Gallery
Recommended Titles
Use the listed call numbers to find the books on the third floor, unless otherwise specified. To learn more about call numbers, view the Finding Items in the Library Tutorial.
-
"We Specialize in the Wholly Impossible": A Reader in Black Women's History
by
Call Number: E185.86 .W435 1995Here, in a single volume, is a sweeping panorama of black women's experience throughout history and across classes and continents. Containing over 30 crucial essays by the most influential and prominent scholars in the field, including Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham, Linda Gordon, and Nell Irvin Painter, We Specialize in the Wholly Impossible is a comprehensive assessment of black women's lives. -
African Women: Early History to the 21st Century
by
Call Number: HQ1787 .S437 2017African women's history is a topic as vast as the continent itself, embracing an array of societies in over fifty countries with different geographies, social customs, religions, and historical situations. In African Women: Early History to the 21st Century, Kathleen Sheldon masterfully delivers a comprehensive study of this expansive story from before the time of records to the present day. She provides rich background on descent systems and the roles of women in matrilineal and patrilineal systems. Sheldon's work profiles elite women, as well as those in leadership roles, traders and market women, religious women, slave women, women in resistance movements, and women in politics and development. The rich case studies and biographies in this thorough survey establish a grand narrative about women's roles in the history of Africa. -
Amazons, Abolitionists, and Activists: A Graphic History of Women's Fight for their Rights
by
Call Number: HQ1236 .A45 2019The ongoing struggle for women's rights has spanned human history, touched nearly every culture on Earth, and encompassed a wide range of issues, such as the right to vote, work, get an education, own property, exercise bodily autonomy, and beyond. Amazons, Abolitionists, and Activists is a fun and fascinating graphic novel-style primer that covers the key figures and events that have advanced women's rights from antiquity to the modern era. In addition, this compelling book illuminates the stories of notable women throughout history--from queens and freedom fighters to warriors and spies--and the progressive movements led by women that have shaped history, including abolition, suffrage, labor, civil rights, LGBTQ liberation, reproductive rights, and more. Examining where we've been, where we are, and where we're going, Amazons, Abolitionists, and Activists is an indispensable resource for people of all genders interested in the fight for a more liberated future. -
American Women : A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States
by
Call Number: HQ1410 .A47 2001This important publication is designed to introduce researchers to the opportunities for discovering American women's history and culture at the Library of Congress. Covers materials such as textual sources, films, sound recordings, prints and photographs, and other audio or visual material. -
A Black Women's History of the United States
by
Call Number: E185.86 .B475 2020An empowering and intersectional history that centers the stories of African American women across 400+ years, showing how they are - and have always been - instrumental in shaping our country. In centering Black women's stories, two award-winning historians seek both to empower African American women and to show their allies that Black women's unique ability to make their own communities while combatting centuries of oppression is an essential component in our continued resistance to systemic racism and sexism. -
Chronology of Women's History
by
Call Number: HQ1121 .O47 1994Impressive, enlightening, and fascinating to read, this easy-to-use narrative chronology records the triumphs, obstacles, and conditions of women's lives from prehistory to the present and profiles the achievements of nearly 5,000 women from practically every corner of the globe. Western history is thoroughly covered and supplemented by information on Asia, Eastern Europe, Latin America, and Africa. -
Chronology of Women Worldwide : People, Places & Events that Shaped Women's History
by
Call Number: HQ1121 .C617 1997This work focuses on the key international happenings throughout the ages, with particular emphasis on the 19th and 20th centuries. It includes women's achievements in specific areas such as the arts, transportation and science. Brief biographies of important individuals are also included. -
Femina: A New History of the Middle Ages Through the Women Written Out of It
by
Call Number: HQ1143 .R346 2022The middle ages are seen as a bloodthirsty time of Vikings, saints and kings: a patriarchal society which oppressed and excluded women. But when we dig a little deeper into the truth, we can see that the 'dark' ages were anything but. Oxford and BBC historian Janina Ramirez has uncovered countless influential women's names struck out of historical records, with the word "Femina" annotated beside them. As gatekeepers of the past ordered books to be burnt, artworks to be destroyed, and new versions of myths, legends and historical documents to be produced, our view of history has been manipulated. Only now, through a careful examination of the artefacts, writings and possessions they left behind, are the influential and multifaceted lives of women emerging. Femina goes beyond the official records to uncover the true impact of women like Jadwiga, the only female King in Europe, Margery Kempe, who exploited her image and story to ensure her notoriety, and the Loftus Princess, whose existence gives us clues about the beginnings of Christianity in England. See the medieval world with fresh eyes and discover why these remarkable women were removed from our collective memories. -
Handbook of American Women's History
by
Call Number: HQ1410 .H36 2000This exceptional reference presents short articles on key people, events, and ideas that have shaped the history of women in the United States. Thoroughly revised and updated, the second edition features more than 100 new entries as well as, for the first time, photographs and artwork illustrating key concepts. Aimed at librarians, students, and teachers, the Handbook of American Women's History provides a comprehensive, interdisciplinary view of a fascinating field of study. -
On This Day She : Putting Women Back into History One Day at a Time
by
Call Number: HQ1123 .B45 2022An inspiring collection that shines a light on incredible women who were never given the acknowledgement they deserved. Here are the women whom time has forgotten; those who didn't make it into the history books and those whom society failed to uphold as significant figures in their own right. Finally, we shall know their stories. -
The Reader's Companion to U. S. Women's History
by
Call Number: HQ1410 .R43 1998The most inclusive book to date on U.S. women's collective history! A landmark work, The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History, gathers together more than 400 articles to offer a diverse, rich, and often neglected panorama of the nation's past. Written by more than 300 contributors, drawn from various areas of expertise, these narrative and interpretive entries "effectively cover five centuries of women's experiences" (Bloomsbury Review). Here are articles on cowgirls and child care, on the daily lives of single women and the changing notions of motherhood, on the artistic contributions of women of color and the history of Jewish feminism. Wide-ranging in scope and wonderfully accessible, this unique resource reexamines with fresh clarity and brio the issues and concerns that color the lives of all women. -
She Bop: The Definitive History of Women in Popular Music
by
Call Number: ML82 .O27 2020For She Bop, Lucy O’Brien conducted over 250 interviews with female artists and women working behind the scenes in A&R, marketing, music publishing, and production to write a groundbreaking exploration of sexism in the music industry. Fusing many untold stories, O’Brien presents a feminist history of women in popular music, from 1920s blues to the present day. Talking to iconic artists from Eartha Kitt and Nina Simone to Debbie Harry, Poly Styrene, and Beyoncé, she charts how women have negotiated "old boy" power networks to be seen and to get their music heard. This revised edition updates that story through many fresh interviews and new perspectives. -
Unequal Sisters : A Multicultural Reader in U.S. Women's History
by
Call Number: HQ1410 .U54 1990Unequal Sisters has become a beloved and classic reader, providing an unparalleled resource for understanding women’s history in the United States today. This revised and expanded edition comprises some of the most ground-breaking work in women's and feminist history. Addressing issues of race, ethnicity, religion, and sexuality, it provides a more accurate and inclusive history of US women. -
Women: Our Story
by
Call Number: HQ1121 .W8854 2019Reexamining history from a female perspective, this book celebrates the pivotal but less well-known roles women have played in culture and society. Packed full of evocative images, this gloriously illustrated book reveals the key events in women's history--from early matriarchal societies through women's suffrage, the Suffragette movement, 20th-century feminism, and gender politics, to recent movements such as #MeToo and International Women's Day--and the key role women have had in shaping our past. -
Women in the Ancient World
by
Call Number: HQ1127 .N45 2011This book takes a fresh look at visual representations of women in the ancient Near East, Egypt, Greece, and Rome, and analyzes them for indications of women's roles in these societies. After examining their traditional functions as wives and mothers, the author presents evidence of women's participation in the public and religious spheres. -
Women in the Classical World
by
Call Number: HQ 1127 .W52 1994The lavishly illustrated and meticulously researched Women in the Classical World lifts the curtain on the women of ancient Greece and Rome, from slaves and prostitutes, to Athenian housewives, to Rome's imperial family. The first book on classical women to give equal weight to written texts and artistic representations, it brings together a great wealth of materials -- poetry, vase paintings, legislation, medical treatises, architecture, religious and funerary art, women's ornaments, historical epics, political speeches, even ancient coins -- to present women in the historical and cultural context of their time. -
Women in World History: 1450 to the Present
by
Call Number: HQ1121 .S74 2020Women in World History brings together the most recent scholarship in women's and world history in a single volume covering the period from 1450 to the present, enabling readers to understand women's relationship to world developments over the past five hundred years.
Use the listed call numbers to find the books on the third floor, unless otherwise specified. To learn more about call numbers, view the Finding Items in the Library Tutorial.
-
Black Women Will Save the World
by
Call Number: E185.96 .R93 2022In this long-overdue celebration of Black women's resilience and unheralded strength, the revered, trailblazing White House correspondent reflects on "The Year That Changed Everything"--2020--and African-American women's unprecedented role in upholding democracy. "I am keenly aware that everyone and everything has a story," April D. Ryan acknowledges. "Also, I have always marveled at Black women and how we work to move mountains and are never really thanked or recognized." In Black Women Will Save the World, she melds these two truths, creating an inspiring and heart-tugging portrait of one of the momentous years in America, 2020--when America elected its first Black woman Vice President--and celebrates the tenacity, power, and impact of Black women across America. -
The Book of Gutsy Women
by
Call Number: HQ1123 .C55 2019Hillary Rodham Clinton and her daughter, Chelsea, share the stories of the gutsy women who have inspired them -- women with the courage to stand up to the status quo, ask hard questions, and get the job done. Ensuring the rights and opportunities of women and girls remains a big piece of the unfinished business of the twenty-first century. While there's a lot of work to do, we know that throughout history and around the globe women have overcome the toughest resistance imaginable to win victories that have made progress possible for all of us. That is the achievement of each of the women in this book. -
The Exceptions: Nancy Hopkins, MIT, and the Fight for Women in Science
by
Call Number: Q130 .Z47 2023In 1999, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology admitted to discriminating against its most senior female scientists. It was a seismic cultural event - one that forced institutions across the nation to reckon with the bias faced by girls and women in STEM. This is the story of the women on MIT's faculty who started it all, centered on the life and career of their unlikely leader: Nancy Hopkins, a noted molecular geneticist and cancer researcher and protégée of James Watson, the codiscoverer of the structure of DNA. -
Flappers: Six Women of a Dangerous Generation
by
Call Number: HQ1412 .M1633 2014By the 1920s, women were on the verge of something huge. Jazz, racy fashions, eyebrowraising new attitudes about art and sex -- all of this pointed to a sleek, modern world, one that could shake off the grimness of the Great War and stride into the future in one deft, stylized gesture. The women who defined this the Jazz Age -- Josephine Baker, Tallulah Bankhead, Diana Cooper, Nancy Cunard, Zelda Fitzgerald, and Tamara de Lempicka -- would presage the sexual revolution by nearly half a century and would shape the role of women for generations to come. In Flappers, the acclaimed biographer Judith Mackrell renders these women with all the color that marked their lives and their era. Both sensuous and sympathetic, her admiring biography lays bare the private lives of her heroines, filling in the bold contours. -
Hidden Figures: the American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians who Helped Win the Space Race
by
Call Number: QA27.5 .L44 2016Starting in World War II and moving through to the Cold War, the civil rights movement, and the space race, this book follows the interwoven accounts of Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson, and Christine Darden, four African American women who participated in some of NASA's greatest successes. It chronicles their careers over nearly three decades they faced challenges, forged alliances, and used their intellect to change their own lives, and their country's future. -
A History of Islam in 21 Women
by
Call Number: HQ1170 .K36 2019ISBN: 9789388754705Beginning in seventh-century Mecca and Medina, A History of Islam in 21 Women takes us around the globe, through eleventh-century Yemen and Khorasan, and into sixteenth-century Spain, Istanbul and India. From there to nineteenth-century Persia and the African savannah, to twentieth-century Russia, Turkey, Egypt and Iraq, before reaching present day London. From the first believer, Khadija, and the other women who witnessed the formative years of Islam, to award-winning mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani in the twenty-first century, Hossein Kamaly celebrates the lives and groundbreaking achievements of these extraordinary women in the history of Islam. -
In Her Footsteps: 101 Remarkable Black Women from the Queen of Sheba to Queen Latifah
by
Call Number: HQ1163 .M33 2000The life stories of these "daughters of Africa" are sometimes playful and sometimes painful but always awe-inspiring in their truth and candor. Sweeping across history and over continents, they portray the energy, creativity, and resilience of black women such as Ana Quirot, a Cuban runner who overcame life-threatening burns to triumph in the Olympic games; Yelena Khanga, a black Russian woman who hosts the most popular television show in Russia and performs with a comedy troupe in New York; and Lulu Shite, the diamond-studded madam of Mahogany Hall in New Orleans. -
In Praise of Difficult Women: Life Lessons from 29 Heroines Who Dared to Break the Rules
by
Call Number: HQ1154 .K37 2018From Frida Kahlo and Elizabeth Taylor to Nora Ephron, Carrie Fisher, and Lena Dunham, this witty narrative explores what we can learn from the imperfect and extraordinary legacies of 29 iconic women who forged their own unique paths in the world. Smart, sassy, and unapologetically feminine, this elegantly illustrated book is an ode to the bold and charismatic women of modern history. -
Modern HERstory: Stories of Women and Nonbinary People Rewriting History
by
Call Number: HQ1236.5.U6 I523 2018An inspiring and radical celebration of 70 women, girls, and nonbinary people who have changed-and are still changing-the world, from the Civil Rights Movement and Stonewall riots through Black Lives Matter and beyond. -
Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary Completing the Twentieth Century
by
Call Number: HQ1412 .N5725 2004Entries on almost five hundred women representing a wide range of fields of endeavor are featured in a collection of biographical essays that integrate each woman's personal life with her professional achievements, set in the context of historical developments. -
The Philosopher Queens : the Lives and Legacies of Philosophy's Unsung Women
by
Call Number: B105.W6 P47 2020The history of philosophy has not done women justice: you've probably heard the names Plato, Kant, Nietzsche and Locke - but what about Hypatia, Arendt, Oluwole and Young? The Philosopher Queens is a long-awaited book about the lives and works of women in philosophy by women in philosophy. This collection brings to centre stage twenty prominent women whose ideas have had a profound - but for the most part uncredited - impact on the world. You'll learn about Ban Zhao, the first woman historian in ancient Chinese history; Angela Davis, perhaps the most iconic symbol of the American Black Power Movement; Azizah Y. al-Hibri, known for examining the intersection of Islamic law and gender equality; and many more. -
Rosa Parks: My Story
by
Call Number: F334.M753 P37 1992Rosa Parks is best known for the day she refused to give up her seat on a segregated bus, sparking the Montgomery, Alabama, bus boycott. Yet there is much more to her story than this one act of defiance. In this straightforward, compelling autobiography, Rosa Parks talks candidly about the civil rights movement and her active role in it. Her dedication is inspiring; her story is unforgettable. -
She Come by It Natural: Dolly Parton and the Women Who Lived Her Songs
by
Call Number: ML420.P28 S63 2020Explores how the music of Dolly Parton and other prominent women country artists has both reflected and validated the harsh realities of rural working-class American women.
Growing up amid Kansas wheat fields and airplane factories, Smarsh witnessed firsthand the vulnerabilities and strengths of women in working poverty. Meanwhile, country songs by female artists played in the background, telling powerful stories about life, men, hard times, and surviving. Country music was a language among women-- and no one provided that language better than Dolly Parton. Here Smarsh explores the overlooked contributions to social progress by such women as exemplified by Dolly Parton's life and art. She shows how Parton's song offer a springboard to examining the intersections of gender, class, and culture. -
Sisters in the Struggle: African American Women in the Civil Rights-Black Power Movement
by
Call Number: E185.61 .S615 2001In Sisters in the Struggle, we hear about the unsung heroes of the civil rights movements such as Ella Baker, who helped found the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee, Fannie Lou Hamer, a sharecropper who took on segregation in the Democratic party (and won), and Septima Clark, who created a network of "Citizenship Schools" to teach poor Black men and women to read and write and help them to register to vote. -
They Went Whistling: Women Wayfarers, Warriors, Runaways, and Renegades
by
Call Number: HQ1123 .H655 2001In this ode to bold, brash, and sometimes just plain dangerous women, Barbara Holland reanimates those rebels who defied convention and challenged authority on a truly grand scale: they traveled the world, commanded pirate ships, spied on the enemy, established foreign countries, scaled 19,000-foot passes, and lobbied to change the Constitution. With wit, wisdom, and irreverent flair, They Went Whistling makes a compelling case for the virtue of getting into trouble. -
A to Z of Women in World History
by
Call Number: CT3202 .K84 2002A one-volume encyclopedic reference to those extraordinary women from around the globe who have made their mark in every division of achievement. More than 260 detailed entries are grouped by each woman's claim to fame. -
The Unforgotten Sisters: Female Astronomers and Scientists Before Caroline Herschel
by
This book tells the lives of twenty-five female scientists, with specific attention to astronomers and mathematicians. The book will be of interest to all who wish to learn more about the women from antiquity to the nineteenth century who played such key roles in the history of astronomy and science despite living and working in largely male-dominated worlds. -
Women of Power: Half a Century of Female Presidents and Prime Ministers Worldwide
by
Call Number: HQ1236 .S5713 2014Do women national leaders represent a breakthrough for the women's movement, or is women's leadership weaker than the numbers imply? This unique book, written by an experienced politician and academic, is the first to provide a comprehensive overview of how and why women in 53 countries rose to the top in the years since World War II. Packed with fascinating case studies detailing the rise to power of all 73 female presidents and prime ministers from around the world, from 1960 (when the first was elected) to 2010, the motives, achievements and life stories of the female top leaders, including findings from interviews carried out by the author, provide a nuanced picture of women in power. -
Women Scientists: Reflections, Challenges, and Breaking Boundaries
by
Call Number: Q130 .H376 2015Magdolna Hargittai uses over fifteen years of in-depth conversation with female physicists, chemists, biomedical researchers, and other scientists to form cohesive ideas on the state of the modern female scientist. The compilation, based on sixty conversations, examines unique challenges that women with serious scientific aspirations face. In addition to addressing challenges and the unjustifiable underrepresentation of women at the higher levels of academia, Hargittai takes a balanced approach by discussing how some of the most successful of these women have managed to obtain professional success and personal happiness. -
Women Who Won: 70 Extraordinary Women Who Reshaped Politics.
by
Call Number: HQ1236 .B35 2023Did you know that Sirimavo Bandaranaike of Sri Lanka was the first woman in the world to become a democratically elected prime minister? That Tina Anselmi of Italy was a wartime resistance fighter who became the first woman to serve as a cabinet minister? Or that Sylvie Kinigi of Burundi was the first woman to serve as a prime minister in Africa? It is high time these extraordinary women who helped shape our world became household names, and this book brings them at last to the fore. Women Who Won is a celebration of 70 women from the last 100 years: politicians from around the globe who fought for election in a man's world... and won.
Use the listed call numbers to find the books on the second floor, unless otherwise specified. To learn more about call numbers, view the Finding Items in the Library Tutorial.
-
Dolores Huerta: A Hero to Migrant Workers
by
Call Number: PICTURE HISTORY / WARREN, S. / DOLORES HUE.An illustrated look at the life and accomplishments of Dolores Huerta, who fought to ensure fair and safe work places for migrant workers. Includes a timeline and resources for teachers. -
An Equal Shot: How the Law Title IX Changed America
by
Call Number: PICTURE HISTORY / BECKER, H. / EQUAL SHOTA nonfiction picture book introduction to the history and importance of Title IX as civil rights legislature. -
Founding Mothers: Remembering the Ladies
by
Call Number: PICTURE HISTORY / ROBERTS, C. / FOUNDINGReveals the surprising tales of fascinating women such as Abigail Adams, Mercy Otis Warren, Deborah Read Franklin, Eliza Lucas Pinckney, Catharine Littlefield Greene, Esther DeBerdt Reed, and Martha Washington. -
Frida Kahlo and Her Animalitos
by
Call Number: PICTURE ART / BROWN, M. / FRIDA KAHLOChronicles Frida's life -- from her childhood to her rise as one of the world's most influential painters -- capturing the beauty and strength of Frida's creative spirit, which carried her through tragedy and triumph, and the animals that inspired her along the way. -
Harriet Tubman
by
Call Number: PICTURE HISTORY / SÁNCHEZ-V., M. / HARRIET TUBM.Presents information about Harriet Tubman, from her childhood in slavery to brave escape to the North and her work to help others escape slavery. -
Hidden Figures: The True Story of Four Black Women and the Space Race
by
Call Number: PICTURE SCI/SPACE / SHETTERLY, M. / HIDDEN FIGURESExplores the previously uncelebrated but pivotal contributions of NASA's African American women mathematicians to America's space program, describing how Jim Crow laws segregated them despite their groundbreaking successes. -
A Is for Abigail: An Almanac of Amazing American Women
by
Call Number: PICTURE HISTORY / CHENEY, L. / A IS FOR ABIGAILEach letter of the alphabet is represented by an important woman in the history of the United States, as well as others in her same field of accomplishment. -
Lighter Than Air: Sophie Blanchard, the First Woman Pilot
by
Call Number: PICTURE GO / SMITH, M. / LIGHTER THANShares the life of the first female to work as a professional balloonist, making more than sixty ascents until 1819, she became the first woman to die in an aviation accident. -
Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History
by
Call Number: PICTURE HISTORY / HARRISON, V. / LITTLE LEADERSBased on her popular Instagram posts, debut author/illustrator Vashti Harrison shares the stories of 40 bold African American women who shaped history. -
Lives of Extraordinary Women: Rulers, Rebels (and What the Neighbors Thought)
by
Call Number: JUV HQ1236 .K8 2000Not all governments have been run by men. Lives of Extraordinary Women turns the spotlight on women who have wielded power, revealing their feats--and flaws--for all the world to see. Here you'll find twenty of the most influential women in history: queens, warriors, prime ministers, first ladies, revolutionary leaders. Some are revered. Others are notorious. What were they really like? -
Malala's Magic Pencil
by
Call Number: PICTURE HISTORY / YOUSAFZAI, M. / MALALA'S MAGAs a child in Pakistan, Malala wished for a magic pencil to make her world better. Growing up, she realized she could work hard to bring change, even without magic. -
Nina: Jazz Legend and Civil Rights Activist Nina Simone
by
Call Number: PICTURE HISTORY / BRIÈRE-HAQ., A. / NINAWith evocative black-and-white illustrations and moving prose, readers are introduced to Nina Simone, jazz-music legend and civil-rights activist. -
Only Passing Through: The Story of Sojourner Truth
by
Call Number: PICTURE HISTORY / ROCKWELL, A. / ONLY PASSINGBiography of Sojourner Truth, who was born into slavery, freed in 1827, and became famous for her courage, quick wit, and ready challenge as she campaigned for abolition and women's rights in New York and the Midwestern States. -
Queen of Physics: How Wu Chien Shiung Helped Unlock the Secrets of the Atom
by
Call Number: PICTURE SCIENCE / ROBESON, T. / QUEEN OF PHYSIC.Born in early 1900s China, Wu Chien Shiung defied expectations by pursuing her passion for physics, encouraged by her parents. Despite facing prejudice, she excelled in science, earning the title "Queen of Physics." -
Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World
by
Call Number: PICTURE HISTORY / HOOD, S. / SHAKINGIntroduces fourteen revolutionary young women--each paired with a noteworthy female artist--to the next generation of activists, trailblazers, and rabble-rousers. -
Sisters and Champions: the True Story of Venus and Serena Williams
by
Call Number: PICTURE MOVEMENT / BRYANT, H. / SISTERS ANDAn inspiring picture book sports biography about two of the greatest female tennis players of all-time, outsiders who just happen to be sisters. -
Susan B. Anthony
by
Call Number: PICTURE HISTORY / WALLNER, A. / SUSAN B. ANTH.A brief biography of women's rights activist Susan B. Anthony that discusses her early years and her battle to earn women fair treatment and the right to vote. -
Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement
by
Call Number: PICTURE HISTORY / WEATHERFO., C. / VOICE OFPresents a collage-illustrated treasury of poems and spirituals inspired by the life and work of civil rights advocate Fannie Lou Hamer. -
Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World
by
Call Number: JUV Q141 .I33 2016Celebrates the achievements of the intrepid women who have paved the way for the next generation of female engineers, biologists, mathematicians, doctors, astronauts, physicists, and more! -
Women in Sports
by
Call Number: JUV GV697.A1 I38 2017Highlights the achievements and stories of fifty notable women athletes.
Use the listed call numbers to find the titles: fall music CDs/records and DVDs are located on the second floor. To learn more about call numbers, view the Finding Items in the Library Tutorial.
-
Renaissance
by
Call Number: VINYL R&B / BEYONCÉ / RENAISSANCERenaissance is the seventh studio album by American singer Beyoncé. It was released on July 29, 2022, by Parkwood Entertainment and Columbia Records. With its songs seamlessly arranged like a DJ mix, the album blends post-1970s Black dance music styles such as disco and house and pays homage to the Black and Black queer pioneers of those genres. The album's lyrical content explores themes of escapism, hedonism, self-assurance and self-expression.
-
Midnights
by
Call Number: VINYL POP/ROCK / SWIFT, T. / MIDNIGHTSMidnights is the tenth studio album by the American singer-songwriter Taylor Swift, released on October 21, 2022, by Republic Records. Swift conceived it as a concept album about nocturnal ruminations inspired by her sleepless nights. -
Lady Soul
by
Call Number: VINYL R&B / FRANKLIN, A. / LADY SOULLady Soul is the twelfth studio album by American singer Aretha Franklin released in early 1968 by Atlantic Records. The album stayed at number 1 for 16 weeks on Billboard's R&B album chart, and it hit number 2 on the pop album chart during a year-long run.
-
Jolene
by
Call Number: VINYL COUNTRY / PARTON, D. / JOLENEJolene is the thirteenth solo studio album by American entertainer Dolly Parton. It was released on February 4, 1974, by RCA Victor. The title track, "Jolene", tells the tale of a housewife confronting a beautiful seductress who she believes is having an affair with her husband. It became Parton's second solo number-one country single. -
At Last!
by
Call Number: VINYL R&B / JAMES, E / ATAt Last! is the debut studio album by American blues and soul artist Etta James. Released on Argo Records in November 1960 the album was produced by Phil and Leonard Chess. At Last! also rose to no. 12 upon the Billboard Top Catalog Albums chart. -
Tapestry
by
Call Number: VINYL/CD POP/ROCK / KING,C / TAPESTRYTapestry is the second studio album by American singer-songwriter Carole King, released on February 10, 1971 on Ode Records and produced by Lou Adler. The lead singles from the album—"It's Too Late" and "I Feel the Earth Move"—spent five weeks at number one on both the Billboard Hot 100 and Easy Listening charts. -
The Bodyguard: Original Soundtrack Album
by
Call Number: CD STAGE/SCREEN / BODYGUARDThe Bodyguard: Original Soundtrack Album is a soundtrack album from the film of the same name, released on November 17, 1992, by Arista Records. The album's first side features songs recorded by American singer Whitney Houston, who starred in the film, while side two features the work of various artists. -
The Best of the Song Books
by
Call Number: CD JAZZ / FITZGERALD, E. / BEST OF THE -
What Happened, Miss Simone?
by
Call Number: MEDIA ML420.S5635 W43 2016A documentary about the life and legend Nina Simone, an American singer, pianist, and civil rights activist labeled the High Priestess of Soul. Includes a bonus CD of her works which features the classics I Loves You Porgy; Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out; I Put a Spell on You; and many more.
-
The Journey of Sacagawea
Call Number: MEDIA F592.7.S123 J68 2004This film documents Sacagawea's importance on the Lewis and Clark Expedition. This one-hour documentary explores the life and legend of Sacagawea as told through the rich oral history of the Shoshoni, Hidatsa, and the Nez perce tribes, as well as the historical account taken from the journals of The Corps od Discovery. Travel in the footsteps of Sacagawea as the file take syou through the wilds of the American frontier. -
Dolores: Rebel, Activist, Feminist, Mother
by
Call Number: MEDIA HD6509.H84 D65 2018Dolores Huerta is among the most important, yet least known, activists in American history. An equal partner in co-founding the first farm workers unions with Cesar Chavez, her enormous contributions have gone largely unrecognized. Dolores tirelessly led the fight for racial and labor justice, becoming one of the most defiant feminists of the twentieth century. -
Maya Angelou, And Still I Rise
Call Number: MEDIA PS3551.N464 Z765 2017This documentary examines the life and legacy of African American poet, memoirist, and civil rights worker Maya Angelou, from her upbringing in the Depression-era South to her work with Malcolm X in Ghana to the recitation of her inaugural poem for President Bill Clinton. Includes Angelou's own words woven together with archival photographs and videos as well as interviews with Angelou's friends and family. -
RBG
Call Number: MEDIA KF8745.G56 R34 2018At the age of 85, U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg has developed a lengthy legal legacy while becoming an unexpected pop culture icon. But the unique personal journey of her rise to the nation's highest court has been largely unknown, even to some of her biggest fans - until now. RBG explores Ginsburg's life and career. -
Zora's Roots
Call Number: MEDIA PS3515.U789 Z47 2008Examines the life of author and anthropologist Zora Neale Hurston. The film follows Hurston, best known for her novel, Their Eyes Were Watching God, to the subtropical paradise that shaped her childhood and her life's work - where she returned again and again for inspiration and solace. -
The Miracle Worker
Call Number: MOVIES & TV / MIRACLE WORK.A dramatization of the story about the struggle of a Boston teacher, Annie Sullivan, to communicate with and teach the deaf, blind, and mute child, Helen Keller. -
Harriet
Call Number: MOVIES & TV / HARRIETBased on the thrilling and inspirational life of an iconic American freedom fighter, the movie tells the extraordinary tale of Harriet Tubman's escape from slavery and transformation into one of America's greatest heroes. Her courage, ingenuity, and tenacity freed hundreds of slaves and changed the course of history. -
Judy
Call Number: MOVIES & TV / JUDYThirty years after rising to global stardom in The Wizard of Oz, showbiz legend Judy Garland arrives in London to perform a five-week sold-out run at The Talk of the Town. While preparing for the shows, Garland battles with management, reminisces with friends and adoring fans, and embarks on a whirlwind romance with soon-to-be fifth husband Mickey Deans, all while bravely struggling to overcome intensifying anxiety and physical decline. -
Coal Miner's Daughter
Call Number: MOVIES & TV / COAL MINER'SThe story of Loretta Lynn, who rose from the poverty-stricken Appalachian area to become one of the biggest country singers of all time. -
Hidden Figures
Call Number: MOVIES & TV / HIDDEN FIGURESAs the United States raced against Russia to put a man in space, NASA found untapped talent in a group of African-American female mathematicians that served as the brains behind one of the greatest operations in U.S. history. Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, and Katherine Johnson crossed all gender, race, and professional lines while their brilliance and desire to dream big, beyond anything ever accomplished before by the human race, firmly cemented them in U.S. history as true American heroes. -
The Iron Lady
Call Number: MOVIES & TV / IRON LADYA surprising and intimate portrait of Margaret Thatcher, the first female Prime Minister of the United Kingdom. One of the 20th century's most famous and influential women, Thatcher came from nowhere to smash through barriers of gender and class to be heard in a male-dominated world.
