Need Help?
Reference Books (2nd Floor)
Reference books are located on the second floor of the Library and do not check out. There are free scanners available. If you need access to information from a reference book from a Center, please contact the Reference Desk. eBooks may be read completely online. Click the title and log in with your Office 365 account if prompted.
Black's Law Dictionary by Call Number: REF KF156 .B532 2011Best known legal reference in America. Look up legal phrases, jargon or concepts to get a plain English explanation.
The Indigo Book: An Open and Compatible Implementation of a Uniform System of Citation by Call Number: eBook (click title)A guide to using the Bluebook citation guide - entirely online.
Handbook of Communication in the Legal Sphere by Call Number: eBook (click title)This volume explores communication and its implications on interpretation, vagueness, multilingualism, and multiculturalism. It investigates cross-cultural perspectives with original methods, models, and arguments .
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by Call Number: REF KF387 .G27 2013 & eBook (click title)Consumer, business and personal/family law is divided into sections for easy reference - issues that are most commonly contacted in everyday life.
Nolo's Plain-English Law Dictionary by Call Number: REF KF156 .N654 2009Just as it sounds: a layperson's dictionary to legal jargon.
Gale Encyclopedia of American LawCall Number: REF KF154 .W47 2011Legal publisher West creates an alphabetically searchable collection of articles on all aspects of American law.
The Redbook: A Manual on Legal Style by Call Number: REF KF250.G375 2019The Redbook is the most authoritative, comprehensive, and easily usable manual of legal style.
The Bluebook: A Uniform Style of CitationCall Number: READY REF KF245.B58 2020 (ask at Reference Desk)The Bluebook is the definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States
National Survey of State Laws by Call Number: REF KF386.N38 2015This new edition of NSSL covers the changes that have occurred in many areas of law since 2008, including abortion, the right to die, gun control, prayer in public schools, marijuana, marriage, personal income tax, drunk driving, capital punishment, right to work, lemon laws, leases and other agreements, child custody, legal ages, and many other areas.
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789-2015 by Call Number: REF KF4557. V555 2015This is the most comprehensive book on constitutional amendments and proposed amendments available.
Circulating Books (3rd Floor)
Circulating books on the third floor of the Library and may be checked out for two weeks with your SF ID card. You may also request any circulating book be sent to a Center.
Basic Legal Research: Tools and Strategies by Call Number: KF240.S585 2018Basic Legal Research: Tools and Strategies is known for its clear, step-by-step instruction in the basics. Using a building-block approach, the textbook breaks material into discrete, readily comprehensible parts
Civil Litigation for Paralegals by Call Number: KF8841. B48 2017The text provides students with an in-depth analysis of a wide variety of civil cases, beginning with laying out the basic foundation of the American legal system. It proceeds through the investigation and implementation of a civil case, and follows the case through to appeal.
Examples and Explanations for Legal Writing by Call Number: KF250.L398 2019A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, this book provides an in-depth look at legal writing with detailed explanations and hypotheticals.
Florida Real Estate Principles, Practices & Law by Call Number: KFF282.R4 C73 2016This textbook provides review material for broker exam candidates studying for the Florida broker license exam. Includes update to new FREC Course I Syllabus, case studies, key concepts, exam review questions, and complete answer key.
Internships Through Employment: The Paralegal Job Hunter's Handbook by Call Number: KF320.L4 B676 2008Written by authors with extensive experience in placing paralegal students in successful internships and permanent jobs, this is the only text in the field to focus on internships and permanent employment.
Legal Research by Call Number: KF240.E35 2018Do you have legal questions at home, at work, or as part of law-related course work? Legal Research provides everything you need, laying out easy-to-follow research methods that will help you find the right answers.
Legal Research, Analysis and Writing by Call Number: KF240.H36 2018The basics of legal research, analysis, and writing in a practical, relevant approach. Gives students the essential knowledge and tools they need to research and analyze a legal problem and communicate the results in diverse forms of legal memoranda.
Legal Writing by Call Number: KF250.N484 2019Written in a style that engages students, this book includes outstanding coverage on organizing analysis according to the CREAC formula (also known as the paradigm), the writing process, storytelling techniques, rule analysis, statutory interpretation, and professionalism.
Legal Writing and Analysis by Call Number: KF250.E378 2019Legal Writing and Analysis leads students logically through reading and analyzing the law, writing the discussion of a legal question, and writing office memos, letters, and briefs.
Property by Call Number: KF560. B87 2019A study aid that offers clear textual introductions to legal terms and concepts in property law,
Researching the Law: Finding What You Need When You Need It by Call Number: KF240.S586 2017Concise new title by the top author in legal research. Focuses on pre-and post-search analysis for effectively filtering vast amounts of material. Teaches students how to identify the most pertinent and authoritative information to solve a legal problem.
