Need Help?
MLA Citations
The MLA Handbook (call number LB2369 .M52 2021) is the official guide to MLA style. The Library has multiple copies of this book, both available to check out and for in-library-use. You may also access the MLA Handbook Plus online, which contains the full text of the MLA Handbook, plus other resources.
The following links and tutorials will help you create MLA citations for the sources you need to cite.
Citation Clinics
The Library offers workshops for APA and MLA throughout the semester to help you learn the basics of citing. Upcoming workshops are listed here and will be available in-person in Y-240 and via Zoom.
More Resources
Example Citations
Book
Citation Components
- Author: Shabana Mir
- Title: Muslim American women on campus: undergraduate social life and identity
- Publisher: University of North Carolina Press
- Publication Date: 2014
MLA Works Cited
Mir, Shabana. Muslim American Women on Campus: Undergraduate Social Life and Identity. U of North Carolina P, 2014.
In-Text Citation
(Mir 16)
Video Tutorial
Chapter in an Edited Book
Citation Components
- Author(s) of Chapter: Micah Issitt, Michael Aliprandi
- Title of Chapter: Nicaragua
- Page Range: 97-114
- Editor of Book: Michael Shally-Jensen
- Title of Book: Countries, Peoples & Cultures: Central & South America
- Publication Date: 2015
- Publisher: Salem Press
MLA Works Cited
Issitt, Micah, and Michael Aliprandi. "Nicaragua." Countries, Peoples & Cultures: Central & South America, edited by Michael Shally Jensen, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 97–114.
In-Text Citation
(Issitt and Aliprandi)
Video Tutorial
eBook
Citation Components
- Author(s): Michael Donnelly, Rebecca Ingalls, and Tracy Ann Morse
- Title: Critical Conversations about Plagiarism
- Publisher: Parlor Press
- Publication Date: 2008
- eBook Database Name: Ebook Central
- Permalink: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/sfcollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3440290
MLA Works Cited
Donnelly, Michael, et al. Critical Conversations about Plagiarism. Parlor Press, 2008. Ebook Central, ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/sfcollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3440290.
In-Text Citation
(Donnelly et al.)
Video Tutorial
Newspaper Article
Citation Components
- Author: none listed
- Article Title: MLB reclassifies Negro Leagues as major league
- Newspaper Title: The Southern Illinoisan
- City (if not included in newspaper title): Carbondale
- Publication Date: December 17, 2020
- Database: Newsbank
- URL: https://infoweb-newsbank-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/apps/news/document-view?p=AWNB&docref=news/17F6C5A89C8C0B60
Leave off any components you do not have, such as sponsors or dates.
MLA Works Cited
"MLB Reclassifies Negro Leagues As Major League." The Southern Illinoisan [Carbondale], 17 Dec. 2020. Newsbank, infoweb-newsbank-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/apps/news/document-view?p=AWNB&docref=news/17F6C5A89C8C0B60.
In-Text Citation
("MLB Reclassifies")
Journal Article
Citation Components
- Authors: Johannes M. Bauer and Jonathan A. Obar
- Article Title: Reconciling Political and Economic Goals in the Net Neutrality Debate
- Journal Title: Information Society
- Volume number: 30
- Issue number: 1
- Pages: 1-19
- Publication Date: 2014
- Database: Academic Search Complete
- DOI or Permalink: 10.1080/01972243.2013.856362
*DOIs can be found in the database record or on the front page of the article. If there is no DOI, use the permalink.
MLA Works Cited (with DOI)
Bauer, Johannes M, and Jonathan A. Obar. "Reconciling Political and Economic Goals in the Net Neutrality Debate." Information Society, vol. 30, no. 1, 2014, pp. 1-19. Academic Search Complete, https://doi.org/10.1080/01972243.2013.856362.
MLA Works Cited (no DOI)
Singh, Parminder Jeet. "From a Public Internet to the Internet Mall." Economic and Political Weekly, vol. 45, no. 42, 2010, pp. 17-19. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/20787466.
In-Text Citations
(Bauer and Obar 17; Singh)
Video Tutorial
Online Video
Citation Components
- Creator: Mindy Scheier
- Video Title: How Adaptive Clothing Empowers People with Disabilities
- Website Title: TED
- Publication Date: November 2017
- URL of Video: https://www.ted.com/talks/mindy_scheier_how_adaptive_clothing_empowers_people_with_disabilities
MLA Works Cited
Scheier, Mindy. "How Adaptive Clothing Empowers People with Disabilities." TED, Nov. 2017, www.ted.com/talks/mindy_scheier_how_adaptive_clothing_empowers_people_with_disabilities.
In-Text Citation
(Scheier 2:45)
Video Tutorial
Webpage
Citation Components
- Author: Michael Seymour
- Webpage Title: The Assyrian Sculpture Court
- Website Title: Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
- Sponsor: Metropolitan Museum of Art
- Publication Date: December 2016
- URL of Webpage: https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/nimr_2/hd_nimr_2.htm
Leave off any components you do not have, such as sponsors or dates.
MLA Works Cited
Seymour, Michael. "The Assyrian Sculpture Court." Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Dec. 2016, www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/nimr_2/hd_nimr_2.htm.
In-Text Citation
(Seymour)