Need Help?
Browse & Search for Resources
To browse for information about Christianity, look for the following call number areas in the Reference Collection (2nd floor) and Circulating Collection (3rd floor). Books in the Reference Collection (REF) can be used for in-library-use only. Books in the third floor Circulating Collection may be checked out with an SF ID card.
To get the best results when searching for books in the library catalog, use the subject headings that are given below on the page for different religious denominations and sacred texts. Make sure to choose the Subject option on the search screen.
Sacred Texts
Sacred texts are texts that religions consider central to their practice or beliefs. These resources provide information on sacred texts in various Christian denominations.
You may browse the BS section of the Reference and Circulating Collections for information about the Bible. You may also use the following subject headings to search for more information about the following sacred texts:
To locate books, use the listed call number within the Library or access online. Books on the third floor may be checked out. Books on the second floor should be used within the Library. To log in to eBooks, use your Office 365 account.
Having Visions: The Book of Mormon Translated and Exposed in Plain English by Call Number: eBook (click title)
The Interlinear Bible Hebrew-Greek-English 1 Volume Edition with Strong's Concordance Numbers above Each Word by Call Number: BS3.5 .G74 2008 (3rd floor)
The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible by Call Number: BS425 .S8 2010 (3rd floor)
Whose Bible Is It? A History of the Scriptures Through the Ages by Call Number: BS445 .P46 2005 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)
To locate films, use the listed call number to find it within the 2nd floor Media Collection or access online. Videos in the Media Collection may be checked out. To log in to streaming videos, use your Office 365 account.
Lost Christianities: Christian Scriptures and the Battles over Authentication by Call Number: MEDIA BR160 .E44 2010 (2nd floor)
The following journals contain articles about Christianity. There are a mix of freely available journals and journal that are restricted to Santa Fe College affiliates. To log in to subscription journals, use your Office 365 account.
- The Bible and Critical TheoryFull Text: 2004 - present
These links are external sites. As such, content may change frequently and they may contain ads. Per policy, the Library does not review links suggested via email.
- Bible GatewayThe Bible in many versions and translations.
- Bible HubIncludes options for parallel version and an interlinear Bible.
- Bible OdysseyExploring the people, places and passages of the Bible.
- Codex SinaiticusThe oldest Christian Bible found.
- The Digital Dead Sea ScrollsFrom the Israel Museum.
General Christianity Resources
You may browse the BR section of the Reference and Circulating Collections for information about general Christianity. You may also use the following subject headings to search for more information:
To locate books, use the listed call number within the Library or access online. Books on the third floor may be checked out. Books on the second floor should be used within the Library. To log in to eBooks, use your Office 365 account.
Christianity: The Biography: Two Thousand Years of the Global Church by Call Number: BR145.3 .S525 2016 (3rd floor)
The Story of Christianity: A Chronicle of Christian Civilization from Ancient Rome to Today by Call Number: BR145.3 .I83 2014 (3rd floor)
The Triumph of Christianity: How a Forbidden Religion Swept the World by Call Number: BR180 .E47 2018 (3rd floor)
To locate films, use the listed call number to find it within the 2nd floor Media Collection or access online. Videos in the Media Collection may be checked out. To log in to streaming videos, use your Office 365 account.
The following journals contain articles about Christianity. There are a mix of freely available journals and journal that are restricted to Santa Fe College affiliates. To log in to eBooks, use your Office 365 account.
- Buddhist-Christian StudiesFull Text: 2002 - 12 months ago
Older articles available in JSTOR (1981 - 4 years ago) - Studies in Christian-Jewish RelationsFull Text: 2005 - present
These links are external sites. As such, content may change frequently and they may contain ads. Per policy, the Library does not review links suggested via email.
- Christian History InstitutePrimary sources, study material, books and videos related to Christian history.
Catholicism Resources
You may browse the BX 800 - 4795 section of the Reference and Circulating Collections for information about Catholicism. You may also use the following subject headings to search for more information:
To locate books, use the listed call number within the Library or access online. Books on the third floor may be checked out. Books on the second floor should be used within the Library. To log in to eBooks, use your Office 365 account.
Catholicism Today: An Introduction to the Contemporary Catholic Church by Call Number: BX1754 .M295 2015 (3rd floor)
The Faithful: A History of Catholics in America by Call Number: BX1406.3 .O79 2008 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)
Keepers of the Keys of Heaven: A History of the Papacy by Call Number: BX955.3 .C655 2009 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)
Roman Catholicism: The Basics by Call Number: BX1751.3 .W35 2016 (3rd floor)2005 edition is an eBook
To locate films, use the listed call number to find it within the 2nd floor Media Collection or access online. Videos in the Media Collection may be checked out. To log in to streaming videos, use your Office 365 account.
These links are external sites. As such, content may change frequently and they may contain ads. Per policy, the Library does not review links suggested via email.
- The Holy See (The Vatican)Official site for the head of the Roman Catholic church.
Mormonism (Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints) Resources
You may browse the BX8601 - 8695 section of the Reference and Circulating Collections for information about the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. You may also use the following subject headings to search for more information:
To locate books, use the listed call number within the Library or access online. Books on the third floor may be checked out. Books on the second floor should be used within the Library. To log in to eBooks, use your Office 365 account.
The Columbia Sourcebook of Mormons in the United States by Call Number: BX8611 .C63 2014 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)
Mormonism: A Very Short Introduction by Call Number: BX8635.3 .B87 2008 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)
To locate films, use the listed call number to find it within the 2nd floor Media Collection or access online. Videos in the Media Collection may be checked out. To log in to streaming videos, use your Office 365 account.
These links are external sites. As such, content may change frequently and they may contain ads. Per policy, the Library does not review links suggested via email.
Orthodox Rites Resources
You may browse the following sections of the Reference and Circulating Collections for information about Orthodox rites. You may also use the following subject headings to search for more information.:
To locate books, use the listed call number within the Library or access online. Books on the third floor may be checked out. Books on the second floor should be used within the Library. To log in to eBooks, use your Office 365 account.
The Blackwell Companion to Eastern Christianity by Call Number: BX106.23 .B53 2010 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)
The Coptic Christian Heritage: History, Faith, and Culture by Call Number: BX133.3 .C67 2014 (3rd floor)
Coptic Civilization: Two Thousand Years of Christianity in Egypt by Call Number: DT72.C7 C58 2014 (3rd floor)
Cross and Kremlin: A Brief History of the Orthodox Church in Russia by Call Number: BX485 .B7413 2013 (3rd floor)
The Orthodox Church: An Introduction to Eastern Christianity by Call Number: BX106 .W3 2015 (3rd floor)
The Orthodox Church: An Introduction to Its History, Doctrine, and Spiritual Culture by Call Number: BX320.3 .M34 2011 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)
Understanding the Greek Orthodox Church: Its Faith, History and Life by Call Number: BX320.2 .C66 2005 (3rd floor)
To locate films, use the listed call number to find it within the 2nd floor Media Collection or access online. Videos in the Media Collection may be checked out. To log in to streaming videos, use your Office 365 account.
These links are external sites. As such, content may change frequently and they may contain ads. Per policy, the Library does not review links suggested via email.
Protestantism Resources
You may browse the BX 4800 - 4861 section of the Reference and Circulating Collections for information about the Protestantism in general. You may also use the following subject headings to search for more information:
To locate books, use the listed call number within the Library or access online. Books on the third floor may be checked out. Books on the second floor should be used within the Library. To log in to eBooks, use your Office 365 account.
Christianity's Dangerous Idea: The Protestant Revolution-- A History from the Sixteenth Century to the Twenty-First by Call Number: BX4805.3 .M34 2007 (3rd floor)
Historical Dictionary of the Reformation and Counter-Reformation by Call Number: eBook (click title)
A World Ablaze: The Rise of Martin Luther and the Birth of the Reformation by Call Number: BR325 .H28 2017 (3rd floor)
To locate films, use the listed call number to find it within the 2nd floor Media Collection or access online. Videos in the Media Collection may be checked out. To log in to eBooks, use your Office 365 account.
Protestant Denominations Resources
You may browse the BX section of the Reference and Circulating Collections for information about Christian denominations:
For a further breakdown of the BX section, including other Christian denominations, view the Library of Congress Classification Online.
To locate books, use the listed call number within the Library or access online. Books on the third floor may be checked out. Books on the second floor should be used within the Library. To log in to eBooks, use your Office 365 account.
Christianity in Action: The International History of the Salvation Army by Call Number: BX9715 .G37 2009 (3rd floor)
Concise Encyclopedia of Amish, Brethren, Hutterites, and Mennonites by Call Number: BX4931.3 .C67 2010 (3rd floor)
An Introduction to Pentecostalism: Global Charismatic Christianity by Call Number: BR1644 .A43 2004 (3rd floor)
An Introduction to the Unitarian and Universalist Traditions by Call Number: BX9841.3 .G74 2011 (3rd floor)
Jehovah's Witnesses: Portrait of a Contemporary Religious Movement by Call Number: BX8526 .H65 2002 (3rd floor)
Through Fire and Water: An Overview of Mennonite History by Call Number: BX8115 .L6484 2010 (3rd floor)
To locate films, use the listed call number to find it within the 2nd floor Media Collection or access online. Videos in the Media Collection may be checked out. To log in to eBooks, use your Office 365 account.
"I Believe" series by Call Number: streaming video (click title)Series with many denominations, covering essentials of belief.
These links are external sites. As such, content may change frequently and they may contain ads. Per policy, the Library does not review links suggested via email.
- Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online (GAMEO)Information on Anabaptist religions (Amish, Mennonite, Hutterite, Brethren in Christ).