Locating Items
Books - Located in the 3rd floor Circulating Collection and may be borrowed or sent to an SF Center. Use the call numbers to locate.
eBooks - Located online. Click the title and log in.
DVDs - Located in the 2nd floor Media Collection and may be borrowed. Use the call numbers to locate.
College Success Tips
-
Becoming a Master Student
by
Call Number: LB2343.3 .E44 2018This guide helps students navigate the culture of higher education by offering interactive activities, journal entries, and tools to develop key qualities for success. It includes resources like the Discovery Wheel and Kolb Learning Style Inventory to deepen self-awareness and prepare for academic and personal achievement. -
College Rules! How to Study, Survive, and Succeed in College
by
Call Number: LB2343.32 .N57 2016This updated classic gives students the tools they need to successfully transition from high school to college, avoid rookie mistakes, and set themselves up for academic success from day one. -
College Success Guaranteed: 5 Rules to Make It Happen
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)This book offers practical advice to help new college students succeed during their first year, with five simple rules for navigating academic and personal challenges. Through anecdotes and straightforward tips, it emphasizes attending class, studying regularly, managing free time, finding a mentor, and avoiding procrastination—ensuring a strong start to a successful college experience. -
Connections Are Everything: A College Student's Guide to Relationship-Rich Education
by
Call Number: LB3607 .F45 2023 & eBook (click title)This book empowers students themselves to seek out relationships themselves, demystifying the varied ways they can cultivate significant connections. -
Dean's List: Ten Strategies for College Success
by
Call Number: LB2395 .B28 2017This guide, featuring insights from deans at top U.S. institutions, offers valuable advice on navigating college life, managing workloads, and building faculty relationships, helping students develop strategies for a successful and rewarding college experience. -
The Freshman Survival Guide: Soulful Advice for Studying, Socializing, and Everything In Between
by
Call Number: LB2343.32 .F74 2016This book offers you the tools and accumulated wisdom of hundreds of students, administrators, professors, counselors, and campus ministers to help you take advantage of the options in front of you and make good decisions in the years ahead. -
How to Be a Successful Student: 20 Study Habits Based on the Science of Learning
by
Call Number: LB2395 .M42 2019 & eBook (click title)This book offers evidence-based strategies for developing effective study habits, drawn from cutting-edge research in educational psychology. It provides practical advice on motivation, managing your learning environment, and applying proven learning techniques to become a successful student. -
How to Become a Successful College Student: The Tools, Habits, and Skills Needed to Foster College Readiness
by
Call Number: LB2343.32 .D86 2024 & eBook (click title)This book is your one-stop shop for the academic tools and habits needed to make your transition from high school to college a resounding success! -
How to Choose Your Major
by
Call Number: LB2361.5 .G55 2017 & eBook (click title)Helps students navigate the career decision-making process by identifying interests, skills, and values, and providing strategies for selecting a major and preparing for the job market. It offers advice on overcoming career indecisiveness, explores career paths based on personality types, and introduces key competencies sought by employers in new graduates. -
How To College: What To Know Before You Go (And When You're There)
by
Call Number: LB2343.32 .B7 2019This practical guide helps first-year college students and their families navigate the transition from high school to college, addressing challenges like new academic expectations, independence, and mental health. Written by experienced professors, it offers advice to ensure students thrive and succeed during this pivotal year. -
How to Solve a Problem: Insights for Critical Thinking, Problem-Solving, and Success in College
by
Call Number: LB2395.35 .D66 2023 & eBook (click title)This concise and accessible resource offers new college students, especially those in science degree programs, guidance on engaging successfully with the classroom experience and skillfully tackling technical or scientific questions. -
How to Succeed in College and Beyond
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)This comprehensive guide helps students navigate the entire undergraduate experience, offering advice on academics, extracurriculars, career preparation, and personal growth. It emphasizes the value of a well-rounded education, particularly in the arts and humanities, and provides practical strategies for balancing academic passion with career readiness. -
How to Survive & Thrive in College: From Buying Textbooks, Dealing with Weird Roommates, Mastering Your Exams, Handling Stress, Preparing for Your Future and Everything In Between
by
Call Number: LB2343.32 .B46 2022This guide offers essential tips and strategies for navigating college life, from building friendships and managing time to selecting a major and improving study habits. It provides valuable insights to help students thrive during their challenging college years. -
The Infographic Guide to College
Call Number: LB2343.32 .G345 2017This illustrated infographic guide covers all aspects of college life, from managing health and studying to making friends and handling finances. It provides realistic, visual advice to help students navigate their college experience with ease. -
Learning from the Learners: Successful College Students Share Their Effective Learning Habits
by
Call Number: LB2395 .L385 2018 & eBook click titleThis book examines the learning habits of successful college students, focusing on their strategies and insights rather than expert advice. Based on a 10-year study, it provides a unique perspective on student success, emphasizing the experiences of diverse students, including first-generation college-goers. -
Learning to Learn Online
by
Call Number: freely available onlineHelps prepare you for online learning success by introducing you to the online learning environment and your role as a learner within it. -
Learn Like a Pro: Science-Based Tools to Become Better at Anything
by
Call Number: LB1060 .O25 2021This book offers practical advice for learners of all ages, using insights from neuroscience and cognitive psychology to improve learning. It presents techniques to help overcome common learning challenges like poor retention, distractions, and procrastination, enabling readers to master any subject. -
Office Hours: What Every University Student Needs to Know
by
Call Number: LB2343.32 .L64 2019 & eBook (click title)Demystifies the entire process of office hours--the purpose and goals of these meetings, how to plan for them, and even determining whether to visit the professor or send an email. Information about "group" office hours, which are becoming more common, is also included. -
Owning Your Journey: How to Successfully Navigate the Community College Experience
by
Call Number: LB2343.32 K44 2023This book offers community college students practical strategies for navigating higher education, covering topics like admissions, time management, study techniques, and communication with peers and instructors. It emphasizes maintaining a positive mindset, preparing for graduation or career transitions, and using personal reflection and collaboration to enhance the college experience. -
The Secrets of College Success
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Are you among the 22 million students now enrolled in college? Then this book is just for you. Written by college professors and successfully used by tens of thousands of students, The Secrets of College Success combines easy-to-use tips, techniques, and strategies with insider information that few professors are willing to reveal. -
The Secret Syllabus
by
Call Number: LB2343.32 .P54 2022Left to figure out on their own how the academic world works, students frequently stumble, underperform, and miss opportunities. Jay Phelan and Terry Burnham share the essential lessons they have learned from struggling, unfocused students as well as award-winning college instructors and researchers. -
The Student Mindset: A 30-Item Toolkit for Anyone Learning Anything
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)In The Student Mindset, Steve Oakes and Martin Griffin provide clear, effective and engaging tools designed to help students plan, organize and execute successful learning. -
Thinking Critically in College: The Essential Handbook for Student Success
by
Call Number: LB2395.35 .N49 2023This guide helps students tackle the academic challenges of college by teaching them how to analyze, synthesize, and apply knowledge in new ways. With practical strategies and real-life examples, it provides essential tools for developing critical thinking skills and succeeding in college. -
U Thrive: How to Succeed in College (and Life)
by
Call Number: LB1062.6 .L47 2017Explores how college students can improve their quality of life by building positive lifelong habits, addressing such topics as difficult roommates and overwhelming academic schedules. -
What the Best College Students Do
by
Call Number: LA229 .B24 2012 & eBook (click title)This book encourages students to look beyond grades and cultivate intellectual habits that foster lifelong growth. By profiling successful individuals who prioritized curiosity, problem-solving, and resilience, it shows that true success stems from a mindset of continuous learning and adaptability, rather than a focus on traditional achievements. -
Will This Be on the Test? What Your Professors Really Want You to Know About Succeeding in College
by
Call Number: LB2395 .J64 2019 & eBook (click title)Shows you how to work with your professors to get the education, grades, and recommendations you need to thrive in the classroom and beyond.
College Success for Specific Groups
-
The Adult Student's Guide to Survival and Success
by
Call Number: LB2343.32 .S556 2016This guide helps adult students balance academic success with family, work, and other responsibilities. It offers practical advice on time management, test preparation, note-taking, and financing education, while also addressing personal development through confidence-building, resiliency, and creating support networks. -
African American Student's Guide to College Success
by
Call Number: LC2781.7 .B75 2015This practical guide offers African American college students strategies for success, from choosing the right college to overcoming academic anxiety. With contributions from role models and personal accounts, it provides tips on improving study skills, navigating campus culture, and understanding college terminology, all aimed at helping students thrive academically and graduate with confidence. -
The American Indian and Alaska Native Student's Guide to College Success
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Helps Native American and Alaska Native students navigate the complexities of choosing a college that aligns with both their educational goals and cultural needs. It offers advice on finding the right programs, support services, and financial aid options, while also providing insights from students who share their college experiences and strategies for balancing academic life with community and heritage. -
College 101: A Girl's Guide to Freshman Year
by
Call Number: LB2343.32 .Z45 2017This guide offers a humorous and relatable first-person perspective on the freshman year of college, packed with advice from both experts and fellow students. It covers key topics such as managing academics, navigating campus culture, avoiding debt, and prioritizing self-care, offering practical tips to help girls thrive during their first year and enjoy the experience. -
College Knowledge for the Jewish Student
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)This practical guide provides Jewish students with essential advice for navigating college, offering tips on academics, time management, social life, and personal well-being. It also addresses the emotional and spiritual aspects of the transition to college, providing relatable student stories and guidance for balancing academic success with personal growth and independence. -
College Knowledge for the Student Athlete
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)This guide helps student-athletes navigate the challenges of balancing academics and athletics, with specific advice on NCAA regulations, eligibility, and managing time effectively. It offers research-based tips and insights from experienced student-athletes to ensure academic success while maintaining athletic careers. -
College Success for Adults: Insider Tips for Effective Learning
by
Call Number: LC5251 .G55 2021A concise, user-friendly guide that helps adult students succeed in college by teaching them how to balance work, personal life, and academics. It covers essential strategies for taking effective notes, managing test anxiety, understanding college expectations, and developing a successful student mindset. -
College Success for Students of Color: A Culturally Empowered, Assets-Based Approach
by
Call Number: LC3727 .R565 2024This guide will help Indigenous students and students of color to thrive in post-secondary education as their full, authentic selves. -
Crack the Code: A Guide to College Success for First Gens
by
Call Number: LB2343.32 .L54 2020 & freely onlineOffers practical advice and encouragement specifically for first-generation college students, acknowledging their unique challenges while providing strategies for academic success. It serves as a supportive "mentor-in-a-backpack," offering guidance through common college hurdles to help students navigate their journey from enrollment to graduation. -
The Latino Student's Guide to College Success
by
Call Number: LC2670.6 .H57 2012This book provides Latino students with a step-by-step roadmap for navigating the college process, from overcoming cultural barriers to attending college, to selecting the right school, to considering advanced degrees. -
Never Too Late: The Adult Student's Guide to College
by
Call Number: LC5215 .K573 2018A smart, snappy, and comprehensive guide for the millions of adults who are thinking about going--or going back--to college and want to know how to do it right. -
The Student Athlete's Guide to College Success
by
Call Number: LB2343.3 .H387 2017An invaluable guide for potential collegiate student athletes, this guide presents strategies to assist student athletes with life skills both inside and outside of the classroom and athletic arenas. -
Trans* in College: Transgender Students' Strategies for Navigating Campus Life and the Institutional Politics of Inclusion
by
Call Number: LC2574.6 .N52 2017 & eBook (click title)This book combines the author's personal trans* journey with research on trans* college students, highlighting their resilience and strategies for navigating institutional challenges. It offers insights for trans* students and guidance for educators on fostering inclusive, supportive environments.
International Students
-
50 Ways to Succeed As an International Student
by
Call Number: LB2375 .C68 2019 & eBook (click title)This friendly, accessible guide provides international students with fifty practical ways to help them make the most of their experience overseas. -
English for Academic Correspondence
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Written specifically for researchers of all disciplines whose first language is not English, this guide presents easy-to-follow rules and tips, along with authentic examples taken from real emails, referees' reports and cover letters. -
English for Interacting on Campus
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)This volume covers the day-to-day activities of a non-native English speaking student carrying out research, attending lectures, socializing, and living in a foreign country. -
The Essential Guide to Studying Abroad: From Success in the Classroom to a Fulfilling Career
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)This book offers a practical guide for international students to thrive academically and socially while studying abroad, using case studies and resources to reduce stress and enhance cross-cultural experiences. It also provides career advice for graduates, encouraging success and adaptability in new environments. -
Intercultural Skills in Action: An International Student's Guide to College and University Life in the U.S.
by
Call Number: LB2376.4 .L37 2021Aimed at international students studying in the United States, this book is designed to create meaningful opportunities for students to reflect on and practice intercultural skills in ways that are relatable in their daily lives and that can lead to a more satisfying U.S. academic experience.
