Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Library Catalog

Overview

The new library catalog is now live! Please note that there are many configurations that may need to be updated. There are likely to be daily changes to the catalog during the first week(s). If you need assistance, please contact a librarian.

New Features

Consistent Log In

No more Borrower ID and PIN. Instead, you will log into the catalog using your Office 365 login, just like with the library databases. This means that all library services are now accessible via one login.


Integrated UBorrow/Statewide Catalog Search

You can now directly search the Statewide Catalog within the library catalog. As you search, choose Statewide Catalog as a drop-down when searching.

You can still directly request books via the UBorrow service by logging in and requesting a title.


More Robust Saving Options

You can now save records and searches, and access your search history. Once you are logged in, look for the pushpin icon to save records or searches.

Click your name and then Search History to see past searches.


Integrated Chat Services

A direct link to Ask a Librarian, the Library's chat service, is available. Simply click the Ask Us! button on the right side and type in your question.


Citation Chaining

Citation chaining (i.e., seeing citing articles) is now available for articles. Articles can be searched by choosing Articles & More as the search drop-down.

Look for red up and down arrow icons to show who is citing the article and/or which articles were cited within it.

Video Tutorials

Library Catalog from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

Hello! In this video tutorial, we will explore how to use the library catalog to locate items held by the Lawrence W. Tyree Library at Santa Fe College.

The library catalog allows you to search for books, eBooks, videos, and streaming videos held by the Library. To access the Library Catalog on the library website, click the Catalog link under the photo of the Library.

It's important to know what you are looking for when using the library catalog. Type your search terms in the search box. The default is a Keyword search, which looks for your terms anywhere in the library catalog. The keyword search returns the most results, but they might not all be as relevant.

Click the Keyword option to change how you search. You can limit search terms to the Title or Author of an item. If you know the Library of Congress subject heading for your topic, choose Subject. Subjects are like hashtags for an item and lead to more relevant results.

Let’s search for a topic. If you are looking for items about a topic, but don’t know the correct subject heading, use the default keyword search. This search is for 'wind energy.'

As you begin typing, there is an option to limit what you are searching. The default search is the Library Catalog. However, you can choose to instead search in the Statewide Catalog to look for books held by other Florida institutions that you can request. View the UBorrow tutorial for more information about that process. To proceed with searching in the library catalog, simply click the search icon.

All results matching your search appear. You can filter your results using the options on the side. For instance, you may wish to limit to a specific type of format, like a print book, or only show results that are available on the shelf.

All search results have a header indicating its format. Items that can be read or watched online have an Available Online link. Items held physically in the Tyree Library include information about the collection and call number. Click the title of an item to learn more.

After clicking a title, the full record appears. This provides more information about an item. The Availability section indicates if an item is online or in a physical format, and how to get it. In this example, the book is available in the Circulating Collection, and it states the item is on the shelf. An item that is already checked out will show Not Available.

To retrieve this item, write down the call number. A call number is an address for the item and allows you to locate it on the shelf. Call numbers in the Tyree Library use the Library of Congress system and will be a combination of letters and numbers.

Finally, click the Locate button to see a map of where the item is physically located. This identifies which of the Library's three floors you should go to, as well as the general area within the floor. This book is on the third floor, within the shaded area.

Use the call number ranges on each shelf to find the correct aisle.

Then, use the call number to locate it on the shelf. Items check out on the first floor with your SF ID card or another valid government-issued ID.

Back in the full record, you may choose to scroll down to the Details section to learn more about the item. Some records include a summary and/or a table of contents, which can help you decide if the item is relevant to your research need.

You should also look at the Subjects. These are the terms you can use to find more relevant items. In this case, wind power is probably the most relevant subject.

Once you have identified possible subjects, you can use those terms in a subject search within the library catalog.

You may keep track of items you have checked out and renew items, which is requesting it for a longer time period, by clicking Sign In.

Choose the Office 365 option.

Sign in, if prompted, using your Office 365 account. You might not see this screen if you are logged in elsewhere to Canvas or your Office 365 email.

Next, click your name and choose My Loans.

On this screen, you can see what items you have checked out and when they are due. You will be able to renew items here as well.

This concludes the video tutorial on using the library catalog. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

eBooks from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

Hello! In this video tutorial, we will explore how to use the library catalog to find and read eBooks held by the Lawrence W. Tyree Library at Santa Fe College.

eBooks are books where the full text is available entirely online. There are two ways to search exclusively for eBooks. For the quickest method, use the catalog search box on the Library's website. Click the eBooks tab and then type in a title, author, or topic. All results will be eBooks.

Alternatively, you can use the full library catalog. Click the Catalog button on the library website.

In the library catalog, use the search box to type in your terms.

In this case, click the Keyword option to change it to Author and type in Jane Austen. This will look for books that are written by Jane Austen.

The search results, by default, include all the different formats available in the library collection. To limit to eBooks, click Available online and under Format, choose Books.

The results now show all matching eBooks in the library collection. Each result should have a green Available Online indicator. Click the title of a result to view more information.

The link to access the full text is available in the View Online area. You may also scroll down to the Details area to learn more about the eBook.

Once you click the full-text link, you may be prompted to sign using your Office 365 account. You might not see this screen if you are logged in elsewhere to Canvas or your Office 365 email.

Next, a new window or tab opens with the eBook's details. The Library subscribes to several eBook providers, so you may see different interfaces. This is the ProQuest Ebook Central database.

You can read the eBook online by selecting Read Online or by using the Table of Contents to jump to a chapter or section.

To navigate the eBook, use the arrows in the top right corner or simply scroll through the book. You can also enter a specific page number where the page is displayed or use the linked Table of Contents. To search within the full text of the eBook, enter your search terms into the search box.

Most eBooks can also be downloaded for a specific amount of time but will require the installation of special software. Click the Download Book option and then follow the prompts. View the Downloading eBooks tutorial for more detailed information.

This concludes the video tutorial on finding and reading eBooks. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Item Delivery to the Centers from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to have items from the Lawrence W. Tyree Library sent to you at your Center for pickup and return.

The Tyree Library on the Northwest Campus has many physical resources, including books and videos. However, you do not need to physically travel to Gainesville to use these items. Instead, you may request items be delivered to your Center.

Use the library catalog to find items about your topic. To access the library catalog, click the Catalog link under the photo of the Library. You can also use the quick search box on the front page of the library website.

Type your topic in the search box. Use as few words as possible in order to receive the best search results. For more instructions on searching the library catalog, view our Library Catalog tutorial.

The library collection includes a variety of formats, including physical books, eBooks, videos, and streaming videos. Each result includes a header that indicates its format.

Items with an Available Online link can be read or watched online from any location. Click the link for access information.

Books and videos with a collection and call number are physically present at the Northwest Campus Tyree Library. You may request items in most collections, including the Circulating, Youth, New Books, Media, Audiobooks, and CD collections. Click the title to learn more about the item and to begin the process of requesting it.

You may want to double check that the item is available on the shelf before requesting it. If an item is already checked out, you will have a longer wait before it is delivered.

Click the Sign in link to request the item.

On the next screen, choose the Office 365 option.

Sign in, if prompted, using your Office 365 account. You might not see this screen if you are logged in elsewhere to Canvas or your Office 365 email.

Once you are signed in, you will now see the option to Place a hold.

Choose your Center under Pickup Location and then Send Request. You do not need to include the pickup date or add a comment; these are optional.

Your item should be available at your Center within three business days. You can pick it up at your Center’s reception desk. When you are finished with the item, return it to your Center’s reception desk.

If you need the item for longer, you can renew it for another two weeks online. Before the due date, in the library catalog, click your name and then My Loans.

On this screen, you can see what items you have checked out and when they are due. You will also be able to renew the items here.

Items in the Reference, Ready Reference, and Reserves collections do not leave the Tyree Library and do not have an option to place a hold. If you need information from an item in one of those collections, please call the Reference Desk at 352-395-5409.

This concludes the video tutorial on item delivery to the Centers. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

UBorrow from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to use UBorrow to request books from other Florida libraries.

If you are looking for a specific book, first check the Tyree Library catalog, which is accessed by clicking Catalog on the library website.

Unfortunately, you may occasionally find that the Tyree Library does not have the specific book you are looking for. However, you can still check if the book is available to be requested directly from another Florida college or university. If you are on the Oops! screen, which indicates no results were found, you can click the Statewide Catalog link, as part of the third bullet, to perform your search in that collection.

Alternately, you may directly search the Statewide Catalog. As you type in the search box, you will see options to change your search. Choose the Search in Statewide Catalog option.

The statewide catalog shows books eligible to be borrowed from the 40 Florida institutions of higher education through the UBorrow system. Please note that videos and other multimedia are not available via UBorrow. Click the Check in other libraries link to learn more.

You will need to sign in in order to request the book. Click the Sign in link.

Choose the Office 365 option.

Sign in, if prompted, using your Office 365 account. You might not see this screen if you are logged in elsewhere to Canvas or your Office 365 email.

Once you are logged in, you will see the UBorrow Request option.

You will need to specify a Pickup Location. If you wish to pick up the book at the Library, choose the default Santa Fe/Northwest Campus. If you attend classes at an SF Center, choose the Center you prefer. You do not need to add or change anything else.

Items requested via UBorrow are typically available within a week or two. Check your SF email address for the pick-up notice. You will pick up the book at either the Tyree Library Circulation Desk or at the reception desk for a Center. UBorrow books are typically checked out to you for 45 days.

To view the status of a request, click your name and then choose My Requests.

This screen shows all the item you have requested and their status.

This concludes the video tutorial on using UBorrow. If you need help requesting a book or have any other questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

For Faculty

All links to the old library catalog and items will need to be updated. Links to database records will not be affected. If you would like assistance converting old catalog links to new ones, please send your links to the Reference Desk. We will send you the corrected links.

The Canvas LTI Curriculum Builder will no longer be offered starting October 1. The Library recommends that you plan to transition any Curriculum Builder reading lists to another format by the beginning of the Fall term. If you need assistance with this, please contact your Library Liaison. The Library is currently investigating possible replacements for this service.