Need Help?
MLA Citations
The MLA Handbook (call number LB2369 .M52 2021) is the official guide to MLA style. The Library has multiple copies of this book, both available to check out and for in-library-use. You may also access the MLA Handbook Plus online, which contains the full text of the MLA Handbook, plus other resources.
The following links and tutorials will help you create MLA citations for the sources you need to cite.
More Resources
Example Article Citations
eBook in Credo Reference
Citation Components
- Author(s) of Entry: Stirling Habbitts
- Title of Entry: Greenhouse Gas Protocol
- Title of Book: The A to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility
- Editor(s) of Book: Wayne Visser et al.
- Edition: 2nd
- Publisher: Wiley
- Publication Date: 2010
- eBook Database Name: Credo Reference
- Permalink: https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/wileyazcsr/greenhouse_gas_protocol/0?institutionId=4585
MLA Works Cited (Entry Author)
Habbitts, Stirling. "Greenhouse Gas Protocol." The A to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility, edited by Wayne Visser, et al., Wiley, 2nd ed., 2010. Credo Reference, search.credoreference.com/content/entry/wileyazcsr/greenhouse_gas_protocol/0?institutionId=4585.
MLA Works Cited (No Entry Author)
Yeganeh, Hamid, editor. "Greenhouse Gas Emissions." Major Sociocultural Trends Shaping the Contemporary World, Business Expert Press, 2018. Credo Reference, search.credoreference.com/content/entry/bepmajor/greenhouse_gas_emissions/0?institutionId=4585.
In-Text Citations
(Habbits; Yeganeh)
Video Tutorial
Journal Article
Citation Components
- Authors: Christopher Bruno and Benjamin Campbell
- Article Title: Students' Willingness to Pay for More Local, Organic, Non-GMO and General Food Options.
- Journal Title: Journal of Food Distribution Research
- Volume number: 47
- Issue number: 3
- Pages: 32-48
- Publication Date: 2016
- Database: Academic Search Complete
- DOI or Permalink: 10.1080/01972243.2013.856362
*DOIs can be found in the database record or on the front page of the article. If there is no DOI, use the permalink.
MLA Works Cited (with DOI)
Bruno, Christopher C., and Benjamin L. Campbell. "Students' Willingness to Pay for More Local, Organic, Non-GMO and General Food Options." Journal of Food Distribution Research, vol. 47, no. 3, Nov. 2016, pp. 32-48. Academic Search Complete, https://doi.org/10.1080/01972243.2013.856362.
MLA Works Cited (no DOI)
Bruno, Christopher C., and Benjamin L. Campbell. "Students' Willingness to Pay for More Local, Organic, Non-GMO and General Food Options." Journal of Food Distribution Research, vol. 47, no. 3, Nov. 2016, pp. 32-48. Academic Search Complete, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=120096328&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
In-Text Citations
(Bruno and Campbell 23)
Video Tutorial
Artwork and Images
If there is no formal title for an artwork or photograph, describe it (e.g. 'Jar with feathered serpent design.')
Template for Art Viewed In-Person
Artist. Title of Artwork. Composition Date, Museum, City. Medium (optional).
Template for Art Viewed Online
Artist. Title of Artwork. Composition Date, Website, URL. Medium (optional).
Template for Art Viewed in a Book
Artist. Title of Artwork. Composition Date, Location of Artwork. Book Title, by Author, Publisher, year, page.
Works Cited List Entries
Degas, Hilaire-Germain-Edgar. Little Dancer, Aged Fourteen. Circa 1922, Philadelphia Museum of Art, www.philamuseum.org/collection/object/82565. Bronze sculpture.
Eberhardt, Anton. Saint George. Circa 1760, Artstor, library.artstor.org/#/asset/AMICO_CHICAGO_1031150789. Sculpture.
Mondrian, Piet. Composition with Blue and Yellow. 1932, Philadelphia Museum of Art, Philadelphia. Oil on canvas.
K'ai, Liang. Portrait of the Poet Li Po. Circa 1260-1310, National Museum, Tokyo. Art in World History, by Mary Hollingsworth, Sharpe Reference, 2004, p. 142.
In-Text Citations
When referring to quotes or outside information in your paper, you will need to use an in-text citation. The two main components for MLA in-text citations are the author's last name and the page number. Use in-text citations for both direct quotes and paraphrasing of information.
You may incorporate the names of the author(s) within your narrative or enclose both parts at the end of a sentence or paragraph. In these examples, the in-text citation components are bolded and highlighted.
Direct Quotations
Smith found that "increased library use is correlated with higher grades on research assignments" (12).
Paraphrasing
Students who use the library receive better grades on research papers (Smith 12).
Smith states that students who use the library receive better grades on research papers (12).
Multiple Authors
For two authors, list both last names with the word and between them.
Students who use the library receive better grades on research papers (Smith and Jones 12).
Smith and Jones state that students who use the library receive better grades on research papers (12).
For three or more authors, list only the first author's name and the phrase et al. if enclosed in parentheses, or the phrase and others if spelled out within the text.
Students who use the library receive better grades on research papers (Smith et al. 12).
Smith and others state that students who use the library receive better grades on research papers (12).