Skip to main content

Dental Programs

Introduction

This guide introduces the resources the Tyree Library provides to Santa Fe College students in the Dental Programs.

If you need a more general introduction to library research, try Research 101.

If you need help with your research, please contact the Health Sciences Librarian, Jenna Miller (352-395-5329), or the Reference Desk (352-395-5409).

 


 

Contents

Where to Find Articles
Shows how to access the library databases and describes the databases most useful for dental students.
How to Search
Describes search strategies from the basics of identifying keywords to more advanced search strategies in CINAHL.
How to Find Evidence-Based Articles
Describes what evidence-based practice articles are and shows limits you can use in CINAHL to locate them.
Individual Journals
Shows how to perform Publication searches in EBSCO databases and provides links to some of the Library's dental e-journals.
How to Find Books
Shows how to locate books and eBooks in the library catalog. Includes lists of recommended books.
3D Models
Provides access to Visible Body, a virtual 3D human anatomy and physiology atlas.
How to Find Information on the Web
Provides information on PubMed, web search tips, and suggested websites.
Career Information
Provides access to books, databases, websites, and more related to a dental science career.
Tutorials
Contains all of the video tutorials embedded throughout this guide in one place.
APA Guide: 6th Edition
Links out to the full APA Citation Guide for the 6th edition, which provides tips on paper formatting and citation components, in addition to a wealth of sample in-text citations and references list entries.
APA Guide: 7th Edition
Links out to the full APA Citation Guide for the 7th edition (2020), which provides tips on paper formatting and citation components, in addition to a wealth of sample in-text citations and references list entries.

About the Library

The Lawrence W. Tyree Library serves the students, staff, and faculty of Santa Fe College at the Northwest campus and at the SF Centers. The Library is open 7 days a week with evening and weekend hours, as well as extended hours during final exams. Library staff are available on all 3 floors of the Library to assist you. For research help, reference librarians are available to assist you from the 2nd floor Reference Desk, as well as by phone, email and chat.