Your Librarian
diana.matthews@sfcollege.edu
Need Help?
Articles
The following library databases provides articles on a variety of topics, including art and art-related areas, such as conservation and restoration. Click the titles to access them.
When searching, be sure to use as few words as possible to encompass the main points (or keywords) from your topic. For example, Sistine Chapel AND restoration.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text, academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including African-American studies, anthropology, education, mathematics, history, and more. Also includes an image search This link opens in a new window.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window
Searching for Books
To locate books and eBooks about art conservation, search in the library catalog for conservation and restoration, or use the following, more specific, subject headings:
Recommended Titles
Unless otherwise noted, books can be found on the third floor of the Library and may be checked out with your SF ID card. Reference books, located on the second floor, may not be checked out, but information may be copied or scanned.
Ancient and Historic Metals: Conservation and Scientific ResearchCall Number: NK6404.5 .A53 1994 (3rd floor)
Art and Eternity: The Nefertari Wall Paintings Conservation Project, 1986-1992Call Number: ND2865 .T46 A78 1992 (3rd floor) & free online (click title)
The Art Collector's Handbook: A Guide to Collection Management and CareCall Number: eBook (click title)The Artist Interview: For Conservation and Presentation of Contemporary Art, Guidelines and Practice
Call Number: N8560 .A785 2012 (3rd floor)
Conserving Contemporary Art: Issues, Methods, Materials, and ResearchCall Number: N8560 .C4813 2013 (3rd floor)
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in ArtCall Number: REF N8510 .G76 2008 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)
In the Tomb of Nefertari: Conservation of the Wall PaintingsCall Number: ND2865 .T46 I5 1992 (3rd floor)
Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art TermsCall Number: N33 .L75 2004 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)
Websites
The following websites may be useful to you in your research. These links are external sites. As such, content may change frequently and they may contain ads. Per policy, the Library does not review links suggested via email.
- ARCHES [Smarthistory]An exploration of at-risk cultural heritage and endangered heritage sites.
- Baumgartner RestorationThis YouTube channel features complete art restorations.