Highlighted Titles
Subjects of Interest
According to Reading Rockets, "reading aloud is one of the most important things parents can do with their children. Reading aloud builds many important foundational skills, introduces vocabulary, provides a model of fluent, expressive reading, and helps children recognize what reading for pleasure is all about." Below are some great books, from the library collection, for reading aloud with your children. For a more complete list, check out our Youth Collection - Read Alouds guide. Youth Collection books are available to check out and take home; they are shelved on the 2nd floor of the Library.
Moo, Baa, La La La! by Call Number: BOARD BOOK / BOYNTON, S. / MOO BAA LA LAComplete with silly rhymes and containing redrawn art that retains all the humor and charm of the original illustrations, this book introduces children to animal sounds like only Sandra Boynton can!
If You Give a Mouse a Cookie by Call Number: PICTURE FAVORITES / NUMEROFF, L. / MOUSE/COOKIEWith its spare, rhythmic text and circular tale, If You Give a Mouse a Cookie is perfect for beginning readers and story time. Sure to inspire giggles and requests to "read it again!"
Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by Call Number: PICTURE FAVORITES / MARTIN, B. / CHICKA BOOMBill Martin Jr and John Archambault's rhythmic chant and Lois Ehlert's exuberant collage illustrations have made Chicka Chicka Boom Boom a read-aloud favorite for twenty years.
Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? by Call Number: PICTURE FAVORITES / MARTIN, B. / BROWN BEARWith more than two million copies sold,Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? has opened up a world of learning to a generation of children.
The Day the Crayons Quit by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/FEELINGS / DAYWALT, D. / CRAYONS/QUITDuncan’s crayons quit, each with a hilarious complaint about their use. Now, he must find a way to make peace and get them coloring again.
How Do Dinosaurs Say Good Night? by Call Number: PICTURE FAVORITES / YOLEN, J. / SAY GOODNIGHTBrimming with humor and familiar good-night antics, here is a playful peek into the homes of dinosaur children and their parents at bedtime.
Click, Clack, Moo by Call Number: PICTURE FAVORITES / CRONIN, D. / CLICK/TYPEFarmer Brown has a problem. His cows like to type. All day long he hears Click, clack, MOO. Click, clack, MOO. Clickety, clack, MOO. But Farmer Brown's problems REALLY begin when his cows start leaving him notes! Come join the fun as a bunch of literate cows turn Farmer Brown's farm upside down.
According to Unicef.org, "bullying can have harmful and long lasting consequences for children." Reading stories where other children are being bullied might help them cope with the emotions and find productive solutions to the behavior. Below are some great books, from the library collection, that show children dealing with bullies. For a more complete list, check out our Youth Collection - Bullying guide. Youth Collection books are available to check out and take home; they are shelved on the 2nd floor of the Library.
Bullies Never Win by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/BEHAVIOR / CUYLER, M. / BULLIES NEVERWhen the class bully, Brenda Bailey, makes fun of Jessica's skinny legs and her boyish lunch box, Jessica doesn't know what to do. She doesn't want to be a tattletale, but she also wants the bullying to stop. Can Jessica find the courage to stand up for herself?
Chocolate Me! by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/IDENTITY / DIGGS, T. / CHOCOLATE MEA timely book about how it feels to be teased and taunted, and how each of us is sweet and lovely and delicious on the inside, no matter how we look.
I Walk with Vanessa: A Story About a Simple Act of Kindness by Call Number: PICTURE WORDLESS / KERASCOET / I WALKWalk with Vanessa explores the feelings of helplessness and anger that arise in the wake of seeing a classmate treated badly, and shows how a single act of kindness can lead to an entire community joining in to help.
One by Call Number: PICTURE CON/MATH / OTOSHI, K. / ONEBlue is a quiet color. Red's a hothead who likes to pick on Blue. Yellow, Orange, Green, and Purple don't like what they see, but what can they do? When no one speaks up, things get out of hand -- until One comes along and shows all the colors how to stand up, stand together, and count.
Sparkle Boy by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/IDENTITY / NEWMAN, L. / SPARKLE BOYYoung Casey loves sparkly things, just like his older sister, who does not approve until an encounter with teasing bullies helps her learn to accept and respect Casey for who he is.
You Matter by Call Number: PICTURE PZ7.1.R6363 You 2020Young readers will be drawn into the luminous illustrations inviting them to engage with the world in a new way and see how everyone is connected, and that everyone matters.
Stand Tall, Molly Lou Melon by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/BEHAVIOR / LOVELL,P. / STAND TALLBe yourself like Molly Lou Melon no matter what a bully may do. Molly Lou Melon is short and clumsy, has buck teeth, and has a voice that sounds like a bullfrog being squeezed by a boa constrictor. She doesn't mind. Her grandmother has always told her to walk proud, smile big, and sing loud, and she takes that advice to heart.
According to the National Education Association, diverse books can help "children understand what it’s like for people who don’t share their race, religion, sexual orientation, or socio-economic status." Below are some great books, from the library collection, that feature stories, people, and beliefs from diverse cultures, voices, and experiences. The books in this list are for young children, pre-K - 3. For a more complete list, including for older children and young adults, check out our Youth Collection - Diverse Voices guide. Youth Collection books are available to check out and take home; they are shelved on the 2nd floor of the Library.
And Tango Makes Three by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/FAMILIES / RICHARDSON, J. / AND TANGOAt the penguin house at the Central Park Zoo, two penguins named Roy and Silo were a little bit different from the others. But their desire for a family was the same. And with the help of a kindly zookeeper, Roy and Silo get the chance to welcome a baby penguin of their very own.
Carmen Learns English by Call Number: PICTURE SCHOOL / COX, J. / CARMEN LEARNSCarmen wishes she was back in Mexico, where everyone spoke Spanish and she didn't stand out. But a little bravery, a loving family, and a compassionate, determined teacher help Carmen find her way.
Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets by Call Number: PICTURE CON/MATH / KHAN, H. / CRESCENTFrom a crescent moon to a square garden to an octagonal fountain, this breathtaking picture book celebrates the shapes-and traditions-of the Muslim world.
Crown by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/IDENTITY / BARNES, D. / CROWNCelebrates the magnificent feeling that comes from walking out of a barber shop with newly-cut hair.
The Day You Begin by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/IDENTITY / WOODSON, J. / DAY YOU BEGINOther students laugh when Rigoberto, an immigrant from Venezuela, introduces himself but later, he meets Angelina and discovers that he is not the only one who feels like an outsider.
Last Stop on Market Street by Call Number: PICTURE COMMUNITY / DE LA PENA, M. / LAST STOP ONA young boy rides the bus across town with his grandmother and learns to appreciate the beauty in everyday things.
Sakura's Cherry Blossoms by Call Number: PICTURE POETRY / WESTON, R. / SAKURA'S CHE.Sakura's dad gets a new job in America, so she and her parents make the move from their home in Japan. When she arrives in the States, most of all she misses her grandmother and the cherry blossom trees they used to picnic under.
The Skin You Live In by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/IDENTITY / TYLER, M. / SKIN YOU LIVERhyming text and illustrations celebrate being content with the skin in which one lives, whatever that skin might be.
Stella Brings the Family by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/FAMILIES / SCHIFFER, M. / STELLA BRINGSStella brings her two fathers to school to celebrate Mother's Day.
Still a Family by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/FAMILIES / REEVES STUR., B. / STILL A FAM.Despite living in separate shelters, a little girl and her parents find time to be together, demonstrating that even in the most trying of times they are still a loving and committed family.
The Little Mermaid by Call Number: PICTURE FOLKTALES / PINKNEY, J. / LITTLE MERM.In this reinvention of Hans Christian Andersen's classic tale, a little mermaid trades her voice for legs and makes a new friend on land, but must return to the sea to save her family.
According to the Parenting Assistance Line, "behaving politely is a learning process; therefore, it is best for [children] to see appropriate behaviors demonstrated." Below are some great books, from the library collection, that demonstrate characters (mis)behaving in ways children can relate to. The books in this list are for young children, pre-K - 3. For a more complete list, check out our Youth Collection - Manners & Emotions guide. Youth Collection books are available to check out and take home; they are shelved on the 2nd floor of the Library.
Be Nice by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/BEHAVIOR / TYM, K. / BE NICEExasperated by his careless behavior, Brian Boddington's long-suffering family decides to teach him some manners.
Did You Burp? by Call Number: PICTURE CON/READING / SAYRE, A. / DID YOU BURPAsking questions may seem like it comes naturally, but it's actually a learned social skill. This helpful how-to guide teaches kids what a question is, when to ask one, and how to form one.
The Duckling Gets a Cookie!? by Call Number: PICTURE FAVORITES / WILLEMS, M. / DUCKLING GETSThe Duckling asks for a cookie -- and gets one! Do you think the Pigeon is happy about that?
Horrible Bear! by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/FEELINGS / DYCKMAN, A. / HORRIBLE BEARA hilarious read-aloud about accidents, outbursts, manners...and the power of saying "I'm sorry."
How Do Dinosaurs Eat Their Food? by Call Number: PICTURE FAVORITES / YOLEN, J. / EAT THEIR FOODJust like kids, dinosaurs have a difficult time learning to behave at the table. However, with a little help from Mom and Dad, these young dinosaurs eat all before them with smiles and goodwill.
People Don't Bite People by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/BEHAVIOR / WHEELER, L. / PEOPLE DON'TLearning good behavior has never been so fun! People don't bite people! That's what this book's about. So if you find you're tooth-inclined-- you'd better check it out!
Time to Say "Please"! by Call Number: PICTURE FAVORITES / WILLEMS, M. / TIME TO SAYGroups of ebullient mice narrate this humorous text as young children try in vain to get what they want, learning along the way that it is helpful to say "Please," "Thank you," "Excuse me," and "I'm sorry." Oh, and you have to mean it, too.
Tumford's Rude Noises by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/BEHAVIOR / TILLMAN, N. / TUMFORD'SDescribes how Tumford the cat tests the patience of his parents by making loud and rude noises that compel a lesson in manners before company arrives.
Books featuring children with disabilities can help children see that others share their challenges and differences and help others learn tolerance and understanding of the differences between all of us. Below are some great books, from the library collection, that feature children with a range of special needs. The books in this list are for young children, pre-K - 3. For a more complete list, including for older children and young adults, check out our Youth Collection - Children with Disabilities guide. Youth Collection books are available to check out and take home; they are shelved on the 2nd floor of the library.
I Talk Like a River by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/IDENTITY / SCOTT, J. / I TALK LIKEWhen a boy who stutters feels isolated, alone, and incapable of communicating in the way he'd like, it takes a kindly father and a walk by the river to help him find his voice.
Back to Front and Upside Down by Call Number: PICTURE SCHOOL / ALEXANDER, C. / BACK TO FRONTWhile the rest of the class makes birthday cards for the principal, Stanley struggles with his words and letters.
All My Stripes by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/IDENTITY / RUDOLPH, S. / ALL MY STRIPESZane the zebra feels different from the rest of his classmates. He worries that all they notice about him is his "autism stripe." With the help of his Mama, Zane comes to appreciate all his stripes - the unique strengths that make him who he is!
Hands & Hearts by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/FAMILIES / NAPOLI, D. / HANDS ANDA mother and daughter spend a sunny day at the beach together where they swim, dance, build sandcastles, and, most importantly, communicate. But their communication is not spoken; rather, it is created by loving hands that use American Sign Language.
This Is How We Play: A Celebration of Disability and Adaptation by Call Number: PICTURE PLAY & IMAGIN. / SLICE, J. / THIS IS HOW WEA jubilant, inclusive, luminously illustrated picture book that features families at play, each with a family member who has a disability.
My City Speaks by Call Number: PICTURE COMMUNITY / LEBEUF, D. / MY CITY SPEAKSA young girl, who is visually impaired, finds much to celebrate as she explores the city she loves.
Susan Laughs by Call Number: PICTURE ALL/IDENTITY / WILLIS, J. / SUSAN LAUGHSRhyming couplets describe a wide range of common emotions and activities experienced by a little girl who uses a wheelchair.
