Skip to Main Content

ARH2051 - Art History - Knight

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a way to locate if the Library has the full text of a particular article, as well as full-text articles about particular topics. It will include articles that are in many of the Library's databases. Google Scholar can be very powerful in locating articles that are in various library databases, that are open access, or that the Library does not own.

Set Up Google Scholar

To begin, set up Google Scholar to connect to the Library's databases. Click the hamburger icon and then choose Settings.

Settings link in Google Scholar

In the Settings area, click Library Links. Then, search for and add Santa Fe College - Find it @ Santa Fe.

Library Links and Santa Fe College - Find it @ Santa Fe in Google Scholar

Searching

After setting up Google Scholar to connect to the Tyree Library's holdings, you will be returned to the main search screen. Search for your topic or article using the same search strategies you have been using for the databases.

Read the Full Text

Not all article results in Google Scholar have the full text available. If there are full text links on the right, then the full text should be available for you to access. An [HTML] or [PDF] link indicates it is freely available online. A Find it @ Santa Fe link indicates it is available through a library database.

Article result in Google Scholar with full text links highlighted

When logging in to the article via the databases, you will use your Office 365 log in.

Citation Chaining

Research is not done in a vacuum. Research articles will build upon previous works, which allows you to follow a timeline of research.

If you find an article that you like, look at that article's references/citations. You may find more articles that are similar in their research goals and that could be useful. You can then use Google Scholar to locate the full text. For instance, here is a citation of an article about Hokusai.

Guth, Christine M. E. "Hokusai's Great Waves in Nineteenth-Century Japanese Visual Culture." The Art Bulletin 93, no. 4 (2011): 468–485. https://www.jstor.org/stable/23208270.

Input the article title in the Google Scholar search box (be sure that you have already set up your Library Links to connect to Santa Fe College). You may need to add in more information, such as author names, if there are too many irrelevant search results.

Google Scholar search for: Hokusai's Great Waves in Nineteenth-Century Japanese Visual Culture

Look to the right for the full text links. If there is no full text available, you may place an Interlibrary Loan request.

full text options for Google Scholar result highlighted

You may also move forward within the research. In Google Scholar, it will tell you how many articles have cited the article you are looking at. In this case, the article has been cited 7 times.

"Cited by" link highlighted

Click that Cited by link to see articles that have cited this article, along with full text links as needed.

Interlibrary Loan

If the article does not have the full text available, you may request that the Library obtain it for you via Interlibrary Loan. Simply fill out the form with the article's information. Please give the Library at least a week to obtain the article. If you have any questions, contact a librarian.

Facebook Instagram Pinterest Vimeo

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.