eBooks are books that can be read online. This means that you can read them at any time, from any computer. This can be helpful if you can't wait for books to be sent to your Center. eBooks can be found within the library catalog. You can limit to search just eBooks by clicking the eBooks tab in the full library catalog or within the quick search box on the library website:
This video tutorial will demonstrate how to find and read eBooks through the library catalog.
To search for eBooks, begin at the library's homepage. To conduct a quick search, select the eBooks tab.
Let's search for eBooks by Jane Austen. Select author from the drop-down menu and type Jane Austen in the search box. You can also change this drop-down menu for other search types including Keyword, Title, and Subject Heading.
You can also search for eBooks in the library catalog by selecting the eBooks tab.
The number of results for this search is shown under the search box. All of the results are eBooks, and have the eBook icon.
From the results page you can access the eBook by selecting Click here to access this eBook, or you can select the title to learn more information about this item. For this example, click the title Northanger Abbey.
The full record contains more details about this eBook. To access the eBook, select the Click here to view this eBook link at the top of the record.
Once you click this link, you will be asked to log in. Your Borrower ID is your 8-digit Santa Fe student ID number. Your PIN should be the last 4 digits of this number.
For example, if your student ID number is 1234-5678, your Borrower ID would be 12345678 and your PIN would be 5678. If you are unable to log in, please contact the Library for assistance.
Once you log in, a new window will open with the eBook's details. You can read the eBook online by selecting Read Online on the left or by selecting a link in the Table of Contents in the center of the page.
To navigate through the eBook, you can use the arrows in the top right corner or simply scroll through the book. You can also enter a specific page number where the page is displayed, or click on a link in the Table of Contents to jump to a specific page or section.
To search within the eBook, enter your search terms into the search box above the Table of Contents.
You will find many other useful tools on the top toolbar, including the options to add notes and get citations. You can hover over each tool with your cursor to identify the tools available.
This concludes the video tutorial on finding and reading eBooks. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian.
Building Y, NW Campus
eBooks will have an eBook icon within the library catalog (1), along with a direct link to log in to the eBook (2).
Once you click on the link to access the eBook, you will be asked to login with your Borrower ID and PIN/Password.
Your Borrower ID is your 8 digit SF ID number. Your PIN/Password is the last 4 digits of your SF ID number.
If you are unable to log in, please call the ReferenceDesk at 352-395-5409.
You will be able to read the entire eBook online. However, if you wish to download an eBook to your computer or mobile device, follow the steps in this video tutorial:
This video tutorial will demonstrate how to download electronic books from the library catalog to read on a computer or a mobile device.
All eBooks that the library subscribes to can be found by using the library catalog. You can limit your search by clicking the eBooks tab and typing in words related to your topic.
Once you have found an eBook you would like to read or download, click the Click here to view this eBook link.
You will need to log in. Select Santa Fe College in the drop-down box. Your Borrower ID is your 8-digit Santa Fe ID number, and your PIN is the last four digits of your Santa Fe ID number.
There are several different companies that provide eBooks to Santa Fe College, including EBSCO, Ebook Central, Credo, and the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Look at the top of the screen to determine which company and interface you are using.
Regardless of which company’s eBooks you wish to read, you will need to download and install the Adobe Digital Editions program to your computer in order to download the eBook.
You will also need to create an Adobe ID to authorize your computer or mobile device.
To begin the process of downloading an eBook from EBSCO, click the Download This eBook (Offline) option on the left side of the screen.
If you do not already have an EBSCO login, you will need to create a free EBSCO account.
Select how many days you wish to check out the eBook, and then click the Checkout & Download button.
Open the download file with Adobe Digital Editions.
If you prefer to download and use EBSCO eBooks on your phone or tablet, you may download the iOS or Android app. You will need to log in with your Adobe ID.
Click Find Books and locate Santa Fe College under United States, Florida, and then alphabetically.
Finally, log in with your 8-digit SF ID number as your Borrower ID, and the last 4 digits of your SF ID number as your PIN to access Santa Fe’s eBooks.
If the eBook you wish to download is from Ebook Central, first click the Sign In link in the upper right corner. If you have not created an account before, you will be able to do so here.
After signing in, click either of the two Full Download options.
Identify the device you are using and follow the instructions given.
Select how many days you wish to check out the eBook, then choose the Download Your Book option. If you are on a computer, be sure to open the book with Adobe Digital Editions.
For mobile devices, you will need to use the Bluefire Reader app. You can follow the prompts when downloading to install it.
Please note that some eBooks are unable to be downloaded. Instead, they should be read online.
This concludes the video tutorial on downloading eBooks. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:
If you incorporate content from an eBook into your paper, you will need to cite your source. The following video tutorials demonstrate how to create a References (APA) or Works Cited (MLA) entry for an eBook. If you need additional assistance with citations, please see Research 101: Citing Your Sources.
This video tutorial demonstrates how to cite eBooks using APA format.
This tutorial will show how to cite an eBook from a library database and how to cite a downloaded eBook such as a Kindle eBook.
Every APA citation in a references list needs four parts: who, when, what, and where. As you go through these examples, you will identify these four parts and format them into a proper APA citation.
For the first example, you will learn how to cite an eBook from a library database. Library eBooks can be found and accessed through the library catalog. To learn how to access and read eBooks, you may view our tutorial, located on the Tutorials page.
Click the Read Online box and scroll to the title page to obtain information about the book.
The first step is to identify who wrote the eBook. The author of this book is Stephen C. Meyer.
To list an author, write the last name, a comma, and the first letter of the first name, followed by a period. If the author has a middle name or middle initial, include the middle initial as well.
Meyer, S. C.
Next, identify when this book was written. If this information is not available on the title page, look for it on the next page. This book was published in 2015.
List the date after the author, in parentheses, followed by a period.
Meyer, S. C. (2015).
Next, identify what the book’s title is. The title page shows the title is Epic Sound: Music in Postwar Hollywood Biblical Films. Even though there is no colon on the title page, Music in Postwar Hollywood Biblical Films is smaller; this shows that it is the subtitle and should be separated from the title with a colon.
List the title of the book after the date, in italics. Make sure you only capitalize the first word of the title, the first word of the subtitle (which comes after the colon), and any proper nouns. In this case, the words Epic, Music, Hollywood, and Biblical are capitalized.
Meyer, S. C. (2015). Epic sound: Music in postwar Hollywood Biblical films.
The last information you need is where the book is located. In this case, you need the homepage of the company who provides access to this database. Look in the address bar to find the main URL. The URL is proquest.com; you should convert the hyphen to a period. You may also see eBooks from ebscohost.com. Please note that eBook citations in APA do not include the publishing city or publisher.
Type the words Retrieved from and then provide the URL of the eBook company’s homepage. There is no period after the URL. This completes the eBook citation.
Meyer, S. C. (2015). Epic sound: Music in postwar Hollywood Biblical films. Retrieved from http://www.proquest.com
If you refer to a work in your paper, either by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or by referring to main ideas, you will need to include an in-text parenthetical citation. A parenthetical citation consists of the author’s last name, the publication date, and page or pages that the information comes from.
Meyer (2015, p. 116) expounds on the idea that Americans may be filling the role of the ancient Hebrews within Biblical epic films.
In this example, we will cite an eBook that is downloaded onto a Kindle Fire. You will need all the same information as before: the author, date, title, and URL of the company providing the eBook (in this case, Amazon).
The other element that needs to be included is a description of the eBook version. In this case, the eBook is the Kindle Fire version, and that description will be placed in square brackets after the title, immediately preceding the period.
Marable, M. (2011). Malcolm X: A life of reinvention [Kindle Fire version]. Retrieved from http://www.amazon.com
Some eBooks will not have page numbers, making it difficult to accurately provide in-text citations. If there are no page numbers, you can describe the location of the information you are using based on the chapter, paragraph number, or heading.
Manning (2011) asserts that “[o]n the eve of America’s entry into World War I, black American political culture was largely divided into two ideological camps: accommodationists and liberal reformers” (Chapter 1, para. 7).
For more examples and additional situations you may encounter when citing an eBook, visit the Santa Fe Library’s APA Citations research guide. This can be found by visiting the library’s website, clicking Guides > Citation Guides and then APA Citation Guide.
This concludes the video tutorial on citing eBooks using APA. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:
This video tutorial will demonstrate how to cite eBooks using the MLA citation style.
This tutorial will show how to cite an eBook from a library database, and how to cite a downloaded eBook such as a Kindle eBook.
MLA citations may include a variety of components. Sources may be part of a larger source, called a container. Examples of containers may be a database, website, or a book. The following examples will show you how to identify these components and how to place them into a proper MLA citation.
For the first example, you will learn how to cite an eBook from a database. The eBook Epic Sound: Music in Postwar Hollywood Biblical Films is in the database Ebook Central.
Click the Read Online box and scroll to the title page to obtain information about the book.
The first piece of information you need is the author of the book. The author of this book is Stephen C. Meyer.
To list an author, type the name in reverse order. Type the last name, a comma, and the first name, followed by a period. If the author’s middle name or initial is given, include it after the first name.
Meyer, Stephen C.
Next, identify the title of the book. The title page shows the title is Epic Sound: Music in Postwar Hollywood Biblical Films. Even though there is no colon on the title page, Music in Postwar Hollywood Biblical Films is smaller; this shows that it is the subtitle and should be separated from the title with a colon.
The title of the book, in italics, is listed after the author. Capitalize the first word of the title, the first word of the subtitle (which comes after the colon, and all important words. Place a period after the title.
Meyer, Stephen C. Epic Sound: Music in Postwar Hollywood Biblical Films.
Next, identify the publication information. This is the name of the publisher and the year it was published.
If this information is not available on the title page, look for it on the next page. This book was published by Indiana University Press in 2015.
Add the publisher’s name, a comma, and then the year and a period. If the word University or Press is part of the publisher’s name, abbreviate it to U and/or P.
Meyer, Stephen C. Epic Sound: Music in Postwar Hollywood Biblical Films. Indiana UP, 2015.
When citing an eBook from a database, include the name of the database, which is the container. In this case it is Ebook Central. The name of this database is listed at the top of the screen when viewing the detailed record.
Finally, you need the URL of the eBook. In Ebook Central, this can be found in the address bar. Look for a Permalink option within other databases.
In your citation, italicize the database name and follow the name with a comma. Next, provide the URL, removing the initial http://, and end with a period. This concludes the citation.
Meyer, Stephen C. Epic Sound: Music in Postwar Hollywood Biblical Films. Indiana UP, 2015. Ebook Central, ebookcentral-proquest-com.db25.linccweb.org/lib/sfcollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1809824.
Some scholarly eBooks will have a DOI. This can be found on the title page or the next page. If a DOI is given, use that instead of the URL, using the format doi: and then provide the DOI.
McGraw, Seamus. Betting the Farm on a Drought. U of Texas P, 2015. Ebook Central, doi:10.7560/756618.
To cite a downloaded eBook, begin your citation as if you were citing a print book. For this example, we will cite the Kindle eBook version of The Great Gatsby.
Navigate to the title page to find the author, title, and publication information. Type the words Kindle version and a comma before the publisher.
Fitzgerald, F. Scott. The Great Gatsby. Kindle version, Scribner, 2003.
If you refer to an eBook in your paper, by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or referring to main ideas, you will need to include an in-text parenthetical citation. If the eBook is divided into stable numbered sections like chapters, or uses stable page numbers like in a PDF, then you can include these in your citation. If the eBook lacks stable numbering, then only include the author.
Fitzgerald draws a stark parallel between the glamorous life led by the main characters and the decay of the valley of the ashes (ch. 2).
For more example and additional situations you may encounter when citing eBooks, visit the Santa Fe Library’s MLA Citations research guide. This can be found by visiting the library’s website, clicking Guides > Citation Guides and then MLA Citation Guide.
This concludes the video tutorial on citing eBooks using MLA. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian: