Law Enforcement

Hello! In this video tutorial, we will explore how to use the library catalog to find and read eBooks held by the Lawrence W. Tyree Library at Santa Fe College.

eBooks are books where the full text is available entirely online. There are two ways to search exclusively for eBooks. For the quickest method, use the catalog search box on the Library's website. Click the eBooks tab and then type in a title, author, or topic. All results will be eBooks.

Alternatively, you can use the full library catalog. Click the Catalog button on the library website.

To limit your search in the library catalog to only eBooks, click the Library Catalog drop-down box and change it to eBooks.

Now, you can type in what you are looking for. To limit your search, you can change the Keyword option to title, author, or subject.

In this example, let’s look for eBooks written by Jane Austen. Click the Keyword option to change it to Author and type in Jane Austen.

The results now show all matching eBooks in the library collection. Each result should have a green Available Online link. Click the title of a result to view more information.

The link to access the full text is available in the View Online area. You may also scroll down to the Details area to learn more about the eBook.

Once you click the full-text link, you may be prompted to sign in using your Office 365 account. You might not see this screen if you are logged in elsewhere to Canvas or your Office 365 email.

Next, a new window or tab opens with the eBook's details. The Library subscribes to several eBook providers, so you may see different interfaces. This is the ProQuest Ebook Central database.

You can read the eBook by selecting Read Online or by using the Table of Contents to jump to a chapter or section.

To navigate the eBook, use the arrows in the top right corner or simply scroll through the book. You can also enter a specific page number where the page is displayed or use the linked Table of Contents. To search within the full text of the eBook, enter your search terms into the search box.

Most eBooks can also be downloaded for a specific amount of time but will require the installation of special software. Click the Download Book option and then follow the prompts. View the Downloading eBooks tutorial for more detailed information.

This concludes the video tutorial on finding and reading eBooks. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to have items from the Lawrence W. Tyree Library on the Northwest Campus sent to you at your Center for pickup and return.

The Tyree Library on the Northwest Campus has many physical resources, including books and videos. However, you do not need to physically travel to the Northwest Campus to use these items. Instead, you may request delivery of items to your Center.

Use the library catalog to find items in the library collection. To access the library catalog, click the Catalog link on the library website or use the quick search box.

Type a title, author, or topic in the search box. Use as few words as possible in order to receive the best search results. For more instructions on searching the library catalog, view our library catalog tutorial.

The library collection includes a variety of formats, including physical books, eBooks, videos, and streaming videos. Each result includes a header that indicates its format.

Items with an Available Online link can be read or watched online from any location. Click the link for access information.

Books and videos with a collection and call number are physical items on the shelves at the Northwest Campus Tyree Library. You may request items in most collections, including the Circulating, Youth, New Books, Media, Audiobooks, and CD collections. Click the title to learn more about the item and to begin the process of requesting it.

You may want to double check that the item is available on the shelf before requesting it. If an item is already checked out, you will have a longer wait before it is delivered.

Click the Sign in link to request the item.

On the next screen, choose the Office 365 option.

Sign in, if prompted, using your Office 365 account. You might not see this screen if you are logged in elsewhere to Canvas or your Office 365 email.

Once you are signed in, you will now see the option to Place a hold.

Choose your Center under Pickup Location and then Send Request. You do not need to include the pickup date or add a comment; these are optional.

Your item should be available at your Center within three business days. You can pick it up at your Center’s reception desk. If you are on Blount Campus, pick it up in Blount Hall, room 213. When you are finished with the item, return it to the same location.

If you need the item for longer than the due date, you can renew it. In the library catalog, click your name and then My Loans.

On this screen, you can see what items you have checked out and when they are due. You will also be able to renew the items here.

Items in the Reference, Ready Reference, and Reserves collections do not leave the Tyree Library and do not have an option to place a hold. Instead, look for the Request a scan option, which appears when you are logged in.

Include as much information as possible about what part of the book you would like scanned and sent to you, such as a chapter number, a page range, or a topic. Because of copyright limitations, only a small section of a book can be scanned.

This concludes the video tutorial on item delivery to the Centers. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to access library databases at Santa Fe College to locate articles and other subscription content.

Databases are subscription search tools that help you locate content, usually articles. Using databases to find articles has many advantages, such as more search options and full-text results.

To access library databases and read articles, click the gray Databases button on the library website.

You may also access the Library Databases link through eSantaFe under Tutoring & Support or through eStaff under Additional Information.

The database list can be navigated several different ways. First, there is a list of Recommended Databases. These are databases that are frequently used and are good places to begin your research.

If you know the name of a database, you can find it alphabetically in the main list. Scroll through the list or use the linked letter shortcuts to jump to a section.

You can also limit databases by subject by clicking the All Subjects drop-down and choosing a relevant subject category. This will limit to subject-specific databases that are more likely to contain relevant articles for a specific topic.

In a subject category, pay attention to the databases in the Best Bets! area. These databases are recommended by the librarians as the most useful and relevant.

While most library databases mainly contain articles, some contain eBooks or multimedia such as videos or artwork.

When you have located a database, click the title to access it. Many databases will also include links to a tutorial and instructions on how to cite content within the database.

To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password. You might not see this screen if you are logged into Office 365 elsewhere.

This concludes the video tutorial on accessing library databases. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library