Get Research Help
Library Reference Desk
- NW: Tyree Library, 2nd Floor
- Blount: Library & Learning Commons, DB-213C
- reference@sfcollege.edu
- 352-395-5409
- Make an appointment
Need Help?
Locating Books
Use the listed call numbers to locate the books. Books with REF in their call numbers are located on the second floor in the Reference Collection, and are for in-library-use only. You may copy or scan information from these books. All other books will be located on the third floor in the Circulating Collection and may be checked out with your SF ID card for 4 weeks.
General Symbolism Books
The Complete Dictionary of Symbols by Call Number: REF AZ108.T74 2005 (2nd floor, Reference Collection)
A Dictionary of Symbols: A Guide to Signs, Codes and Signals From Across the World by Call Number: AZ108.C513 2002
Directory of Signs and Signals: A Guide to Signs, Codes and Signals From Across the WorldCall Number: P99.D38 2004
Religious Symbols
Dictionary of Classical Mythology: Symbols, Attributes & Associations by Call Number: BL715.B44 1982
Gothic Cathedrals: A Guide to the History, Places, Art, and Symbolism by Call Number: NA4830.R35 2015
Hidden Religion: The Greatest Mysteries and Symbols of the World's Religious Beliefs by Call Number: REF BL610.I87 2014Located in the 2nd floor Reference Collection.
How to Read a Church: A Guide to Symbols and Images in Churches and Cathedrals by Call Number: BV150.T39 2005
The Secret Language of Churches & Cathedrals: Decoding the Sacred Symbolism of Christianity's Holy Buildings by Call Number: NA4800.S68 2010
Website
Symbols in Arts & Literature
Continuum Encyclopedia of Animal Symbolism in World Art by Call Number: REF GR705.W47 2006Located in the 2nd floor Reference Collection
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols by Call Number: REF AZ108 .S9 F47 2007 & eBook (click title)Located in the 2nd floor Reference Collection. Older edition in Circulating Collection (3rd floor)
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by Call Number: REF N7560.H34 2008Located in the 2nd floor Reference Collection.
Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art by Call Number: REF N7740.C29 1995Located in the 2nd floor Reference Collection.
Discovering the Great Masters: The Art Lover's Guide to Understanding Symbols in Paintings by Call Number: ND1145.C74 2009
Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art by Call Number: REF N7740.H35 1994Located in the 2nd floor Reference Collection.
Literary Symbolism: An Introduction to the Interpretation of Literature by Call Number: PN56.S9 B4 1968
Signs & Symbols in Christian Art by Call Number: REF N7830.F37 1959Located in the 2nd floor Reference Collection.
Other Areas
A Dictionary of Chinese Symbols: Hidden Symbols in Chinese Life and Thought by Call Number: REF DS721.E32613 1988Located in the 2nd floor Reference Collection.
Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols by Call Number: REF GR35.J6Located in the 2nd floor Reference Collection.
Folklore and Symbolism of Flowers, Plants and Trees by Call Number: REF GR780.L44 1990Located in the 2nd floor Reference Collection.
