Humanities Research: Academic Journals

Academic journals provide detailed research on specific topics, often presenting original studies or reviews of existing research. Written for experts, they use advanced vocabulary and specialized terminology. While journal articles offer the most up-to-date findings, publishing high-quality research takes time. They are essential for understanding scientific discoveries and scholarly discussions.

Use the library databases to search for free, full-text academic journal articles. The Lawrence W. Tyree Library currently subscribes to more than 100 hundred databases, but Academic Search Complete and JSTOR are two good databases to begin humanities research. 

Academic Search Complete contains articles from magazines and journals on a variety of topics. To limit your results only to journal articles, check the box next to Peer Reviewed on the search screen.

To add articles from Humanities Source, click the Academic Search Complete link above the search box and check the box next to Humanities Source. This will allow you to search both databases together.

View a video tutorial on Academic Search Complete

JSTOR contains articles from journals dating back to the nineteenth century on a variety of topics, with a strong emphasis in the humanities. It also contains art images.

The modern peer review system began in the 1970s, so many older articles may not specifically be peer reviewed, but will still be academic and scholarly. Many older scholarly articles use different conventions, organizational structure, and even tone that current ones.

View a video tutorial on JSTOR

Google Scholar is a free search tool that helps users find scholarly articles, books, theses, conference papers, and other academic sources from a wide range of disciplines. However, most sources will not have the full text freely available. To increase full text links, connect Google Scholar to Santa Fe College's library holding with these steps:

1. Click the three line icon in the upper left.
2. Click Settings.
3. Click Library links.
4. Search for and add "Santa Fe College - Find it @ Santa Fe"
5. Click Save.

Now, when results in Google Scholar have the full text available in a library database through the Lawrence W. Tyree Library, you will see a "Find it @ Santa Fe" link in the right column.

View a video tutorial on Google Scholar

1. Author(s)
2. Article Title
3. Journal Title
4. Volume and Issue
5. Publication Date
6. Page range or article number
7. Database/Website
8. DOI or permalink

Author(s). "Title of Article." Journal Title, vol. X, no. X, Date, pp. X-X. Database/Website, https://doi.org/XXXXXXX OR URL.

• Omit any elements that are not present.
• If there are three or more authors, only list the first author's name, followed by the abbreviation et al.
• If the article has a DOI, use that for the URL. Keep the https:// prefix.
• For all other URLs, remove the https:// prefix.

Farinosi, Manuela, and Leopoldina Fortunati. "Knitting Feminist Politics: Exploring a Yarn-Bombing Performance in a Postdisaster City." Journal of Communication Inquiry, vol. 42, no. 2, 2018, pp. 138-165. https://doi.org/10.1177/0196859917753419.

Grass, Milton N. "The Origins of the Art of Knitting." Archaeology, vol. 8, no. 3, 1955, pp. 184–90. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41666034.

Price, Laura. "Knitting and the City." Geography Compass, vol. 9, no. 2, Feb. 2015, pp. 81-95. Wiley Online Library, https://doi.org/10.1111/gec3.12181

Riley, Jill, et al. "The Benefits of Knitting for Personal and Social Wellbeing in Adulthood: Findings from an International Survey." British Journal of Occupational Therapy, vol. 76, no. 2, Feb. 2013, pp. 50-57. Sage Journals, https://doi.org/10.4276/030802213X13603244419077.

Sonnier, Frederic, et al. "Boosting Inhibition Control Process by Knitting at School." Frontiers in Psychology, vol. 14, 2023, 1062001. https://doi.org/10.3389/fpsyg.2023.1062001.