Skip to main content

Film Studies

This research guide is intended to serve as an introduction to the resources the L.W. Tyree Library has on Film Studies.

Accessing Databases

The best way to find journal articles on a topic is to use the Library's databases. The library databases are only available to Santa Fe students and employees. To access the databases, click the Databases link on the Library's homepage or at the top of this guide. When you do this, you'll be prompted to log in.

If you need assistance logging in, please visit our Chat Desk or email us at reference@sfcollege.edu. The databases can also be accessed via eSantaFe

The next section presents a tutorial on the process of locating and accessing the Library's databases.

Academic Search Complete

Access Academic Search Complete  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.

Useful subject search terms:

  • Motion Pictures
  • Film
  • Filmstrips
  • Silent Films

Humanities Source

Access Humanities Source (EBSCO)  |  How to Cite

Articles covering many aspects of the humanities, including: literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.

Useful subject search terms:

  • Motion Pictures
  • Film
  • Filmstrips
  • Silent Films

JSTOR

Access JSTOR  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

The best place to start for arts and humanities research. JSTOR includes back issues of thousands of scholarly journals, with an excellent collection of art and humanities journals.

Narrow your search to just journals in your subject area(s):

Narrow to Film Studies discipline in JSTOR