Need Help?
Chicago Citations
The Chicago Manual of Style (call number Z253 .U69 2017) is the official guide to Chicago style. The Library has multiple copies of this book, both available to check out and for in-library use. You may also access the Chicago Manual of Style online. There are two versions of Chicago style: Author-Date and Notes & Bibliography.
Notes & Bibliography will typically have the title component second within a citation, and uses footnotes and endnotes to refer to information within the paper, instead of in-text citations.
The following links and examples will help you create Chicago citations in the Notes & Bibliography style for the sources you need to cite.
Bibliography and Notes
The Notes and Bibliography style of Chicago has two parts. First, you will have a full bibliography at the end of your paper. This will include all sources you used as well as consulted (even if you didn't directly cite them in the paper). The reference style is Author first and Title second.
Secondly, as you refer to information within your paper, you will use notes. This takes the place of in-text citations. These may be footnotes (at the bottom of each page) or endnotes (at the end of the paper).
Bibliography entries and note entries have slightly different styles, so look at the examples carefully for each type.
Example Citations
Book
Citation Components
- Author: Kurt Behrendt
- Title: How to Read Buddhist Art
- Publication Location: New York
- Publisher: Metropolitan Museum of Art
- Publication Date: 2019
Bibliography Entry
Behrendt, Kurt. How to Read Buddhist Art. New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2019.
Note Entry
1. Kurt Behrendt, How to Read Buddhist Art (New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2019).
Chapter in an Edited Book
Citation Components
- Author(s) of Chapter: Alka Patel
- Title of Chapter: The Shahmana in India
- Page Range: 142-153
- Editor of Book: Marika Sardar
- Title of Book: Epic Tales from Ancient India: Paintings from the San Diego Museum of Art
- Publication Location: San Diego
- Publisher: San Diego Museum of Art
- Publication Date: 2016
Bibliography Entry
Patel, Alka. "The Shahmana in India." In Epic Tales from Ancient India: Paintings from the San Diego Museum of Art, edited by Marika Sardar, 142-153. San Diego, CA: San Diego Museum of Art, 2016.
Note Entry
2. Alka Patel, "The Shahmana in India," in Epic Tales from Ancient India: Paintings from the San Diego Museum of Art, ed. Marika Sardar (San Diego, CA: San Diego Museum of Art, 2016).
eBook
Citation Components
- Author(s): Leslie Ross
- Title: Art and Architecture of the World's Religions
- Publication Location: Santa Barbara, California
- Publisher: Greenwood Press
- Publication Date: 2009
- eBook Database Name: ABC-CLIO
Bibliography Entry
Ross, Leslie. Art and Architecture of the World's Religions. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press, 2009. ABC-CLIO.
Note Entry
3. Leslie Ross, Art and Architecture of the World's Religions (Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press, 2009), ABC-CLIO.
Journal Article
Citation Components
- Authors: Gregory Henderson and Leon Hurvitz
- Article Title: The Buddha of Seiryōji: New Finds and New Theory
- Journal Title: Artibus Asiae
- Volume number: 19
- Issue number: 1
- Publication Date: 1956
- Pages: 4-55
- Database: JSTOR
- DOI or Permalink: doi:10.2307/3248538
*DOIs can be found in the database record or on the front page of the article. If there is no DOI, use a permalink from within the database.
Bibliography Entry
Henderson, Gregory, and Leon Hurvitz. "The Buddha of Seiryōji: New Finds and New Theory." Artibus Asiae 19, no. 1 (1956): 4-55. https://doi.org/10.2307/3248538.
Note Entry
4. Gregory Henderson and Leon Hurvitz, "The Buddha of Seiryōji: New Finds and New Theory," Artibus Asiae 19, no. 1 (1956): 4-55, https://doi.org/10.2307/3248538.
Webpage
Citation Components
- Author: Salwa Mikdadi
- Webpage Title: The Magic of Signs and Patterns in North African Art
- Website Title: Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
- Publication Date: October 2004
- URL of Web Page: https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/nasp/hd_nasp.htm
If there is no publication date, use the date you accessed the page.
Bibliography Entry
Mikdadi, Salwa. "The Magic of Signs and Patterns in North African Art." Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History. October 2004. https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/nasp/hd_nasp.htm.
Note Entry
6. Salwa Mikdadi, "The Magic of Signs and Patterns in North African Art," Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, published October 2004, https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/nasp/hd_nasp.htm.