the elevator. View a full list of titles

The library database Flipster contains a browsable archive of several popular magazine titles. View a full list of titles.

Many library databases contain magazine titles, especially Academic Search Complete and General OneFile .

If you are looking for a specific magazine title, use the Journal Search to search for that title.

The Alachua County Library District and Bradford County Public Library have access to both print and online magazines. A library card is required to access online resources.

1. Author(s)
2. Article Title
3. Magazine Title
4. Volume and Issue
5. Publication Date
6. Page range
7. Database/Website and URL

Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, vol. X, no. X, Full Date, pp. X-X. Database/Website Name, URL.

• Omit any elements that are not present, including the author.
• If there are three or more authors, only list the first author's name, followed by the abbreviation et al.
• Remove the https:// prefix from all URLs.

Assinder, Semele. "A Knitter in Paris." Knitter, no. 212, Feb. 2025, pp. 50-52.

"The Interview: Conway & Bliss." Knit Now, 2014, p. 36. Internet Archive, archive.org/details/Knit_Now_40_2014-10/mode/2up.

Marer, Eva. "Knitting: The New Yoga." Health, vol. 16, no. 2, Mar. 2002, p. 76. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=a9h&AN=6267405&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

"Students Say Knitting Hip, Relaxing." National On-Campus Report, vol. 32, no. 6, Mar. 2004, p. 5. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=a9h&AN=12782436&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Tartakovsky, Flora, and Dan Cray. "That Clicking Sound." TIME Magazine, vol. 155, no. 4, Jan. 2000, p. 59. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=a9h&AN=2707676&site=ehost-live&scope=site.