Sciences for Health Programs

The Lawrence W. Tyree Library serves the students, staff, and faculty of Santa Fe College. The Library is open for studying, access to resources, and research help throughout the week, with additional weekend hours.

The Library has staff available to assist you on all three floors. If you need research help, stop by the 2nd floor reference desk to speak to one of our librarians. For more ways to access help, see our Research Help page.

This guide is an introduction to the resources the Tyree Library provides to Santa Fe College students taking Sciences for Health Programs courses.

If you need a more general introduction to library research, try Research 101.

If you need help with your research, please contact the Health Sciences Librarian, Jenna Miller (352-395-5329), or the Reference Desk (352-395-5406).

Contents

Where to Find Articles

Shows how to access the library databases and describes the databases most useful for sciences for health.

How to Search

Describes search strategies from the basics of identifying keywords and subject headings to more advanced search strategies in CINAHL.

How to Find Books

Shows how to locate books in the library catalog. Includes lists of recommended books, call numbers, and subject headings.

How to Find eBooks

Shows how to locate eBooks in the library catalog and databases. Includes lists of recommended eBooks and preset searches.

3D Models

Provides access to Visible Body, a virtual 3D human anatomy and physiology atlas.

How to Find Information on the Web

Provides information on PubMed, web search tips, and suggested websites.

Tutorials

Contains all of the video tutorials embedded throughout this guide in one place.

How to Cite Sources Using APA Style

Provides resources to help you with APA citations, including the library's APA Citation Guide.

Get Help

Lists all the ways you can get help from a librarian.