Need Help?
Accessing Databases
Articles will provide very targeted information, usually focusing on one small segment of a topic. Articles also tend to be more recent. Newspaper and magazine articles can be updated within days or weeks of an event, while academic journal articles may take a few months or longer.
Library databases are the best place to locate articles. These databases contain thousands of sources for you to search for free full-text. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images.
These databases are recommended for researching African American Studies. Read the descriptions to locate the best database for your research. Then, click the access link, log in, and search for your topic.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA full-text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text, academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including African-American studies, anthropology, education, mathematics, history, and more. Also includes an image search This link opens in a new window.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window
- New York Times Historical This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text and image articles from The New York Times back to 1851. The most recent five years are not included.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - History Reference Center This link opens in a new windowOffers full text from history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from history magazines. Also contains historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and historical film and video.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window
Many of the databases will have a way for you to limit to peer-reviewed articles. These are articles that are more scholarly and academic, and have undergone a rigorous review process before being published.
Look for a checkbox on the search screen that says scholarly, peer-reviewed, or academic.
