Need Help?
Articles
Articles provide very targeted information, usually focusing on one small segment of a topic. Articles also tend to be more recent. Newspaper and magazine articles can be updated within days or weeks of an event, while academic journal articles may take a few months or longer.
Library databases are the best place to locate articles. These databases contain thousands of sources for you to search for free full-text. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images.
Recommended Databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Access Academic Search Complete | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)
Access Humanities Source | How to Cite
Articles covering many aspects of the humanities, including: literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
JSTOR
Access JSTOR | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
The best place to start for arts and humanities research. JSTOR includes back issues of thousands of scholarly journals, with an excellent collection of art and humanities journals.
Google Scholar
If you are looking for scholarly information online, Google Scholar is a valuable search tool. Access Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com.
You can display SF's holdings in Google Scholar using the following steps:
- Click on the hamburger icon on the top left of the screen:
- Click Settings
- Click Library Links on the left side of the screen.
- In the search box, type Santa Fe College; choose Santa Fe College - Find it @ Santa Fe
- Click Save.
For a narrated overview of this process, view the Google Scholar video tutorial.