Need Help?
Library Databases
Library databases contain thousands of sources for you to search. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images. The following databases are recommended for researching art. Read the descriptions to locate the best database. Then, click the access link, log in, and search for your topic. When searching, be sure to use as few words as possible to encompass the main points (or keywords) from your topic.
Academic Search Complete
Access Academic Search Complete | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.
Input your search terms in different boxes.
Academic Search Complete is a database from a company called EBSCO. EBSCO has other databases that may be relevant to your research, including Humanities Source. All EBSCO databases use the same basic interface and tools, and you can search multiple databases at the same time.
If you would like to search Academic Search Complete and Humanities Source together, first access Academic Search Complete. Next, click the Choose Databases link above the search boxes and check the databases you wish to add in.
You can then do a combined search in your selected databases:
JSTOR
Access JSTOR | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
The best place to start for arts and humanities research. JSTOR includes back issues of thousands of scholarly journals, with an excellent collection of art and humanities journals. You can also limit your search under "Narrow by Discipline" to Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, and/or Arts:
