Skip to Main Content

ENC2210 - Technical Communications - Concannon

Databases

Articles provide very targeted information, usually focusing on one small segment of a broader topic. Articles also tend to be more recent. Newspaper and magazine articles can be updated within days or weeks of an event, while academic journal articles may take a few months or longer.

Library databases are the best place to locate articles. These databases contain thousands of sources for you to search for free full-text. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images.

This page provides suggestions for the databases and other resources you can use to find articles on your topic. You will log in with your Office 365 account if prompted.

Academic Search Complete

Access Academic Search Complete  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship

Access Gale Business: Entrepreneurship  |  Video Tutorials  |  How to Cite

Current information from periodicals and reference works that the entrepreneur needs to know to stay competitive. Includes sample business plans, financial advice, and market planning for the start up business.

Search Tips:

  • Use this database to access sample business plans.
  • Enter your topic in the basic search box.
  • In the results list, business plans appear in the first area.
  • Use the recommended subject headings on the right side of the screen to narrow your results.

NewsBank

Access NewsBank  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A collection of newspapers from the United States. Great for finding the latest news about certain issues, as well as looking back to see news articles from the last two decades. Includes the Gainesville Sun. See also NewsBank's Special Reports for a collection of newspaper articles on topics of current interest.

Education Source

Access Education Source  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A comprehensive database with more than 2,000 full text education journals covering all level of education (from early childhood to higher education), as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Combines the holdings from several databases including, Education Research Complete and Education Full Text.

Search Tips:

  • Use this database if you are working on a grant proposal.

Google Scholar

If you are looking for scholarly information on the Web, Google Scholar is a valuable search tool. Access Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com.

You can display SF's holdings in Google Scholar using the following steps:

  • Click on the hamburger icon on the top left of the screen: hamburger icon
  • Click Settings
  • Click Library Links on the left side of the screen.
  • In the search box, type Santa Fe College; choose Santa Fe College - Find it @ Santa Fe
  • Click Save.

For a narrated overview of this process, view the Google Scholar video tutorial.

Facebook Instagram Pinterest Vimeo

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.