Skip to Main Content

Respiratory Care

Journals

If you are trying to find information on a specific topic, it is usually best to start by searching a library database such as CINAHL Complete or by searching across the Library's holdings using Google Scholar. However, sometimes you may want to browse through a variety of topics in a particular area of respiratory care. One way to do this is to go directly to an individual journal.

JAMA

The Library does not have online access to the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA). Instead, the Library keeps the most recent 5 years of the journal in print format in the Reference Collection. The call number for this journal is R15 .A48.

To determine which articles are available in this journal, search MEDLINE This link opens in a new window.

Publication Searching in EBSCO databases

Most databases allow you to search for articles within a specific journal. This is particularly useful when searching for articles in a journal that is available from the Library in print form, but not online. To do this within an EBSCO database such as CINAHL or MEDLINE, click on Publications. Enter the name of the publication and click Browse.

Screenshot of MEDLINE publication browse search for Journal of the American Medical Association

If the database includes the publication you are seeking, you should see it listed by its title.

Screenshot of the title display for Journal of the American Medical Association

Click on the title of the record to see the database's holdings for the journal. To search for articles within this publication, click on the search within this publication link. This will take you back to the original search screen. Type your keywords into the remaining boxes and complete your search. In the case of journals that are available in print format in the library but not available online, please be sure to record the volume, issue, and page numbers of the article you need.

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.