Recommended Reading
The following books are a selection of titles that may interest you. Unless otherwise specified, books can be found in the third floor Circulating Collection using the call number; you may borrow books from this collection. A few books are in the second floor Reference Collection, but these books do not leave the building; you may use, copy, or scan them while visiting. floor. eBooks may be read online. Click the title and then log in with your Office 365 account if prompted.
-
The Civilian Lives of U.S. Veterans: Issues and Identities
Call Number: UB357 .H524 2017In this two-volume set, 50 experts study the lives of U.S. veterans at work, at home, and in American society as they navigate issues regarding health, gender, public service, substance abuse, and homelessness. -
Encyclopedia of the Veteran in America
Call Number: REF UB357 .E53 2009 (2nd floor)This 2-volume set serves as a reference for anyone seeking to understand the struggle of veterans both historically and in the present day. -
Life after the Military: A Handbook for Transitioning Veterans
by
Call Number: UB357 .H55 2013Discusses the issues transitioning veterans face when making the move to civilian life, from finding employment to managing finances. -
See Me for Who I Am: Student Veterans' Stories of War and Coming Home
Call Number: UB357 .S44 2016Twenty student veterans share honest and powerful stories that challenge media stereotypes about those who served after 9/11. Their reflections offer insight into the realities of war, the fulfillment of service, and the shared humanity that connects veterans and civilians. -
Serving America's Veterans: A Reference Handbook
by
Call Number: UB357 .S47 2009Korb and his team of experts survey, analyze, and evaluate the infrastructural conditions, administrative and health care service challenges, policies, and politics affecting veterans affairs in the United States.
-
The Complete Guide to Veterans' Benefits: Everything You Need to Know Explained Simply
by
Call Number: UB357 .B75 2014A practical guide that helps veterans navigate the often challenging transition to civilian life. It explains the full range of benefits available to former service members, from health care to financial assistance, and how to access them. -
Disability Benefits for Wounded Warriors
Call Number: online (click title)Official SSA publication on disability benefits for military service members whose disability occurred while on active military duty on or after October 1, 2001. -
Federal Benefits for Veterans, Dependents and Survivors
Call Number: online (click title)Official guide from the VA that provides information on benefits and services currently available by law and regulation. -
Florida Veterans Benefits Guide
Call Number: online (click title)Information from the Florida Department of Veterans’ Affairs. -
For Service to Your Country: The Insider’s Guide to Veterans’ Benefits
by
Call Number: UB357 .G39 2011Advises veterans on how and where to claim benefits from the Department of Veteran Affairs (VA) such as health care and job benefits. -
Making the Most of Your Veterans Affairs (VA) Home Loan Benefits An Active Duty Service Member and Veteran's Guide to Home Ownership
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Veterans often avoid using their VA home loan benefits due to lack of training, misinformation, or fear. The author provides clear, step-by-step guidance and practical advice to help veterans confidently navigate the home-buying process and take full advantage of their benefits. -
The Military Advantage
by
Call Number: UC74 .H69 2017A guide to military and veteran benefits for service personnel that covers the GI bill and tuition assistance, scholarships, discounts, home loans, insurance coverage, disability benefits, veteran employment, retirement, pension, legal protection and services, and more. -
Veterans Benefits Guide for Dummies
by
Call Number: UB357 .J646 2023Your clear and concise guide to the benefits available to you from the VA and other government organizations. -
What Every Veteran Should Know
Call Number: UB357 .W5 2024Provides information on benefits and services for veterans, covering such topics as healthcare, education benefits, life insurance, military pay, overseas benefits, and home loan guarantees.
-
Bridging the Gap from Soldier to Civilian: A Road Map to Success for Veterans
by
Call Number: UB357 .B58 2016After spending years in the military and, then as a civilian, working, earning degrees, and starting his own business, Michael Bluemling Jr. shares his expertise in the civilian work force and the transition out of the armed services. -
Business Networking for Veterans: A Guidebook for a Successful Military Transition Into the Civilian Workforce
by
Call Number: UB357 .A2 2014A guide designed to help veterans build the professional networks needed for a smooth transition into civilian careers. Written by former Marines and a business expert, it shows how veterans can use their service mindset and experience to connect, collaborate, and succeed. -
Down Range: A Transitioning Veteran's Career Guide to Life's Next Phase
by
Call Number: UB357 .M384 2014 & eBook (click title)Written by veterans who have successfully made the transition, Down Range offers career planning guidance to U.S. military veterans coming off active duty. -
From CO to CEO: A Practical Guide for Transitioning from Military to Industry Leadership
by
Call Number: HD57.7 .T685 2022Written by a retired naval officer turned CEO, this guide helps veterans translate their leadership and technical skills into corporate success. It offers practical advice for choosing the right career path, mastering the hiring process, and advancing in the business world. -
From Boots to Business: Transitioning from the Service to a Career in Business
by
Call Number: UB357 .V335 2020 & eBook (click title)Designed to help guide service members interested in pursuing a career in the field of business post-military service on their journey by guiding them through the maze of possibilities and assisting them in maximizing their available choice. -
Military Transition for Dummies
by
Call Number: UB357 .J64 2021This isn't your average military transition book. It goes far beyond how to write a resume and find a job, by providing you with all the guidance you need to successfully reenter the civilian world. It walks you through the transition process and explains what life is like outside the perimeter fence so you can hit the ground running without your PT shoes. -
Mission Transition: Managing Your Career and Your Retirement
by
Call Number: UB357 .F37 2018An invaluable resource when dealing with the complicated world of retirement and transition from the military to civilian life, for both military service members and their families. -
Mission Transition: Navigating the Opportunities and Obstacles to Your Post-Military Career
by
Call Number: UB357 .L59 2019A practical career-change guide to help transitioning veterans avoid false starts and make optimal career choices following active duty. -
Operation Job Search: A Guide for Military Veterans Transitioning to Civilian Careers
by
Call Number: UB357 .W45 2016The ultimate guide for US military veterans seeking employment after discharge. It provides information about the civilian workforce, guidelines for navigating one's career, and a list of essential resources. Also included are sections dedicated specifically to female veterans. -
Out of Uniform: Your Guide to a Successful Military-to-Civilian Transition
by
Call Number: UB357 .W64 2018Transitioning from military to civilian employment can be challenging, but veterans can succeed by understanding their unique strengths and mastering essential job search skills. This guide offers practical advice on résumés, interviews, and networking, while also addressing self-awareness and communication strategies critical for career success. -
Success After Service: How to Take Control of Your Job Search and Career After Military Duty
by
Call Number: UB357 .C55 2020 & eBook (click title)The perfect guide for transitioning military and veterans who seek a coherent set of strategies, resources and steps for building a meaningful, deliberate and rewarding post-military career. -
Veteran Entrepreneur Handbook
by
Call Number: HD62.5 .O36 2023Step-by-step instructions for starting your own business and guiding it to profitability. Military veteran entrepreneur Wes O'Donnell leads the way with crucial insights, tips and a wealth of veteran-specific resources that are available along the journey.
-
Called to Serve: A Handbook on Student Veterans and Higher Education
by
Call Number: UB357 .H36 2013As more veterans pursue higher education, colleges and universities face new challenges in meeting their unique needs. This resource provides current research and practical guidance to help campus professionals coordinate support services, improve programs, and foster student veteran success. -
From the Air Force to College: Transitioning from the Service to Higher Education
by
Call Number: UB357 .V3415 2015Making the transition from the military to higher education can be tricky from a variety of perspectives. With clear advice and information about resources, this is the go-to guide for Air Force members moving on to higher education. -
From the Army to College: Transitioning from the Service to Higher Education
by
Call Number: UB357 .V342 2015Making the transition from the military to higher education can be tricky. This guidebook will make the process easy, accessible, and understandable to any current or former member of the Army pursuing higher education while on active-duty or just leaving the service. -
From the Marine Corps to College: Transitioning from the Service to Higher Education
by
Call Number: UB357 .V34 2014Designed to help Marines navigate the world of higher education and tier available state and federal benefits, this guide will better prepare veterans for tackling their new mission: college. The easy-to-follow format will assist Marines in furthering their educational goals and allow them to get the most out of the available resources. -
From the Navy to College: Transitioning from the Service to Higher Education
by
Call Number: UB357 .V343 2015An education and career reference guide for sailors looking to join the Navy, already on active duty, or transitioning into the civilian sector. From getting started to degree completion, all available funding resources to help cover costs and Navy-based program options are detailed for the reader in order to assist throughout the course of an individual's chosen path. -
A Veteran's Guide to Higher Education: Surviving the Transition from Military Service to the Academic Environment
by
Call Number: U716 .C83 2016Mike Cubbage, a former Army combat veteran, draws upon his personal experiences in re-entering civilian life as well as his work advocating for veterans in this guide to navigating the transition to civilian life. While he shares tips in many areas, he focuses on education.
-
Arsenal of Hope: Tactics for Taking on PTSD, Together
by
Call Number: RC552.P67 S222 2021A guide that empowers family members combating post-traumatic stress on the home front, offering hope, purpose, and tangible solutions. -
Beating Combat Stress: 101 Techniques for Recovery
by
Call Number: RC552.P67 H45 2011A one-stop handbook of field-tested techniques and strategies to help service personnel, veterans and professionals to deal with the psychological effects of combat. -
Bounce Back: 12 Warrior Principles to Reclaim and Recalibrate Your Life
by
Call Number: RC552.P67 M55 2023A retired United States Army Staff Sergeant and best-selling New York Times author shares techniques to inspire survivors of post-traumatic stress from all walks of life to confront trauma and take back control of their lives. -
Combat Trauma: A Personal Look at Long-Term Consequences
by
Call Number: RC550 .J66 2010Fifteen combat veterans share how trauma from decades ago continues to affect their daily lives, revealing the long-term impact of PTSD. The book offers guidance for veterans, families, and caregivers on understanding, managing, and finding help for these lasting effects. -
Coping with Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder: A Guide for Families
by
Call Number: RC552.P67 R63 2011A user friendly discussion of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) as it affects individuals and families. -
Military Mental Health Care: A Guide for Service Members, Veterans, Families, and Community
by
Call Number: UH629.3 .L39 2013Both a resource for struggling veterans and a useful tool for their loved ones or anyone looking for ways to support the veterans in their lives. -
Once a Warrior, Always a Warrior: Navigating the Transition From Combat to Home--Including Combat Stress, PTSD, and mTBI
by
Call Number: RC550 .H64 2010With this book, Dr. Hoge reaches out to a larger community of veterans and their families, helping family members to gain greater understanding of ways they can help their loved ones navigate the "PTSD paradox" while also helping veterans cope with combat stress and PTSD through a set of specific skills. -
Struggle Well: Thriving in the Aftermath of Trauma
by
Call Number: RC552.P67 F35 2018Ken Falke and Josh Goldberg train combat veterans battling PTSD to understand and achieve Posttraumatic Growth (PTG). PTG helps you discover opportunities from times of struggle, and this book provides actionable strategies for making peace with past experiences, living in the present, and planning for a great future. -
Warrior Renew: Healing From Military Sexual Trauma
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)This workbook offers evidence-based exercises and activities to help survivors of Military Sexual Trauma regain safety, self-worth, and emotional balance. It guides readers through understanding MST, managing physical and emotional symptoms, and rebuilding healthy relationships and intimacy.
-
The Best Ever Book of Money Saving Tips for Veterans
by
Call Number: UC74 .Y68 2013With humor and exaggeration, this tongue-in-cheek guide offers over-the-top money-saving tips tailored for veterans. Mixing absurd ideas with genuine frugality, it playfully challenges readers to rethink their spending habits and laugh while learning to save. -
The Best Ever Guide to Getting Out of Debt for Veterans
by
Call Number: UC74 .Y6 2013Offering a wide range of practical strategies, this witty guide helps veterans take control of their finances, cut costs, and pay off debt faster. With flexible methods and down-to-earth advice, it empowers readers to manage money wisely and achieve lasting financial freedom. -
Combat Finance: How Military Values and Discipline Will Help You Achieve Financial Freedom
by
Call Number: UC74 .N4136 2014Combining stories of those who have served their country with honor with expert financial advice and guidance, this book shows you how to apply many of the same principles that lead to success on the battlefield to your everyday battle for financial success. -
Guide to Personal Financial Planning for the Armed Forces
by
Call Number: UC74 .P55 2012Offering clear, practical guidance on every aspect of personal finance, this resource helps service members make smart decisions about budgeting, investing, and planning for the future. Updated for today’s financial landscape, it covers everything from military benefits and insurance to buying a home, car, or pursuing education. -
Military Finances: Personal Money Management for Service Members, Veterans and Their Families
by
Call Number: UC74 .L39 2013A one-stop guide to navigating the may financial issues facing today's military while serving, when preparing for transition or retirement, and during their past military lives and careers. It covers general financial planning along with many specific aspects of money management vital to military members and their families. -
Military Millionaires
by
Call Number: UC74 .H36 2013A must read that empowers the service member to independently control their personal finances and inspires their will to do so. In addition to educating the reader on modern investment tools, the author incorporates numerous encouraging stories written by actual service members sharing positive, and negative personal finance experiences while serving on active duty. -
Soldier of Finance: Take Charge of Your Money and Invest in Your Future
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Modeled on the Soldier's Handbook, which is issued to all new U.S. Army recruits, Soldier of Finance is a no-nonsense, military-style training manual to overcoming financial obstacles and building lasting wealth. -
The Veteran's Money Book: A Step-by-Step Program to Help Military Veterans Build a Personal Financial Action Plan and Map Their Futures
by
Call Number: UC74 .G5434 2014Many veterans return from Iraq and Afghanistan with little knowledge of personal finance, making the transition to civilian life challenging. Drawing on her own experience, Army veteran Mechel Glass shows how to create a financial plan, understand credit and insurance, avoid scams, and build lasting money-management habits. -
Win the Money War: Clear Investing Advice for Service Members
by
Call Number: UC74 .R43 2012U.S. service members can learn simple, effective strategies to invest, build wealth, and secure their financial future. The book also offers guidance on buying homes, paying for college, maximizing Social Security, and participating in the Survivor Benefit Plan, helping readers avoid financial pitfalls amid economic uncertainty.
-
The After: A Veteran's Notes on Coming Home
by
Call Number: DS79.767.V47 R36 2024In twenty-four concussive, embodied, and nonlinear essays, Ramos creates a complex portrait of being a soldier, civilian, veteran, father, husband, and teacher, ultimately using his military skills as a creative writing professor to help others tell their stories. Rather than a simple redemption story, it is a brutally honest portrayal that shows war veterans they are not alone. -
After the War Zone: A Practical Guide For Returning Troops and Their Families
by
Call Number: RC550 .S548 2008A resource for service members, their spouses, families, and communities offers a guide to the most common after-effects of war and includes strategies for reintegration into everyday life, discussion of common myths, and an exploration of mental health concerns. -
Coming Back Together: A Guide to Successful Reintegration After Your Partner Returns from Military Deployment
by
Call Number: U22.3 .S29 2014This guide explores the challenges and transitions that occur when a partner returns from war. It explains how reintegration can take years and affect both the service member and their family. -
Coping with Concussion and Mild Traumatic Brain Injury: A Guide to Living with the Challenges Associated with Post Concussion Syndrome and Brain Trauma
by
Call Number: RC387.5 .S75 2013A comprehensive guide to improving mental clarity and quality of life in the aftermath of a concussion draws on the expertise of a neuropsychologist and concussion survivor to counsel patients and caregivers on how to manage symptoms ranging from migraines and depression to sleep problems and memory loss. -
From Service to Success: New Mission, New Purpose, and a New Journey to a Great Life
by
Call Number: UB357 .T395 2023 & eBook (click title)Drawing on real stories and personal experience, this book offers hope and practical guidance for veterans struggling after military service. It emphasizes healing through self-forgiveness, community connection, gratitude, and finding renewed purpose beyond the pain of transition. -
Invisible Veterans: What Happens When Military Women Become Civilians Again
Call Number: UB357 .I585 2019Spotlights the challenges faced by our increasing cadre of military women when their service ends and they become civilians. Combining research with narrative, this book exposes common threads of lived experience and reviews the latest data on military women and their healthy reintegration into civilian society. -
Invisible Wounds
by
Call Number: GRAPHIC NOVEL RULIFFSON, J. / INVISIBLEShares the stories of men, women and non-binary people who struggle to reconcile their wartime experiences with their postwar lives, revealing how America's endless entanglement in wars has affected the psyches of the people who wage them.
*The Graphic Novel Collection is located at the end of the Circulating Collection on the third floor. -
Military Transition for Dummies
by
Call Number: UB357 .J64 2021This isn't your average military transition book. It goes far beyond how to write a resume and find a job, by providing you with all the guidance you need to successfully reenter the civilian world. It walks you through the transition process and explains what life is like outside the perimeter fence so you can hit the ground running without your PT shoes.
-
Warrior to Civilian: The Field Manual for the Hero's Journey
by
Call Number: UB357 .S27 2025Providing a guide for veterans transitioning to civilian life, this book addresses practical challenges like finding a job and reintegrating with family, as well as deeper issues such as loss and finding new purpose. Drawing on veteran stories, expert advice, and the hero’s journey framework, it offers strategies for healing while highlighting the experiences of veterans of color and LGBTQ+ service members. -
When the Warrior Returns: Making the Transition at Home
Call Number: UB403 .W52 2012Over two million soldiers, sailors, marines, and airmen have been deployed in recent conflicts. This book addresses the practical and psychological needs of the families of transitioning service members and provides a list of key resources. -
The Wounded Warrior Handbook: A Resource Guide for Returning Veterans
by
Call Number: UB363 .M66 2015This trusted resource is both comprehensive and easy to use, and now the most up-to-date guide for wounded veterans and their families dealing with active-duty injuries.
Bibliographies
These bibliographies were created by libraries and organizations outside of Santa Fe College. The Santa Fe Library does not necessarily own all these titles; please check the library catalog or ask a librarian for help. If you wish to obtain a title we do not own free of charge, please fill out an Interlibrary Loan request. It will take approximately one to two weeks to fill your request.
-
U.S. Army Combined Arms Center Reading ListIncludes military classics and deployment reading guides