Skip to Main Content

Astronomy

Accessing Databases

The best way to find journal articles on a topic is to use the Library's databases. The library databases are only available to Santa Fe College students and employees. To access the databases, click the databases link on the Library's homepage or at the top of this guide. When you select a database, you may be prompted to log in using your Office365 credentials. If you need assistance logging in, please call the Reference Desk at 352-395-5409. The databases can also be accessed via eSantaFe

The next section presents a tutorial on the process of locating and accessing the library databases.

Accessing Library Databases Video Tutorial

Accessing Library Databases from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to access library databases at Santa Fe College to locate articles and other subscription content.

Databases are subscription search tools that help you locate content, usually articles. Using databases to find articles has many advantages, such as more search options and full-text results.

To access library databases and read articles, click the gray Databases button on the library website.

You may also access the Library Databases link through eSantaFe under Tutoring & Support or through eStaff under Additional Information.

The database list can be navigated several different ways. First, there is a list of Recommended Databases. These are databases that are frequently used and are good places to begin your research.

If you know the name of a database, you can find it alphabetically in the main list. Scroll through the list or use the linked letter shortcuts to jump to a section.

You can also limit databases by subject by clicking the All Subjects drop-down and choosing a relevant subject category. This will limit to subject-specific databases that are more likely to contain relevant articles for a specific topic.

In a subject category, pay attention to the databases in the Best Bets! area. These databases are recommended by the librarians as the most useful and relevant.

While most library databases mainly contain articles, some contain eBooks or multimedia such as videos or artwork.

When you have located a database, click the title to access it. Many databases will also include links to a tutorial and instructions on how to cite content within the database.

To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password. You might not see this screen if you are logged into Office 365 elsewhere.

This concludes the video tutorial on accessing library databases. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Recommended Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar indexes scholarly information on the Web. Although much of the content you retrieve using Google Scholar is not available as free full text, you can use Google Scholar to search across most of the Tyree Library's databases. To set up Scholar to show SF Holdings, use the following steps:

  1. Click the three horizontal bars on the top left corner of the screen:
  2. Depending on your screen, you may see a gear icon, the word Settings, or both: Screenshot of Google's gear icon
    Click this link.
  3. On the left side of the next screen, choose Library Links.
  4. In the search box type Santa Fe College and click Find Library.
  5. Choose Santa Fe College - Find it @ Santa Fe and click Save.

In the results list, look for items that are marked as Find it @ Santa Fe. Clicking on the Find it @ Santa Fe link will allow you to log in to access the article through a library database. 

The video tutorial below walks you through these steps.

Google Scholar from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to use Google Scholar and how to link database holdings.

Google Scholar is a subset of Google that allows you to search for scholarly information, including articles, scholarly books, and other types of publications. Not everything indexed in Google Scholar has the full text available. However, you can increase your full-text results by adding Santa Fe College as your library. To access Google Scholar, go to scholar.google.com.

At the top left of the page, click the icon with three horizontal lines, and then choose Settings.

On the next screen, click Library links.

On the Library links page, type Santa Fe College in the search box, and press the Enter key. In the resulting list, select Santa Fe College – Find it @ Santa Fe, and then click Save.

Saving your settings takes you back to the Google Scholar search screen. Enter your search in the box provided.

The results list displays matching articles and more. If you see a Find it @ Santa Fe link to the right of an article, the Tyree Library has access to that article. Click the Find it @ Santa Fe link.

Once you click the link, you may be prompted to sign using your Office 365 account. You might not see this screen if you are logged in elsewhere to Canvas or your Office 365 email.

You may be taken directly to the full text of the article or to an intermediary page. On this page, look at the View Online section to see the full text links.

Article options will vary, depending on the database it is part of. All articles should provide the full text.

Articles with other links in the far-right column are freely available online. As with any link to a file found online, be cautious. If you do not recognize the source of the link, you probably should not click it. Instead, contact a librarian for assistance.

If an article does not have a link in the right column, the full text is not currently available. To request a full-text copy of the article, click the double arrows icon.

Next, click the Request it link.

If you are not already signed in, click the Sign in link.

Choose Office 365 and log in with your Office 365 account.

Now you will see the option for an interlibrary loan request. This is the process of requesting that the Library obtain an item for you, which is free.

Fill out your information in the top part of the form. The bottom half should already be filled in with the article information, but you should double check before you submit. Articles are usually available within a week.

This concludes the video tutorial on using Google Scholar. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.