Need Help?
Developing a Topic
Typically a research topic should be narrowed and focused, which will be more manageable than an overly broad topic. Think how hard it would be to write a 5-page paper on just the United States! What would you include? How would you structure it? By focusing your topic, you will have an easier time with your research.
You may start with a broad topic, and not be sure how to focus it. By exploring background information you can learn about a topic and its parts. As you read through background information, consider if you can focus your topic in the following ways:
- Geographically - limit by a region, country, state, or city like Philadelphia or New England
- Chronologically - limit by a time period like colonial or 19th century
- People or Groups - limit to a specific person or group such as George Washington or Cherokee
- Current or Historical Events - limit to a particular event such as the Civil War or prohibition
- Specific Examples - limit to specific examples of a broad topic. For example, instead of music, consider protest songs or electric guitar.
Background Information
Reference books can provide background information on various topics, helping you to better understand your topic. Typically entries on topics will be brief, between 1-20 pages, and can help you find related topics and areas.
Background information can help you learn about the history, scope, depth, and breadth of your topic. It can be useful to help you understand a subject, as well as give you information to help you narrow a topic.
Credo Reference
Access Credo | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
Credo Reference is a online database that contains the full text of more than 900 online reference books. The results in this database will give you brief information about subjects and help you learn more as you narrow your topic. You can also use the mind map feature to explore related topics.
Reference Books
These titles are located either in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the L.W. Tyree Library or the Circulating Collection on the third floor. Books in the second floor Reference Collection are available for in-library use only and books in the third floor Circulating Collection may be borrowed. Use the call number to locate the item.
Some books are available online. Look for the word 'eBook' in the call number to identify eBooks. To read the eBook, click the title and then log in.
American Decades seriesCall Number: REF E169.12 .A419 (2nd floor)Explore the twentieth century by decade; each volume contains ten years, starting with 1900-1909 and ending with 2000-2009.
The American Destiny: An Illustrated History of the United StatesCall Number: REF E174 .A4 1986 (2nd floor)A 20-volume set that begins with the New World and ends with Post-Vietnam America.
Encyclopedia of American HistoryCall Number: REF E174 .E53 2003 (2nd floor)An 11-volume set, organized chronologically that explores American history from its discovery to the present day.
Global Perspectives on the United StatesCall Number: REF E895 .G56 2007 (2nd floor)A two-volume set that is organized by country and looks at important events that shaped our relations with that country.
Milestone Documents in American HistoryCall Number: REF E173 .M55 2008 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)A four-volume set that includes some of the most influential documents in American history. Each document includes historical information, analysis, and a cultural context.
Countries, Peoples & Cultures: North America and the CaribbeanCall Number: REF GN307 .C46 2015 v.8 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)The North American continent (above Mexico) and islands located in the Caribbean Sea are examined in this volume.
Culture and Customs of the United StatesCall Number: eBook (click title)An introduction to the people of the United States.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: The United States and CanadaCall Number: REF ML100 .G16 v.3 (2nd floor)A multidisciplinary survey of the world's music. This reference set is also included in the Music and Dance Online with an accompanying online audio CD.
The Greenwood Library of American FolktalesCall Number: REF GR105 .G75 2006 (2nd floor)Four-volume set examining regional folklore. Includes an appendix with cyber-folklore.
The Grove Dictionary of American MusicCall Number: REF ML101.U6 N48 2013 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)Eight-volume set covering all aspects of American music.
The Grove Encyclopedia of American ArtCall Number: REF N6505 .G76 2011 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)A five-volume set covering American artists, movements, and concepts.Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: REF GN333 .W67 2017 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)This set explores many of the cultural and social aspects of individual countries. Includes folklore, religion, rites of passage, family life, education, cultural heritage, social problems, and more. See Volume 2: Americas.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Call Number: REF E185.E54 2006 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)An authoritative and comprehensive information about Black history, figures, and accomplishments throughout the Americas.
Ethnic Groups of the Americas: An EncyclopediaCall Number: REF GN495.4 .A44 2013 (2nd floor)Extensive information on national groups and ethnicities of North America, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural AmericaCall Number: REF E184.A1 G14 2014 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)Essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Call Number: REF E77 .N3518 1998 (2nd floor)Providing essays on the history, culture and current status of approximately 400 Native American groups, this work is divided into four geographic volumes.
Multicultural AmericaCall Number: REF E184.A1 M814 2011 (2nd floor)A 7-volume set, each volume covering a general ethic group: Hispanic Americans, Arab Americans, African Americans, Asian Americans, Jewish Americans, European Americans, and Native Americans.
Racial & Ethnic Relations in AmericaCall Number: REF E49 .R33 2017 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)Completely updated, this comprehensive work illuminates the many concepts, themes, and issues in race relations in America, both from a historical perspective and in today's modern society.
The Twenties in AmericaCall Number: REF E169.12 .T84 2012 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)Flappers, prohibition, jazz, and the Lost Generation...The Twenties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this uproarious decade.
The Thirties in AmericaCall Number: REF E169.12 .T475 2011 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)Comprehensive coverage of the years 1930-1939 in the United States and Canada, paying special attention to the impact of the Great Depression on North America in particular and the world in general.
The Forties in AmericaCall Number: REF E169.12 .F676 2011 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)This three-volume set discusses important people, events and issues during the years of 1940 to 1949, with particular focus on World War II and its impact on history and daily life.
The Fifties in AmericaCall Number: REF E169.12 .F498 2005 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)Surveys the events and people of the United States and Canada from 1950 through 1959.
The Sixties in AmericaCall Number: REF E169.12 .S55 1999 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)These volumes offer coverage on all aspects of the three major events of the 60s: the social revolution; the Vietnam war and the Civil Rights Movement.
The Seventies in AmericaCall Number: REF E169.12 .S447 2006 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)A sweeping view of the decade's impact on the U.S. and Canada Watergate, the Vietnam War, the environmental movement, the energy crisis, the women's movement, disco, and more.
The Eighties in AmericaCall Number: REF E169.12 .E347 2008 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)This work offers a comprehensive coverage of the impact of the 1980's on the United States and Canada. Reagan, AIDS, the Challenger disaster, MTV, Yuppies, "Who Shot J.R.?" and more.
The Nineties in AmericaCall Number: REF E169.12 .N56 2009 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)This book features a sweeping view of the decade's impact on the United States and Canada. The Gulf War, dot-coms, impeachment, grunge, Y2K, and more.
The 2000s in AmericaCall Number: REF E169.12 .A178 2013 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)This comprehensive collection centers on the impact of the 2000s in the United States and Canada.
The 2010s in AmericaCall Number: REF E169.1 .A21 2021 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)This illustrated three-volume encyclopedia covers events, movements, people, trends in popular culture, literature, art, sports, science, technology, economics, and politics in both the United States and Canada.
American Ethnic WritersCall Number: REF PS153.M56 A414 2008 (2nd floor)This book gives authoritative coverage of 225 ethnic writers, including not only the classics of African American, Asian American, Hispanic/Latino, Jewish American, and Native American novels, short stories, plays, and poetry but many new voices as well, in authoritative, clearly written essays.
Continuum Encyclopedia of American LiteratureCall Number: eBook (click title)Composed of signed biographical-critical entries, this encyclopedia serves as both guide and companion to the study and appreciation of American literature.
Encyclopedia of African-American LiteratureCall Number: REF PS153.N5 E48 2007 (2nd floor)An essential encyclopedic reference, Encyclopedia of African-American Literature guides readers through the rich history of African-American writing. More than 500 engaging entries cover the people, works, and events that have come to define African-American literature.
Encyclopedia of Asian-American LiteratureCall Number: REF PS153.A84 O37 2007 (2nd floor)Traces American writers whose roots are in all parts of Asia, including China, Korea, Japan, Southeast Asia, India, the Middle East, and more.
Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American LiteratureCall Number: REF PS153.H56 R36 2008 (2nd floor)This comprehensive one-volume resource contains approximately 250 entries on some of the most popular Hispanic-American authors and their works.
Encyclopedia of Jewish-American LiteratureCall Number: REF PS153.J4 C76 2009 (2nd floor)Jewish-American writing holds an essential place in America's literary tradition, and Jewish-American writers have flourished in many genres, including fiction, drama, poetry, and more.
Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and ThemesCall Number: REF PS153.I52 W47 1999 (2nd floor)An encyclopedia of Native American literatures featuring articles on individual authors, on individual works, on important characters in works, and on terms and events of historical significance that figure in many of the works.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American LiteratureCall Number: REF PS21 .E537 2004 (2nd floor)A four-volume set covering major authors, works, and themes in American literature.
The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of the American EnlightenmentCall Number: eBook (click title)The first reference work on this key subject in early American history. With over 500 original essays on key American Enlightenment figures, it provides a comprehensive account to complement the intense scholarly activity that has recently centered on the European Enlightenment.
Encyclopedia of American Religious HistoryCall Number: eBook (click title)Outlines the numerous philosophers, personalities, social issues, and cultural histories of religious practices throughout American history.
Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United StatesCall Number: REF BR515 .E52 2016 (2nd floor)Five-volume set covering Christianity within the United States, from historical, political, and social lenses.
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United StatesCall Number: REF BP67.U6 E53 2007 (2nd floor)Two-volume set discussing culture, economics, education, events, food and drink, government, health, religious beliefs and other aspects of Islam in America.
The Encyclopedia of Native American ReligionsCall Number: REF E98.R3 H73 2000 (2nd floor)Explores the different spiritual traditions and practices of Native American tribes.
Encyclopedia of PhilosophyCall Number: REF B51 .E53 2006 (2nd floor)This 10-volume set is the definitive reference work on philosophy.
Encyclopedia of Religion and the Law in America by Call Number: REF KF4865 .E53 2009 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)Extensive A-Z entries provide coverage of key court decisions, case studies, concepts, individuals, religious groups, organizations, and agencies shaping religion and law in today's society.
Encyclopedia of Religion in the SouthCall Number: REF BR535 .E52 2005 (2nd floor)Covering religion in the Southern states from the colonial period through the year 2000.
Handbook of Denominations in the United StatesCall Number: REF BL2525 .M425 2018 (2nd floor)Provides accurate and objective information about the most significant Christian traditions and denominations in the United States today. It contains descriptions of over 200 distinct Christian denominations as well as overviews of the several major Christian traditions to which they belong—based on shared historical and theological roots and commitments.
Melton's Encyclopedia of American ReligionsCall Number: REF BL2525 .M449 2017 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists.
Religion and American Cultures: Tradition, Diversity, and Popular ExpressionCall Number: REF BL2525 .R448 2015 (2nd floor)This four-volume work provides a detailed, multicultural survey of established as well as "new" American religions and investigates the fascinating interactions between religion and ethnicity, gender, politics, regionalism, ethics, and popular culture.
Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and PracticesCall Number: REF BL80.3 .R45 2010 (2nd floor)A six-volume survey chronicling major beliefs, practices, and groups, with country-by-country entries.- Call Number: REF GN333 .W67 2017 v.2 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)This set explores many of the cultural and social aspects of individual countries. Includes folklore, religion, rites of passage, family life, education, cultural heritage, social problems, and more. See Volume 2: Americas.
