Criminology

This book contains findings from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of the offenses--known to law enforcement--released annually from its Uniform Crime Reporting Program. This reference is the most comprehensive official compilation of crime statistics in the United States.

The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior is the first truly comprehensive work in the field of criminology and sociology. This unique encyclopedia is separated into four volumes, covering Historical, Conceptual, and Theoretical Issues and Self Destructive and Disvalued Identity.

This book will be of interest to students who choose to study how biotechnology methods are utilized in forensic science.

This is the first reference work to offer the wealth of material on women and crime to a general audience. More than 200 authoritative contributors from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and Australia examine the subject from the perspectives of offenders, offenses, and theories on offending, victims and victimology, the criminal justice system, punishment and treatment.

In this comprehensive and objective reference to America's criminal past, the author offers 2000 A-to-Z entries covering significant crimes, criminals and law enforcement figures and techniques.

The Criminal Justice System, completely updated, covers the most important aspects of criminal justice in the United States. It details the commission and frequency of crimes through the investigation, apprehension, prosecution, and punishment of wrongdoers.

Designed as an alternative to overly comprehensive, lengthy, and expensive introductory texts, Essential Criminology is, as its title implies, a concise overview of the field. The book guides students through the various definitions of crime and the different ways crime is measured. It then covers the major theories of crime, from individual-level, classical, and rational choice to biological, psychological, social learning, social control, and interactionist perspectives.

In professional disciplines, just as in academics, the definition of basic concepts is fundamental for adequate understanding of issues. A dictionary of criminology may be regarded as irrelevant for the simple reason that criminology cannot be said to constitute an academic or professional discipline in East Africa. But this dictionary is not limited to criminological or sociological concepts alone. Just like any academic discipline, it covers other areas of social studies such as law, economics and politics. The dictionary covers some areas that, to the average reader, are least related to law and crime; but to the specialist, even the least likely entry, like race, tribe and democracy is, in some remote way, linked to the incidence of crime, delinquency or deviance.