Skip to Main Content

College Achievement Program

What Are Databases?

Articles provide very targeted information, usually focusing on one small segment of a broader topic. Articles also tend to be more recent. Newspaper and magazine articles can be updated within days or weeks of an event, while academic journal articles may take a few months or longer.

Library databases are the best place to locate articles. These databases contain thousands of sources for you to search for free full-text. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images.

This page provides suggestions for the databases and other resources you can use to find articles on your topic.

Florida Electronic Library Databases

Once you are taking classes at Santa Fe College, you will have access to the Tyree Library's databases. For your CAP assignment, you can access library databases through the Florida Electronic Library, which provides free library resources to anyone in the state of Florida. Below are the recommended databases from this site.

Recommended Databases:

Facebook Instagram Pinterest Vimeo

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.