Skip to Main Content

ENC1102 - College Composition 2 - Thomas

The Lawrence W. Tyree Library

The Lawrence W. Tyree Library serves all Santa Fe College students, faculty and staff. The library building (building Y on the Northwest Campus) is 65,000 square feet and three stories high, with generous space for the collection, leisure seating, quiet study, and media viewing. Our collection includes over 178,000 items including books, eBooks, journals, magazines, newspapers, music, movies, and online research databases. Whether you need a quiet place to study, research for an assignment, a course reserve item, or a place to check email, the Library is the place to go on campus for all your information needs. In addition, there are substantial resources available online, allowing you to access eBooks and articles from home or at a Center.

Library Hours

The Library is open throughout the week, with evening and weekend hours.

Fall/Spring Hours

  • Monday - Thursday: 7 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Friday: 7 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
  • Saturday: noon - 6 p.m.
  • Sunday: noon - 8 p.m.

Summer Hours

  • Monday - Thursday: 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
  • Friday: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
  • Saturday: CLOSED
  • Sunday: noon - 6 p.m.

A reference librarian is always on duty to assist users whenever the Library is open.

Library Collections

The largest collection, the Circulating Collection consists of more than 80,000 print books on the third floor. This collection contains nonfiction, fiction, and audiobooks on a variety of subjects. All items in this collection check out (may be borrowed).

The Graphic Novel Collection consists of graphic novels, graphic memoirs, and comic books, located on the third floor, after the Circulating Collection. All items in this collection check out (may be borrowed).

The Reference Collection, located on the second floor, consists of encyclopedias, dictionaries, print journals, and other reference materials to be used within the Library. These do not check out, but scanners and copiers are available.

If you need access to information from a book in the Reference Collection and cannot come to the Northwest Campus, please email a librarian.

The Media Collection is available on the second floor of the Library and provides access to audiovisual materials. There are four sub-collections:

  • MEDIA consists of documentary and nonfiction videos (in VHS, DVD, and Blu-Ray format), organized by Library of Congress Classification
  • MOVIES & TV consists of feature films and television series/productions (in DVD and Blu-Ray format), organized by title
  • CD consists of music CDs, organized by genre
  • VINYL consists of vinyl records, organized by genre.

Materials in the Media Collection may be checked out (may be borrowed). Portable players for CDs, records, DVD, and Blu-Ray may be borrowed from the first floor Circulation Desk.

The Youth Collection is available on the second floor of the Library and consists of books and media aimed at K-12 learners. There are several sub-collections:

  • JUV are nonfiction books
  • BOARD are board books
  • PICTURE are picture books
  • CHAPTER are chapter books
  • YOUNG ADULT are young adult books

Items in the Youth Collection check out (may be borrowed).

Located on the first floor (across from the elevators), this collection includes many major newspapers (The Gainesville Sun, The New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal), plus many general magazine titles for browsing (such as Sports Illustrated, The Atlantic, and Time). These titles must be used within the Library and do not check out, but scanners and copiers are available.

This small browsing collection is available on the first floor (to the left of the lobby, by Y-102) and highlights new books and media added to the Library within the past few weeks. Feel free to check out any titles that appeal to you!

The Reserve Collection consists of items placed on reserve by faculty to directly support their courses. This may be the course textbook, supplementary readings or handbooks, videos, etc. Not all courses or instructors have placed materials on reserve. The Reserve Collection is located behind the Circulation Desk on the first floor. Items may be used in the Library only.

A small collection of games are available at the first floor Circulation Desk to borrow for two weeks. See a list of the available games.

The Library Website

Just about everything we will cover in these lessons is accessible from the Lawrence W. Tyree Library website. The Library's website is the central access to information available from the Library and is the best place to start your research for any class. Whether you have a research assignment or you just want to locate study space, the library website will help you find what you are looking for.

This page can be accessed from sfcollege.edu/library or by going to the SF webpage (sfcollege.edu), and choosing the Library icon on the far right.

From the Library's home page, the areas you will be visiting the most are the four navigation buttons under the main image and the left navigation area. These are the major areas of our website.

Library Guides

Almost every discipline or area at Santa Fe College has a research guide available for you to find the best resources. Research guides will typically include search strategies, recommendations for books and databases, and suggested websites.

Click the Guides button and then choose Subject Guides to see a listing.

Guides link on library website

Need Research Help?

Need help? Click the Research Help button.

This page will give you the various ways to contact a librarian. Our reference librarians are available to assist students, faculty, and staff all hours that the Library is open. The librarians can help you with a class assignment, research, or just find a good book to read. Stop by the 2nd floor Reference Desk for help. Librarians can also provide assistance by phone, email or chat, so you can receive research help even if you can't come into the Library.

Facebook Instagram Pinterest Vimeo

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.