Need Help?
MLA Citations
The MLA Handbook (call number LB2369 .M52 2021) is the official guide to MLA style. The Library has multiple copies of this book, both available to check out and for in-library-use. You may also access the MLA Handbook Plus online, which contains the full text of the MLA Handbook, plus other resources.
The following links and tutorials will help you create MLA citations for the sources you need to cite.
More Resources
Example Citations
Book
Citation Components
- Author: Faith Nostbakken
- Title: Understanding Macbeth : a student casebook to issues, sources, and historical documents
- Publisher: Greenwood Press
- Publication Date: 1997
MLA Works Cited
Nostbakken, Faith. Understanding Macbeth: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents. Greenwood Press, 1997.
In-Text Citation
(Nostbakken 16)
Video Tutorial
Chapter in an Edited Book
Citation Components
- Author(s) of Chapter: Julian Smith
- Title of Chapter: Tragedy of MacBeth
- Page Range: 250-261
- Editor of Book: Catherine C. Dominic
- Title of Book: Shakespeare's Characters for Students
- Publication Date: 1997
- Publisher: Gale Research
MLA Works Cited
Smith, Julian. "Tragedy of MacBeth." In Shakespeare's Characters for Students, edited by Catherine C.Dominic, Gale Research, 1997, pp. 250-261.
In-Text Citation
(Smith 255)
Video Tutorial
eBook
Citation Components
- Editor(s): Victoria Bladen, Sarah Hatchuel, and Nathalie Vienne-Guerrin
- Title: Shakespeare on Screen: Macbeth
- Publisher: Presses universitaires de Rouen et du Havre
- Publication Date: 2014
- eBook Database Name: Ebook Central
- Permalink: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/sfcollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3430714
MLA Works Cited
Bladen, Victoria, et al., editors. Shakespeare on Screen: Macbeth. Presses Universitaires de Rouen et du Havre, 2014. ProQuest Ebook Central, ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/sfcollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3430714.
In-Text Citation
(Bladen)
Video Tutorial
Journal Article
Citation Components
- Authors: Carol Strongin Tufts
- Article Title: Shakespeare's Conception of Moral Order in Macbeth
- Journal Title: Renascence
- Volume number: 50
- Issue number: 3
- Pages: 168-182
- Publication Date: Spring 1998 / Summer 1998
- Database: Academic Search Complete
- DOI or Permalink:10.1007/s12633-017-9605-2
*DOIs can be found in the database record or on the front page of the article. If there is no DOI, use the permalink.
MLA Works Cited (with DOI)
Tufts, Carol Strongin. “Shakespeare’s Conception of Moral Order in Macbeth.” Renascence, vol. 50, no. 3/4, Spring/Summer 1998, pp. 168–182. Academic Search Complete, https://doi.org/10.1007/s12633-017-9605-2.
MLA Works Cited (no DOI)
Tufts, Carol Strongin. “Shakespeare’s Conception of Moral Order in Macbeth.” Renascence, vol. 50, no. 3/4, Spring/Summer 1998, pp. 168–182. Academic Search Complete, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=1238435&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
In-Text Citations
(Tufts 173)
Video Tutorial
Online Video
Citation Components
- Creator: Regina Buccola
- Video Title: Macbeth by William Shakespeare: Summary & Analysis
- Website Title: YouTube
- User Name: Course Hero
- Publication Date: June 8, 2018
- URL of Video: https://youtu.be/Gao3heg2Zv8
MLA Works Cited
Buccola, Regina. "Macbeth by William Shakespeare: Summary & Analysis." YouTube, uploaded by Course Hero, 8 June 2018, youtu.be/Gao3heg2Zv8.
In-Text Citation
(Buccola 2:45)
Video Tutorial
Webpage
Citation Components
- Author: Alan Grant
- Webpage Title: Macbeth Synopsis
- Website Title: PlayShakespeare.com
- Sponsor: Shakespeare Association of America
- Publication Date: 2018
- URL of Webpage: https://www.playshakespeare.com/macbeth/synopsis
Leave off any components you do not have, such as sponsors or dates.
MLA Works Cited
Grant, Alan. "Macbeth Synopsis." PlayShakespeare.com, Shakespeare Association of America, 2018, www.playshakespeare.com/macbeth/synopsis.
In-Text Citation
(Grant)